We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,778)
Filter reviews
1,778 results
Traveller rating
565
645
313
155
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
645
313
155
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachfront location pool bar direct beach access your doorstep interconnecting rooms buffet breakfast pool side deluxe room tour desk bars and restaurants pool access room sun loungers noodles tuk tuk beach towels thai food glenn
Filter
Updating list...
675 - 680 of 1,778 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I am at this hotel now (: we have a deluxe room facing the pool and beach. We got this package very cheaply; stay 8 nights, pay for only 4, including breakfast through our agent in nz.
Both pools are open. The location is fantastic, the best in Kata as its the only one on the beach. Yes the rooms are dated and a little dark but large enough and clean so feel its great value for money- we dont spend a lot of time on our room but do have our own small balcony. I have not seen any cockroaches and the staff are fine, not overly cheerful but happy once you engage them. The breakfast buffet is great, everything you could want including an omelette chef.
Right behind us are shops, loads of places to eat, a 7eleven and plenty of transport options as well as cheap massage places. The hotel has an expensive spa and expensive italian restaurant but you can get an outdoor pedicure overlooking the beach for 100baht and a toasted sandwhich for 100 baht.
Wifi is 750 baht for 7 days so if its important to you then just pay it. Free wifi in the lobby and just off the lobby is a small airconditioned internet room.
There is no compendium in the room - they would get less complaints if they had a booklet in the room that gave info on that internet room etc as for some reason people seem fixated on wifi when on holiday!
I was a travel agent for 20 years, am travelling with my mother (60) and eldest son (11) and we all think that for the low price we paid, this hotel is great. If you want 3-4starish, and location is important then youll be happy. If youre after luxury, pay more and stay elsewhere.

Room tip: Dont get superior, they face the road. Pay a little extra for deluxe which faces the sea and pool. Avoid the rooms at the northern end as they are near a very cool but very loud surfing wave bar.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellinMamaNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delight to know that you are making the most of our right on the beach location.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I simply cannot understand how this hotel has recieved even reasonable reviews.

We had booked to stay at this hotel in the middle of February. I do not even know where to start!

We arrived early evening and were shown to our room with quite rude and off hand service - certainly not representative of the land of smiles we had experienced everywhere else in Thailand. The room smelt of damp and was certainly not suitable at all for a family of 2 adults and 2 children of 9 and 11, for whom we had booked.

We agreed to upgrade our room, to save hassle and were shown 5 further rooms that were filthy, smelt of damp and in two of them had loose drain covers.

We finally agreed to a rather miserable pool side room which apparently was the best they had on offer. They then brought 'put you up' beds for both children which were covered in stains and excrement. After sending away 6 other beds with mattresses that looked like they had been pulled off a rubbish tip, we decided we could simply not stay here.

After rather offhand/rude attitude from the front of house staff, we eventually managed to speak to the hotel manager who after numerous conversations over the telephone finally agreed to refund our hotel costs.

Our travel advisors managed to rebook us in to the hotel we had stayed in previously. Whilst we were waiting for a taxi transfer in a very grubby reception, a tom cat sprayed all round reception and we saw more cockroaches in one hour that we had during our whole 16 day stay in Thailand. And we had a tray of complimentary drinks accidentally thrown all over us. The buffet looked rancid - depsite being starving and having had a long day of travelling, we simply could not bring ourselves to eat from.

We have heard since, a friend of ours in the travel industry had stayed here 10 years earlier and the hotel had smelt of damp then and she got food poisoning which kept her confined to her room for 4 days. I think we made a good call leaving when we did!

Bearing in mind we had been glamping in the national park - we are not hotel snobs - but this place was filthy beyond belief. It certainly does not reflect international hotel standards or display basic cleanliness.

Room tip: I do not think there are any!
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your input. Against all good review that we receive on a continue basis, we believe that you may be exaggerating on many points unnecessary.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is the only hotel on the beach in Kata, all the others require you to cross a rather busy road to get to the beach. For that alone, it's worth it! Like one of your previous reviewers, we also arrived to find the main pool empty, however, there is another smaller pool and of course the sea on your doorstep, fortunately, the repairs were finished two days after we arrived, so it really didn't have a huge impact on our holiday.
The hotel restaurant is ok with themed evenings each night, however, we preferred one or two of the restaurants along the beach which were less pricey and offer authentic Thai cuisine.
Our only complaint was the lack of English amongst the staff, when this is your only economy, you'd think there'd be more dedication to teaching people English.
Having to pay for WiFi in your room goes against the grain, although there is free WiFi in the lobby, however, there's no aircon in the lobby, so it's rather uncomfortable to sit there while doing your emails!
All in all, a great spot for a family holiday.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words and greata to know that you enjoyed the local cuisine near by. Let me assure you that we are certainly working on to overcome language barrier.
We look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

After a long flight my traveling friends and I were exhausted and ready to relax in our hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff who quickly got us to our oceanfront room.

The rooms were large, there were three of us and so they placed a roll away bed so we could all fit.

There was a balcony which overlooked the pool and beach. It was gorgeous.

The pool bar was large And comfortable, however the staffing was always light on the pool side so it took a while for someone to check on us. Sometimes we had to get out of the pool and get the bartenders attention at the other bar.

Because the beach is public the hotel doesn't have their own beach chairs. You have to pay to rent them from a vendor. We skipped this and just latex yowled on the soft sand.

The beach is very walkable from one side to the other.

The food at the hotel was good. We only had breakfast as it was included in our room price. Lots of choices, always the correct temperature. We walked around to find other choices for lunch and dinner. There was tons of shopping and restaurants in the area.

Would defiantly recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words and delight to know that you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Staff lovely, breakfast was great. Best location in Kata, right on the beach. Annoying having to pay for weft in the room, and only being able to connect 1 device to it. When will hotels stop ripping us off with these charges?

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort and Spa in the near future.

Thank you,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews