We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay again tomorrow if i could.”
Review of Beyond Resort Kata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beyond Resort Kata
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After reading reviews prior to arriving I was unsure of what we might come across, we have just come back from 6 nights May29-June4th and I loved the place, the atmosphere was great.
We had a deluxe room with beach and pool views and often spent time on the balcony watching the view and yes it was hot 34 deg but that's what we went for.
The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean and tidy.
The breakfasts were great in my opinion with something for everyone, fruits,pastries , cereal, bacon and eggs etc.
The location was perfect with a 7/11 across the road and many little shops,massage places and restaurants all very reasonable.
The pool was clean and we often spent time at the end of the day at the pool bar.
We had slight language issues at the counter but that made up the whole experience and we never felt uncomfortable.
As you can see we have not spent much time overseas but would definitely stay here again, thanks to all the staff who made our stay so relaxed and stress free.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Campip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delight to know that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

So disappointed with our stay. Cheap deal with Airasia.com but......we were led to believe this was a four star but no way. Our package said pool view this was true but pool was under Reno an no water in the pool.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else during the off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickidfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

If your stay was recently, the pool was never closed and was filled with water. If your stay was in late March, we had to close the pool urgenly for a few days to repair a broken water pipe. The second pool was open as usual during this time.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a fantastic stay, we spent 12 nights early May & had 2 weeks of perfect weather at this most amazing place - this was our 2nd trip to Phuket, our first stay at Kata, we intend to return to this resort next year, we had an exceptional time. We stayed with our 2 teenage sons & a friend, had 3 deluxe rooms overlooking the pool/beach. Rooms were huge, very clean and tastefully decorated, daily housekeeping, great air con & bottled water provided. Amazing views, beautiful beach & pool...time spent every day lazing on sunbeds (which were plentiful) overlooking the bay, mostly clean beach great for walking & swimming - outdoor massage hut by the pool so peaceful, nothing more you could ask for in a relaxing & reviving holiday. We had breakfast included, great value, huge choice, wait staff were attentive & for the most they do smile if you greet them with a smile!. We were a little concerned of the negative reviews of this resort before arrival, it is older than others but this is to be expected when you get beachfront position, when we checked in those concerns immediately disappeared. The lobby was inviting, we could see straight out to the ocean, everything was clean & welcoming the grounds spacious, lush & immaculate. We found the checkin staff were friendly & efficient, we were very early & immediately offered use of a room for the day until ours were ready,this was unexpected but greatly appreciated, above & beyond service! Our request to join the buffet breakfast on arrival not a problem either! We used the pool bar daily for drinks, coffee & sometimes lunch & had a few evening meals, all good. This resort is the perfect location, we used many of the restaurants within walking distance, Natalie's (our boys loved the pool table, the staff so friendly), the Outdoor & the Orchid all great value, used more than once. So convenient to have shopping, eating, cafes, bars, laundry & convenience stores right outside the door, without all the bustle/pressure of Patong which was only 15 mins by taxi when we wanted that. We even found a great tailor in the arcade across the road (Christian at the Armani shop) We walked around the streets most nights as plenty shops/market stalls etc happening . On the beach there are more sunbeds to hire, massage, kiosks & hawkers only too happy to barter. The ocean was clear & clean, we swam every day. Also jetskis (which we used without a problem) parasailing etc available just a short stroll along the beach. Our boys also had frequent use of the Flowrider at the bar across the road & the resort Gym. We made good use of the wifi, we purchased the weekly package for convenience which was great value, a reliable & fast connection which worked everywhere, even by the pool ! All in all, we couldn't have asked for a better value holiday at a most beautiful location.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor in the far building 2243 - great views, bright & airy, no noise from other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kobizac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know you all had great time with us and planing to return next year. Your kind word have given us encouragement to stirve for the very best for all out guests.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you are staying in Kata Beach and you want to stay ON the beach, you don't have a whole lot of options. If you don't care about having courteous staff, a clean breakfast, no bugs in your room and decent internet, among other things, then i guess this is your place! Now that i have actually visited Kata beach, i would much rather WALK across the street and stay in a nice, clean, place, then pay 3 times the amount to stay at KBR

Upon arrival we were received by a older women that clearly should NOT be working in the SERVICE industry. My favorite part was when we asked about internet and she told us it was only free in the common areas downstairs and that we would have to pay a daily rate. She was completely happy with leaving it at that until i pointed out a ad they had ON THE RECEPTION DESK that clearly stated that if we checked in a social media site and tagged them that it was 24 hours of internet FREE that we could use over the span of 3 days....... I pointed it out and then my husband asked her about it and then what do you know? Suddenly she knew all about it. (SIGH) We walked through the hot open air lobby to the elevator that got stuck (yes stuck with us in it) and on to our room. The room is not bad upon arrival. They have modernized the bed area and you can tell they have tried to spiff up the place. We had booked the ocean view which also looks over the pool and outdoor area. The outdoors and view is nice, however i would like to note that because of the EXTREME HEAT in Thailand, and mosquito issue, we never used the balcony and i feel like the extra $$ spent was a waste. Several times I had bugs in my room. Not in the bed so I tried not to flip out, but there were several in the bathroom and different occasions, two in my bag , and i killed two in the entry way. These bugs were a small cockroach type. I wasn't sure if this was just a Thailand thing so I asked around and every other tourist staying at other hotels did not have this problem. Breakfast was ....... food to get you through i would say..... all the breads were stale and sitting under a table napkin, or a plastic "picnicking" type of lid. All the cut fruit and vegetables are just set out (not on ice or kept at an appropriate temp) . One bowl of mixed fruit was full of nats. I typically just had eggs as those were made to order, and the hot food area was at least hot and covered so that seemed to be safer. The "juice" is NOT JUICE either. What a joke. The orange "juice" IS a TANG type beverage, and the pineapple juice is what i would guess is pineapple syrup from a can mixed with water.
The internet is quite poor so if you have to do business on this trip or if you are just an internet junkie, you will definitely be frustrated
Final tip would to just stay in this area at a cheaper hotel like marina fashion (about half a block up from the beach) or the if you want an AMAZING hotel and the best view ever, stay at FOTO hotel. you are up above the beach in the hills so you would have to tie the shuttles, but the hotel is gorgeous and not expensive. The tourists I spoke with while in Kata Beach were very pleased with both of these places. I visited FOTO and was so sad that this is not where I chose. After staying at Kata Beach move up near the hotel a few days before departing and stay in Mai Khao. It is quiet and relaxing, and the hotels up there understand what it means to be A RESORT

* final note is that all the bell and maid staff that assisted us was very courteous and helpful. The reception lady ,..........terrible

Room Tip: just buy a standard room and save your $$ if you intend on staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expections however we thank you for your kind words for our bell and maid colleagues.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed for a week in May. Complete off season so it was really quite, which made it perfect.
It's out of the way of the crazy spots like Patong, which means there is not as many food & restaurant options. However, what is within walking distance is good enough! (Outdoor restaurant on the corner behind the hotel is so good and so cheap.)
The location is perfect. Choosing to stay here, right on the beach, beats any chose to be closer to shops or areas like Patong. Just get a taxi to Karon or Patong.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. I don't know the price for high season, but i think it would be worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Happy to know that you have made good use of the hotel facilities and the local shops around the hotel and most of all you all had a wonderful holiday. We look forward to welcome you back next year.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place, we stayed for 8 days with 6 in our group. Breakfast was included in our package and catered to many cultures. Even had Vegemite for us Aussies. Rooms where very clean and fresh water provided on a daily basis. Pool area is awesome. Spent many afternoons lazing at the bar. Sun beds and umbrellas provided looking over the beach. Very convenient location to everything. Walk across the road to lovely restaurants or eat in and plenty of markets to shop at good prices. Little hint get a spare key and leave in room to keep air con going. It's so steamy hot. Beds are firm but comfortable. Small balcony off our room looking over beach. When booking ask for beach view. Will come back again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you had another great time with us. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you back in the near tuture.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What can I say I love this place. We stayed for 16 days at the end of a month in Thailand. We were a family of six brothers, sisters and partners. My brother was upgraded to a junior suite so we could all get together for afternoon drinks. Everything is so close to hotel, beach, 7/11 for supplies, laundry across road and easy walk for massage and shopping. Used the hotels vans to go to the weekend market and back. Staff were wonderful and very friendly and were able to accommodate all our requests. Andrew the GM was extremely friendly and helpful and advised us of good restaurants and attractions. He even took us all for a complimentary lunch at @ beach restaurant. One of my brothers got engaged on our Simba phi phi sunrise tour and we able to arrange with the hotel for rose petals all over the bed and bunches of fresh roses in the room, it looked amazing.
This was my 3rd trip to Thailand and I would not stay anywhere else. Hopefully back in 2 years for my brother to get married there..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Counsellorjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you had another great time with us. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you back in couple of years.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#31 of 55 in Kata Beach
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jinta Andaman
Jinta Andaman
#12 of 54 in Kata Beach
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Kata

Address: 1 Pakbang Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Kata Beach Resort and Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £81 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Kata 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond Resort Kata (formerly Kata Beach Resort & Spa) is a 4.5 star resort set directly on Kata Beach, a spot that provides the calm blue of a wide horizon and all the fun of a classic tropical holiday for families and couples. The resort features 275 smart and stylish rooms and suites with sea view and pool access options, and with room categories especially suitable for families. Lush gardens and a shimmering swimming pool are a restful beachside setting for sun-filled days and incredible sunset views across the blue of the Andaman Sea. The Kids’ Club is supervised by trained carers and will keep the youngsters busy and happy. Kanda Spa is the ultimate retreat for individuals and couples. A gorgeous wedding venue, with wedding planners and packages to make the great day a success, the resort can cater for up to 400 guests at any event in its attractive function spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sawasdee, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beyond Resort Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort
Beyond Resort Kata Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing