We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Kensington, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly people”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We did not stay here but we did hire a motorbike from the people who run the restaurant, which I assume they also take care of the accommodation. Everywhere else requires you to leave your passport which I refuse to do but they were ok with a photocopy. They were very helpful and true happy Thais with the big authentic smiles that was unmistakably genuine. Unfotunately we didn't get the chance to try their restaurant out but definitely will next time.
Nice humble people.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you and look forward to welcome you back to Phuket .

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    574
    276
    136
    79
See reviews for
418
662
55
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I got married a while ago and have had not had a chance to have a proper honeymoon.

We booked 10 nights at kata beach resort and only paid for give which was very good value. We received a warm welcome on arrival arrival and were shown to our room. We had booked a deluxe room and were originally placed in a room with an inter leading door to the room next door, and there was so much noise coming from next door!we voiced our issue and with no hesitation we were kindly upgraded to a grand deluxe suite with a sea view. We received a bottle of wine and a cake for our honeymoon getaway.

One issue we had was the shower-didn't have much pressure but in the scheme of things it wasn't a concern. Sometimes the language barrier was a struggle but we managed!

We loved the poolside bar.

Yes hotel is a bit older than some but grounds and rooms are well kept!

Absolutely perfect location-couldn't get better in kata. We loved our stay and would come again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romzelamelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many congratulations and thank you for your kind words.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guyra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just had 8 nights stay at Kata Beach and loved every minute of it. I stayed with my husband and 2 children and were in a 2 bedroom suite ocean view which was huge. We had our own room, bathroom, lounge room, Kitchenette and balcony. Our children had an interconnecting room with their own bathroom and balcony as well.Our stay was perfect.Sunsets were some of the most amazing I have ever seen. Great pool and beautiful food. Dined nearly every day in one of the restaurants or pool side dining. Location right on the beach with bars and restaurants jutting all along the beach. Ska Bar is a must for a cold one. Enjoyed shopping just outside the hotel and took part in the Songkran( Thai New Year) which was an awesome experience for my children. Great pools and gardens always clean. Pool chairs were difficult to come by as people hog them first thing of a morning. Breakfast are nice. We were very busy with long day trips with early starts and they even would send a breakfast box to your room if you were too early for the buffet. Had a lovely lady at front counter help me out to ring back to my bank in Australia when a ATM sucked up my card. Thank You. Would I stay there again? Definitely. I don't understand all the bad reviews. No its not 5 star but it doesn't claim to be. Thanks Kata for an awesome family holiday.

Room Tip: Ocean view over the pool are beautiful. Most amazing sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadineyouman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delight to know that the whole family had a great time with us and will be returning in the near future. Thank you for your kind words.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here April 16-22, 2014 and loved it.
Firstly, we arrived at 2AM to check in. Despite the time, the 2 staff were friendly and helpful and kept our check in process very brief so we could get to our room ASAP

Food
Breakfast buffet was much the same as i have seen in hotels around the world. The selections included cereal, several different breads to have fresh or toasted, cold cuts, seasonal fruit, yoghurt, danishes, noodles, rice, sausages, ham, french toast, and eggs cooked to order and bacon. It was all fresh and tasty and up to a very good standard.
Yes food and drinks at the hotel (dinner mainly) was expensive compared to local eateries, but this is typical almost everywhere. There were at least 10 restaurants within 5 minute walk of the foyer so cant see what the problem is!

Facilities
Perfect location right on the beach with plenty of deck chairs around the pool(we never couldnt get 2). Deck chairs on the beach all along Kata have to be paid for (a whole $3.20 AUS (100 baht) for the day), but we regularly left the beach for a couple of hours and came back to find out towels exactly where we left them. The main pool was quite large and the swim up bar is always a nice bonus to have access to. It is obviously an older resort but generally maintenance was up to scratch. Our room was clean, comfortable large enough and with excellent air conditioning.

In summary, dont know what people are whingeing about, we loved it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnandMichelleV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delight to know that you made the most of your holiday and find the resort very pleasant and planing to return next year.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We checked into the hotel early afternoon after having stayed in Patong for the previous 3 nights. Our check-in was efficient (party of 8) and we were shown to our rooms. In a lot of reviews I hear complaints about the check in staff not speaking English well, in my opinion this adds to the whole experience, now if they didn’t speak English at all that would be a concern, and further to this should they learn every language of the guests that stay at their hotel? The entrance foyer is a very large atrium, allowing you to sit and use the free wifi, it would be good if the rooms also had free wifi, you have to pay for it in your room. Luckily our room backed onto the atrium so I could step outside the room and have access to the free wifi. Still annoying given how most hotels in Asia have free wifi in the rooms. I would like to pull up a previous review about the foyer and cockroaches and tom cat spraying everywhere. We stayed here for 7 nights and not once did any of my party see a cockroach anywhere in the hotel and there certainly wasn’t any cats roaming around the foyer.

We booked the deluxe rooms which overlooked the pool and the beach. We were on the 4th floor and the views were to die for; hearing the waves from the beach was beautiful. The rooms were large, clean and the beds were huge. The bathroom had a bath which would be good for people with young children. Air-con in the room worked a treat and the room also had a good sized balcony with chairs and table. There was also a mini bar with very reasonably priced drinks. The hotel itself is low rise with only four floors. As others have mentioned the hotel is right on the beach which allows you to go for a swim in the ocean with a minimum of fuss and without having to cross roads etc. It would be nice if the hotel had sun lounges on the beach for its guests. The hotel also has a gym and sauna on the 4th floor and whilst I’m not a gym person, our friends said that it was well equipped and also had free cold bottled water. The floors are serviced by efficient lifts, so getting to your room was easy.

We had the buffet breakfast included in our room rate, the breakfast was good with many selections of Western and Asian foods to choose from. Eggs were made to order, scrambled, poached, fried, omlettes etc. etc. We had now been travelling for over a week so we were over the buffet breakfasts; they are more or less the same in most hotels. The only difference is that some of the higher rated hotels had more variety and more exotic fruits included. Anyway it did the trick. The breakfast staff were attentive especially the buffet manager (older gentleman, sorry can’t remember his name) who would go out of his way to make sure you had everything you needed. You could choose to sit inside or outside for breakfast, outside was our choice.

Having the beach at your door step is excellent; you walk from hotel straight onto Kata beach. The sand was pristine, water was nice and calm with gentle waves rolling in (not surf waves!!), so if you wanted you could swim the entire length of the beach. You can also go for nice relaxing walks. Best time to do this is in the morning before it gets too hot or later in the arvo when the sun is setting. The sunsets are amazing!! The only whinge I had about the beach is that when the waves roll in (waves were coming and going) they also bring in something that stings you, not a bad sting but a sensation that you are being stung, whilst my wife never encountered this, I and some of my friends did. I Googled it when I came back to the hotel and there was commentary that it was sea lice or tentacles of jelly fish that had broken off and the waves were washing them in causing them to rub against you. Either way they were annoying, but not bad enough to stop you swimming and there were a lot of people swimming unperturbed, me included. The hotel pool was great it has a fenced in child area which ensures young children don’t wander into the deeper parts of the pool (not really deeper as the deepest part of the pool is only 1.4metres) it would be nice to have deep water in the pool. The pool area also has a swim up bar which makes life easy, along with a dining area with a good selection and reasonably priced lunch time snacks, we ate here most days.

The hotel is located in a perfect position, right on the beach and coming out the non beach side smack bang in the middle of a heap of restaurants. Kata is SO laid back and nice and quiet compared to Patong. If you turned left and walked along Kata Rd you would find a heap of restaurants and shops. The one we frequented is about 200 metres along and you will come to a sign that says Malissa Suites. If you look left down the road where this sign is you will find a heap of restaurants. If you feel energetic and want to walk all the way along Kata Rd to Patak Rd (about 1.5kms 20min walk) where Kata and Karon meet (or catch a Tuk Tuk), there are more restaurants. If you turned right after coming out of the hotel into Kata Rd, there are more restaurants, we ate a couple of times at the Outdoor Restaurant (super cheap and great selection of foods, our favourite was the Massuman Curry) which is on the corner of the first intersection you encounter after turning right into Kata Rd. We also ate at Two Chefs which is just down the road from the Outdoor Restaurant, but this a bit pricier and a bit more up market (for Thailand), none the less the food was great. Also you should go for dinner of pre dinner drinks (sunset time) at the After Beach Bar the views over Kata are amazing, not to mention the sunset (see photo). I would also highly recommend doing Rawai Beach, where you pick your seafood from the fishmongers and then walk across the street and pick a restaurant that will cook it whichever way you want. You will need to organise a Tuk Tuk or air-con car/van to get to Rawai beach. I’d recommend the air-con car/van.

We also found a great massage, manicure, pedicure etc. etc.etc place which is diagonally across from the entrance to the hotel. From memory I think it’s called Phu Thai Massage Spa & Beauty Salon. I should also mention, like all areas on Phuket, you can do all the sightseeing trips from Kata. As I mentioned Kata is nice and quiet so if you were going to stay here and you wanted some serious nightlife, Patong is only a 20min Tuk Tuk ride.

Over all a great hotel in the perfect location and close to everything you need. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book the deluxe rooms as these rooms have a view to the ocean and try to get on a high floor. The Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your very understanding about the langauage problems. It seems that your party have made the most out from the holiday from enjoying the local cuisine aroud the hotel, having great body massages and not to mention the good times spent on the beach and in the water.

Lastly we appreciate your kind words for our clean and spacious rooms.

We look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort again in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location,
My friends and I decided to go to Phuket for our summer vacation,and Kata Beach came in ideal!
The hotel arranged transportation for us from the airport. A quick 30 minute drive from airport.
We went with no plan but found tons of information at the reception.
Highly recommend the ATV trekking and Water rafting package, comes in a cheap price and transportation is included, so basically everything is planned out for you at the hotel.
We just looked through the tour packages and booked directly at the reception.
All staff were like family, trying to help each other.
Many cheap add on packages, for example, 1 hour off road buggy driving.
Amazing beach and swimming pool with bar.
If you want to relax under a reasonable price, Kata Beach is the place to go.
View my photos to get a more personal experience through my eyes.
Rate this helpful if it helped! Thanks.

WARNING: The currents at the beach are very strong, without you even knowing, you could be dragged out to the very end of the beach, just saying.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing beach if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imundercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delight to know that you are making the most of your holiday and enjoying it. Welcome to Phuket the land of paradize.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I am at this hotel now (: we have a deluxe room facing the pool and beach. We got this package very cheaply; stay 8 nights, pay for only 4, including breakfast through our agent in nz.
Both pools are open. The location is fantastic, the best in Kata as its the only one on the beach. Yes the rooms are dated and a little dark but large enough and clean so feel its great value for money- we dont spend a lot of time on our room but do have our own small balcony. I have not seen any cockroaches and the staff are fine, not overly cheerful but happy once you engage them. The breakfast buffet is great, everything you could want including an omelette chef.
Right behind us are shops, loads of places to eat, a 7eleven and plenty of transport options as well as cheap massage places. The hotel has an expensive spa and expensive italian restaurant but you can get an outdoor pedicure overlooking the beach for 100baht and a toasted sandwhich for 100 baht.
Wifi is 750 baht for 7 days so if its important to you then just pay it. Free wifi in the lobby and just off the lobby is a small airconditioned internet room.
There is no compendium in the room - they would get less complaints if they had a booklet in the room that gave info on that internet room etc as for some reason people seem fixated on wifi when on holiday!
I was a travel agent for 20 years, am travelling with my mother (60) and eldest son (11) and we all think that for the low price we paid, this hotel is great. If you want 3-4starish, and location is important then youll be happy. If youre after luxury, pay more and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont get superior, they face the road. Pay a little extra for deluxe which faces the sea and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinMamaNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delight to know that you are making the most of our right on the beach location.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
741 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beach front resort with complete facilities and amenities for a 4 star resort. All rooms and food & beverage facilities cater to all types of guests whether honeymooners, families, business executives or conference delegates. Ideally located in arguably the best beach of Phuket, Kata. Behind the resort, an array of shops and convenience stores can be easily accessed. Staff Service is to provide all guests the best of Thai hospitality with a dash of genuine care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing