We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax on the private beach away from the city.”
Review of Beyond Resort Kata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beyond Resort Kata
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location,
My friends and I decided to go to Phuket for our summer vacation,and Kata Beach came in ideal!
The hotel arranged transportation for us from the airport. A quick 30 minute drive from airport.
We went with no plan but found tons of information at the reception.
Highly recommend the ATV trekking and Water rafting package, comes in a cheap price and transportation is included, so basically everything is planned out for you at the hotel.
We just looked through the tour packages and booked directly at the reception.
All staff were like family, trying to help each other.
Many cheap add on packages, for example, 1 hour off road buggy driving.
Amazing beach and swimming pool with bar.
If you want to relax under a reasonable price, Kata Beach is the place to go.
View my photos to get a more personal experience through my eyes.
Rate this helpful if it helped! Thanks.

WARNING: The currents at the beach are very strong, without you even knowing, you could be dragged out to the very end of the beach, just saying.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing beach if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imundercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delight to know that you are making the most of your holiday and enjoying it. Welcome to Phuket the land of paradize.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I am at this hotel now (: we have a deluxe room facing the pool and beach. We got this package very cheaply; stay 8 nights, pay for only 4, including breakfast through our agent in nz.
Both pools are open. The location is fantastic, the best in Kata as its the only one on the beach. Yes the rooms are dated and a little dark but large enough and clean so feel its great value for money- we dont spend a lot of time on our room but do have our own small balcony. I have not seen any cockroaches and the staff are fine, not overly cheerful but happy once you engage them. The breakfast buffet is great, everything you could want including an omelette chef.
Right behind us are shops, loads of places to eat, a 7eleven and plenty of transport options as well as cheap massage places. The hotel has an expensive spa and expensive italian restaurant but you can get an outdoor pedicure overlooking the beach for 100baht and a toasted sandwhich for 100 baht.
Wifi is 750 baht for 7 days so if its important to you then just pay it. Free wifi in the lobby and just off the lobby is a small airconditioned internet room.
There is no compendium in the room - they would get less complaints if they had a booklet in the room that gave info on that internet room etc as for some reason people seem fixated on wifi when on holiday!
I was a travel agent for 20 years, am travelling with my mother (60) and eldest son (11) and we all think that for the low price we paid, this hotel is great. If you want 3-4starish, and location is important then youll be happy. If youre after luxury, pay more and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont get superior, they face the road. Pay a little extra for deluxe which faces the sea and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellinMamaNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delight to know that you are making the most of our right on the beach location.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I simply cannot understand how this hotel has recieved even reasonable reviews.

We had booked to stay at this hotel in the middle of February. I do not even know where to start!

We arrived early evening and were shown to our room with quite rude and off hand service - certainly not representative of the land of smiles we had experienced everywhere else in Thailand. The room smelt of damp and was certainly not suitable at all for a family of 2 adults and 2 children of 9 and 11, for whom we had booked.

We agreed to upgrade our room, to save hassle and were shown 5 further rooms that were filthy, smelt of damp and in two of them had loose drain covers.

We finally agreed to a rather miserable pool side room which apparently was the best they had on offer. They then brought 'put you up' beds for both children which were covered in stains and excrement. After sending away 6 other beds with mattresses that looked like they had been pulled off a rubbish tip, we decided we could simply not stay here.

After rather offhand/rude attitude from the front of house staff, we eventually managed to speak to the hotel manager who after numerous conversations over the telephone finally agreed to refund our hotel costs.

Our travel advisors managed to rebook us in to the hotel we had stayed in previously. Whilst we were waiting for a taxi transfer in a very grubby reception, a tom cat sprayed all round reception and we saw more cockroaches in one hour that we had during our whole 16 day stay in Thailand. And we had a tray of complimentary drinks accidentally thrown all over us. The buffet looked rancid - depsite being starving and having had a long day of travelling, we simply could not bring ourselves to eat from.

We have heard since, a friend of ours in the travel industry had stayed here 10 years earlier and the hotel had smelt of damp then and she got food poisoning which kept her confined to her room for 4 days. I think we made a good call leaving when we did!

Bearing in mind we had been glamping in the national park - we are not hotel snobs - but this place was filthy beyond belief. It certainly does not reflect international hotel standards or display basic cleanliness.

Room Tip: I do not think there are any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your input. Against all good review that we receive on a continue basis, we believe that you may be exaggerating on many points unnecessary.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is the only hotel on the beach in Kata, all the others require you to cross a rather busy road to get to the beach. For that alone, it's worth it! Like one of your previous reviewers, we also arrived to find the main pool empty, however, there is another smaller pool and of course the sea on your doorstep, fortunately, the repairs were finished two days after we arrived, so it really didn't have a huge impact on our holiday.
The hotel restaurant is ok with themed evenings each night, however, we preferred one or two of the restaurants along the beach which were less pricey and offer authentic Thai cuisine.
Our only complaint was the lack of English amongst the staff, when this is your only economy, you'd think there'd be more dedication to teaching people English.
Having to pay for WiFi in your room goes against the grain, although there is free WiFi in the lobby, however, there's no aircon in the lobby, so it's rather uncomfortable to sit there while doing your emails!
All in all, a great spot for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpySumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words and greata to know that you enjoyed the local cuisine near by. Let me assure you that we are certainly working on to overcome language barrier.
We look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

After a long flight my traveling friends and I were exhausted and ready to relax in our hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff who quickly got us to our oceanfront room.

The rooms were large, there were three of us and so they placed a roll away bed so we could all fit.

There was a balcony which overlooked the pool and beach. It was gorgeous.

The pool bar was large And comfortable, however the staffing was always light on the pool side so it took a while for someone to check on us. Sometimes we had to get out of the pool and get the bartenders attention at the other bar.

Because the beach is public the hotel doesn't have their own beach chairs. You have to pay to rent them from a vendor. We skipped this and just latex yowled on the soft sand.

The beach is very walkable from one side to the other.

The food at the hotel was good. We only had breakfast as it was included in our room price. Lots of choices, always the correct temperature. We walked around to find other choices for lunch and dinner. There was tons of shopping and restaurants in the area.

Would defiantly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words and delight to know that you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Staff lovely, breakfast was great. Best location in Kata, right on the beach. Annoying having to pay for weft in the room, and only being able to connect 1 device to it. When will hotels stop ripping us off with these charges?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Loved the hotel, great staff , amazing location right on the beach, spotless rooms and high standards throughout. Good internet reception throughout, drink prices a little higher than the area , but can't complain for poolside service

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
874 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#40 of 56 in Kata Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jinta Andaman
Jinta Andaman
#17 of 57 in Kata Beach
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
844 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Kata

Address: 1 Pakbang Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Kata Beach Resort and Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £55 - £1,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Kata 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond Resort Kata (formerly Kata Beach Resort & Spa) is a 4.5 star resort set directly on Kata Beach, a spot that provides the calm blue of a wide horizon and all the fun of a classic tropical holiday for families and couples. The resort features 275 smart and stylish rooms and suites with sea view and pool access options, and with room categories especially suitable for families. Lush gardens and a shimmering swimming pool are a restful beachside setting for sun-filled days and incredible sunset views across the blue of the Andaman Sea. The Kids’ Club is supervised by trained carers and will keep the youngsters busy and happy. Kanda Spa is the ultimate retreat for individuals and couples. A gorgeous wedding venue, with wedding planners and packages to make the great day a success, the resort can cater for up to 400 guests at any event in its attractive function spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Beyond Resort Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort
Beyond Resort Kata Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing