We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,716)
Filter reviews
1,716 results
Traveller rating
541
622
306
154
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
541
622
306
154
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bardirect beach accessbeach locationinterconnecting roomsyour doorstepska barbuffet breakfastdeluxe roompool sidebars and restaurantspool access roomlow seasonsun loungersnoodlesegg stationtuk tukbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
654 - 659 of 1,716 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

There are many things that can be said about this hotel and two or three of them are positive so let's start there.
1- The location is fabulous- right on the beach and this is quite unique for Kata.
2- The rooms and the resort are kept clean.
3- The Xmas Eve function was done very well; even though it was expensive, compulsory and no free drinks were served
That is where it ends unfortunately. This once grand hotel has been run into the ground and everything is clearly done on the cheap. If you could commoditize a hotel to meet low expectations for Russian tour groups with low expectations then they have succeeded very well.
Services were at a bare minimum with no coffee shop, no bar running at night that I could detect, no bar (apart from the pool) and no drink services to lounges around the pool.
What is clear is that the majority of the staff are pretty well miserable and I am sure that comes from this squirelling on costs.
The Thai's are a beautiful and welcoming people but unfortunately this is not present at this hotel. This starts with the gruff receptionist at check in and continues through to the wait staff. This is a mystery particularly with the wonderful service we received at our previous hotel in Bangkok (The Rembrandt).
The management left a leaflet in the room titled "Committed To Service". In this they say "Our employees will own the guest and ensure all needs are provided with care and professionalism. They will feel like they are hosting each visitor to the hotel as a guest visiting their home" Heaven forbid you ever visit their homes if that is this is the way visitors are treated!
Let me finish with the breakfast buffet. I read another review that said that the food did not change for a week and I can endorse this over a 10 day period. I am reliably informed that many budget cruise lines have a budget for their breakfast buffet of less than $7 Australian. I would suggest that this hotel is shooting for $2.
Lastly the breakfast coffee. Can anyone name a four or five star hotel in the World that serves bad weak instant coffee out of what is the type of 10 litre dispenser you might see at a bad camping ground.
For $300 a night you deserve more. Walk up the hill and get some real value

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms on the road side as the wave pool runs until midnight next door
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the extra time to give us your feedback and we appreciate your comments and suggestions.

It was rewarding to note that in general you enjoyed your stay and miss out on several facilities that remain open for service.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort & Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The 3 of us arrived late sunday afternoon,the room was ready but the 3rd bed was a camp bed!
Back to reception and with the help of a tour guide we explained our problem,We were showed another larger sea view room with space for a "proper" 3rd bed which we accepted ,housekeeping arrived within 5mins and set it all up,towels,bedding,water,slippers, dressing gown & swimming towel to make sure we were happy. The room was large, clean & the bathroom immaculate, I learned from cleaning lady they change the bedding every other day.
Location was ideal-right on the beach. We only had breakfast in the hotel, which covered every nationality's needs and plenty of it. We ate at local restaurants over the road-it was good.
Buses stopped outside hotel and for 30baht we travelled into Phuket (about 1hr) seeing the local countryside. Please do the James Bond Island tour-fantastic!! and lunch at the village on stilts is lovely and fresh. We enjoyed our stay (week before the regatta) and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The local puk puk's are fine for getting about. Try the local pancakes,lovely guy outside the 7/11 shop-always a queue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Touristleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here during the time of the King's Cup Regatta. We found our room to be large and comfortable. Housekeeping was very good and the room was always cleaned and restocked every day.
The location is good and a great escape from the busy streets of Kata.
The beach was overcrowded but we accepted that this would be the case with the regatta being held at this venue.
The taxis from the resort are overpriced. It was easier and cheaper to walk across the road and get a normal taxi.
Breakfast was good and the food was hot and fresh each day.
The receptionist was not helpful and very off handed. When checking out we were charge for mini bar that we did not use but she would not listen to us, so we ended up just paying. So much for guest services!!
Wifi was a bit of a hit and miss and also has conflicting information on charges etc.
I would probably stay here again as the location and quality of food made up for the any negatives.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

The price of the room was about $300 per night. For this kind of money for a standard twin one could expect more than the same breakfeast for 7 days in a row, personnel who barely speaks English, very average food quality, moisture smell in all of the furniture. Massage was good, especially thai massage, but only from one masseuse - An.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Esootla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

On arrival, late in the evening, our welcome was professional and nothing more. Our room was a side sea view clean and spacious. After not much sleep due to bikes revving engines through the night, I went to use the toilet, and it overflowed, phoned reception and had a cleaner come to check, she flushed the toilet again and guess what, it overflowed. Now we are left waiting for the engineer to turn up, not able to use the toilet, shower or even brush our teeth! So, we went down to breakfast while we waited. Got back to the room and the bathroom was still full of water, when I phoned reception, I was told to mop it up with tissues!!! Eventually we went down to sit in the foyer, but there were only four settees and eight chairs, half of which were covered in bird droppings, as the hotel was open to the elements. We ate in the hotel in the evening and were bitterly disappointed with both the service and the food. It was only 9.00pm and the buffet was half empty. Would I recommend this hotel, no. I'm sure there are much better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pensionerposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews