We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aviod at all costs!”
Review of Beyond Resort Kata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beyond Resort Kata
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I simply cannot understand how this hotel has recieved even reasonable reviews.

We had booked to stay at this hotel in the middle of February. I do not even know where to start!

We arrived early evening and were shown to our room with quite rude and off hand service - certainly not representative of the land of smiles we had experienced everywhere else in Thailand. The room smelt of damp and was certainly not suitable at all for a family of 2 adults and 2 children of 9 and 11, for whom we had booked.

We agreed to upgrade our room, to save hassle and were shown 5 further rooms that were filthy, smelt of damp and in two of them had loose drain covers.

We finally agreed to a rather miserable pool side room which apparently was the best they had on offer. They then brought 'put you up' beds for both children which were covered in stains and excrement. After sending away 6 other beds with mattresses that looked like they had been pulled off a rubbish tip, we decided we could simply not stay here.

After rather offhand/rude attitude from the front of house staff, we eventually managed to speak to the hotel manager who after numerous conversations over the telephone finally agreed to refund our hotel costs.

Our travel advisors managed to rebook us in to the hotel we had stayed in previously. Whilst we were waiting for a taxi transfer in a very grubby reception, a tom cat sprayed all round reception and we saw more cockroaches in one hour that we had during our whole 16 day stay in Thailand. And we had a tray of complimentary drinks accidentally thrown all over us. The buffet looked rancid - depsite being starving and having had a long day of travelling, we simply could not bring ourselves to eat from.

We have heard since, a friend of ours in the travel industry had stayed here 10 years earlier and the hotel had smelt of damp then and she got food poisoning which kept her confined to her room for 4 days. I think we made a good call leaving when we did!

Bearing in mind we had been glamping in the national park - we are not hotel snobs - but this place was filthy beyond belief. It certainly does not reflect international hotel standards or display basic cleanliness.

Room Tip: I do not think there are any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your input. Against all good review that we receive on a continue basis, we believe that you may be exaggerating on many points unnecessary.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is the only hotel on the beach in Kata, all the others require you to cross a rather busy road to get to the beach. For that alone, it's worth it! Like one of your previous reviewers, we also arrived to find the main pool empty, however, there is another smaller pool and of course the sea on your doorstep, fortunately, the repairs were finished two days after we arrived, so it really didn't have a huge impact on our holiday.
The hotel restaurant is ok with themed evenings each night, however, we preferred one or two of the restaurants along the beach which were less pricey and offer authentic Thai cuisine.
Our only complaint was the lack of English amongst the staff, when this is your only economy, you'd think there'd be more dedication to teaching people English.
Having to pay for WiFi in your room goes against the grain, although there is free WiFi in the lobby, however, there's no aircon in the lobby, so it's rather uncomfortable to sit there while doing your emails!
All in all, a great spot for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpySumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words and greata to know that you enjoyed the local cuisine near by. Let me assure you that we are certainly working on to overcome language barrier.
We look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

After a long flight my traveling friends and I were exhausted and ready to relax in our hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff who quickly got us to our oceanfront room.

The rooms were large, there were three of us and so they placed a roll away bed so we could all fit.

There was a balcony which overlooked the pool and beach. It was gorgeous.

The pool bar was large And comfortable, however the staffing was always light on the pool side so it took a while for someone to check on us. Sometimes we had to get out of the pool and get the bartenders attention at the other bar.

Because the beach is public the hotel doesn't have their own beach chairs. You have to pay to rent them from a vendor. We skipped this and just latex yowled on the soft sand.

The beach is very walkable from one side to the other.

The food at the hotel was good. We only had breakfast as it was included in our room price. Lots of choices, always the correct temperature. We walked around to find other choices for lunch and dinner. There was tons of shopping and restaurants in the area.

Would defiantly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words and delight to know that you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Staff lovely, breakfast was great. Best location in Kata, right on the beach. Annoying having to pay for weft in the room, and only being able to connect 1 device to it. When will hotels stop ripping us off with these charges?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Loved the hotel, great staff , amazing location right on the beach, spotless rooms and high standards throughout. Good internet reception throughout, drink prices a little higher than the area , but can't complain for poolside service

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Ok we travelled to Kata after spending 6 nights in Patong and were ready to kick back and relax in that amazing looking pool , You know the one in all the pics right ? Well if your staying at the resort in the few next weeks call your travel agent and change you're accommodation because the pool is CLOSED for apparently emergency renovations , We arrived to a bit of paper that they wanted us to sign pretty much accepting that the pool was closed ... This is the moment I put my foot down , I didn't receive an email or a phone call nothing to advise us of this so I wasn't impressed !!! We were offered to stay at their sister hotel at Karon but I've travelled to Thailand on a number of times and Karon is nowhere near as nice as Kata so we refused , We were then offered an upgrade which is all well and good but we originally booked the hotel on the pool by the beach alone , Honestly the choc banana pancakes that cost me 40 thb from a food cart were my highlight ... The buffet breakfast is average at best and don't do the steak night trust me ... Food wise go to Ska bar which is located under the big tree to the left when you walk onto the beach , The place next door to Ska bar is also very cheap and really good food ... Also sugar and spice is a personnel favourite !!! Back to the resort I don't think we'll be staying there again , A massive disappointment on the communication side of things !!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank ThailandBenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. The main pool was closed due to an emergency, a broken fresh water pipe feeding the pool. We had little time to inform all arriving guests. Please accept our sincere apologies. However if there is an opportunity to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future we will love to.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

As others have said the location is THE prime factor for the hotel. It is bang on the beach with a few steps down to the beautiful beach so we booked it for that and that alone really,

We booked a normal double with extra bed for our son and everything was set perfectly on arrival. We had a ground floor room which is always better with a toddler.

The pool is large and has a good kids area which is shaded too so that was good. But as other reviews said the sun beds were all reserved by about 7 am so we could never find somewhere to put ourselves and the 'no reserving' policy is totally ignored - we saw beds with towels on them and no one on them for most of the day!

The room was spacious, good tv channels for English speaking guests, kettle, fridge, bathroom well stocked so fine really. The bad part came on our second to last day when we got huge cockroaches in the room. Having a child with us on a rollout bed that wasn't the best so we asked to move rooms. Other guests told us they felt the rooms weren't cleaned well enough - ours seemed fine but after the asked to move we saw them fumagating many rooms on our ground floor so clearly there was a problem.

But they gave us a new room and (despite my husband having to move everything upstairs, no one offered to help) we got the new room on the 3rd floor and were happy for our final night.

We didn't try the food as it was far too expensive compared to the wonderfully tasting and cheap places to eat on the beach and just outside the hotel. Breakfast is so cheap nearby it didn't seem worth paying to eat in the hotel. We did eat lunch at the pool bar once or twice and the food was good - but no better than anywhere else and much more expensive,

The massage hut by the pool was wonderful. Massages for an hour for £6, can't beat it! The hotel had a spa but again was expensive so we used the little place and it was beautiful and some of the best massages I've ever had.

Would we go back? Not to that hotel - location is great but there isn't much for kids and the service wasn't up to much. The lady on reception practically laughed when my husband told her about the cockroaches. I know they aren't uncommon there but we are guests and deserve a little more respect than that!

The room location was on the ground floor which was good for having a child but there was so much noise from the 'surf shack' bar outside - on the Friday NAND Saturday there was thumping music until 12 midnight - which of course is fine. It's a bar! But just not great again for a restful break! So location by the beach is lovely - just it's not at all quiet.

Kata beach itself is beautiful but we have stayed in hotels where the service is better (.i.e not one of the staff ever said good morning or how are you). It's a big hotel so no personal service whatsoever.

Room Tip: Higher floor to avoid the cockroaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leicester_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and you will not be returning to Kata Beach Resort and Spa for several reasons. However if there is an opportunity to welcome you back we will love to.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#16 of 55 in Kata Beach
816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#29 of 55 in Kata Beach
825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Kata

Address: 1 Pakbang Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Kata Beach Resort and Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £92 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Kata 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond Resort Kata (formerly Kata Beach Resort & Spa) is set directly on Kata Beach, Phuket's popular beach for couples and families with all the fun of a classic tropical holiday. The resort features 275 smart and stylish rooms and suites with sea views and pool access options, plus a room especially suitable for families. Lush gardens and a shimmering swimming pool and swim-up bar placed on a blissful beach side setting, with incredible sunset views across the blue of the Andaman Sea. Beyond Resort Kata can fulfill everyone's need or desire. All-day dining starts with a hearty breakfast with an ocean backdrop, and beachfront lunch or dinners. The Kids’ Club is available to keep the youngsters busy and happy while parents enjoy relaxation time. Kanda Spa is the ultimate retreat for individuals and couples. A gorgeous wedding venue, with wedding planners and packages will ensure a memorable and successful day. The resort can cater for up to 500 guests at any event, indoor or outdoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beyond Resort Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort
Beyond Resort Kata Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing