We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights last week. We have been travelling about Thailand and this hotel was probably the one we enjoyed the least. There's nothing majorly wrong as such with the hotel itself, rooms are a good size and the pool too but that is all I can really say. I thought the breakfast was very average given those I can compare to during our time in Thailand. The tea and coffee was always cold and one morning there were birds sat pecking at the bread. None of the staff were particularly friendly it welcoming and when we had to extend our stay for one more night this either hadn't been understood or the information not recorded because I had to go and check with reception twice after they put a slip under our door on the night before we were originally planning to leave. Wifi in the hotel is rubbish! You can access free wifi in the lobby which either doesn't work or takes forever to load or pay to use the wifi in other areas which again doesn't work. The major plus this hotel has is it's location on the beach which is fantastic!
Other than breakfast and a pizza by the pool we never are at the hotel. It appeared that not many others did either as the hotel restaurant was often empty with a musician singing to no one.
I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Nikki,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we appreciate your comments and suggestions.

Please accept our sincere apologies if we fail to live up to your expectation.

We are sorry to hear that you will not be returning to Kata Beach Resort and Spa for several reasons. However if there is an opportunity to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future and if we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

With best regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    551
    261
    124
    73
See reviews for
394
631
51
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

we seem to end up back at kata every time we go to phuket it has the beachfront location, located next to the shops and nightlife so is a easy choice. We stayed in a grand view room next to the pool great with small kids or more than 2 of you as they have a seperate room at the back. The other rooms in the main building are more light but depends what you are after we dont spend alot of time in our rooms in the day. We had a look at a grand deluxe on the second floor they are spacious apparently the grand deluxe corner rooms are even better but we couldnt view as they were occupied. We will return here as we havent found anywhere as good for the value for money and service. The manager Andrew is visible and greeted us at breakfast each day and came around to speak to the guests and the resident manager Glen was also extremely helpful with our requests, the front desk staff are not so great hard to communicate with as they find it hard to understand english. If you want free wifi use the option if you post on facebook kata beach you then get a password from reception. The instructions were on a stand on the reception desk just lucky I saw this instead of paying!
If you want your water replaced each day you need to leave the empty bottles out they only leave the number of bottles of water that match the number of empty bottles something we found out the hard way!

Room Tip: if you like the view choose 2nd or third floor seaview if you want to be in a bigger room chose grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoppadownunder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to Kata Beach Resort time after time and thank you for your positive comments and words of encouragements.

Look forwards to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Like some of the recent reviews on here we had a great stay! The poolside bar staff were fantastic and our room was lovely and clean each day. The security guard at the front gate was extremely friendly and helpful, he was a highlight of the trip! Thats where the goodtimes ended! We, like other guests, found the front desk staff to be rude and unhelpful. We couldn't get a spare key and weren't given the room we booked ending up in a dark cave like room beside the pool. The lady that checked us in simply didn't care and showed it.

Room Tip: Specifically ask NOT to be put in the ground floor rooms with walk access to the pool. They are too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Ray,

Thank you for your positive comments and please accept our sincere apologies for the Front Office staff not being attentive and thank you for your kind words for our security guard.

Look forwards to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just back from kata beach resort. Beautiful hotel with a very friendly security guard! Breakfast great. Rooms great. Staff unfriendly and un-interested. pool bar pricey compared with all other surrounding bars. As a result the hotel is a ghost town in the evening. Lovely restaurants nearby but very little open past 11pm. Taxi into Patong (which is bonkers!) is about a tenner but well worth it if your after some nightlife. (Takes 10-15 mins)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our beach locations and thank you for your kind words for our security guard.

We look forwards to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel was just ok. We stayed for 8 nights and initially we were impressed with the accommodation and view until the evening and the cockroaches came out. Not one or two but many!!! They were everywhere.. Bathroom, side tables and headboard. Our friends also stayed and they also experienced the cockroaches.

The location isn't that good for shopping or attractions as we had to travel via taxi to Phukete, Patong and other areas most days. This got a little expensive after a while.

Buffet breakfast was pleasant and to be expected. Staff weren't overly friendly.
House maids did a great job each day making over our room. Beach was nice to swim in. But other than that our stay at Kata Beach Resort was not that memorable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank New_Zealand_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our beach locations. We will certainly look into the insect situation.

Thank you for your kind words of our room maids.

We look forwards to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninderry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 9 nights in July/August. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard. The facilities were also very well maintained. Breakfast you are offered a huge selection of both asian cuisine and American style full breakfast and continental. Don't waste your time and money of ordering off the lunch menu. We did a few times and each time we were utterly disappointed with what we received. My advise is to make the effort and walk outside of the resort and eat a meal in many of the restaurants which cost half the price and have love and flavour put into them. The staff at reception were rude. From the moment we checked in to the last moment of checking out. They never smile or even say a friendly hello when you walk through. The map in your room, they will try and charge you on departure for reading it! A joke or what! Don't allow them to charge you. I have never heard of anything so ridiculous in all my travels. The security guard on the front gate was amazing. ALWAYS giving a big hello and an even bigger smile. Reception staff could learn a bit from this friendly man. When you see his smile you cannot help yourself but smile back. Good on you security. Pool staff were also very accommodating.
In all though a very nice clean place to stay though. Just a shame about not getting smiles. We like smiles.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoshoniNinderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments and please accept our sincere apologies for the Front Office staff not being attentive. The sealed map in the room is for sale, once the seal is broken it is chargable and thank you for your kind words for our security guard.

Look forwards to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked and paid for a Grand Deluxe Room expecting it to be one of the better rooms.

- Great location, right on the beach and lots of shops out front
- Nice pool
- Fantastic view from our room
- Day spa at resort was fantastic

- Breakfast just o.k
- All food at resort average, lots of great places to eat at outside of resort.
- We asked for some ice in our room and they wanted to charge us for it until be complained,
l think this may be a in house scam.
- Our first night in our room airconditioning was not working at all.
Air Conditioning in our room broke down 3 time, no real apology from anyone.

I would like to make a special mention to Paul the Taylor,
he runs the tailor shop in the foyer of the resort. We had two suits made with extra trousers and shirts, they were all made in three days and the workmanship and quality is excellent.
Paul and the young man that works in the shop were always polite to us and tried there best to please us at all times. Thankyou for the great service .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy12388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words for the hotel great location. There is a small charge by the hotel for the ice provided. Many apologies if there were problems with the airconditioning during your stay.

We have pass on your kind words to Paul Taylor.

Look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#23 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing