We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEACH SIDE RESORT”
Review of Beyond Resort Kata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beyond Resort Kata
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My hubby and I stayed there in June for 10 nights. The best part of this resort is it's positioning, right on the beach as well as the lovely pool area. The breakfast's could have been better, nothing too exciting. The rooms are comfortable however a little tired. It is very conveniently situated, one needs to just step outside and you have all the restaurants, massage places on your doorstep which is fantastic. The Kata area is relaxed and not like Patong, which is so hectic.

Room Tip: Rooms outside main building are good, not noisy at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 83Carol123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Carol,

Thank you for your positive comments of our beach location and you have taken the opportunity to explor the shops and restaurants just out side the hotel.

Look forwards to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at kata beach resort and spa for 11 nights ( aug 14 ). Firstly i must say that the view from our third floor balcony room was excellant allowing views of virtualy all of the beach. Just sitting and watching the waves breaking on the beach was wonderful.
The room itself was a good size but looked slightly past its best and needed some attention ( sliding balcony door not shutting coming off guides ) for instance.
Large pool with pool bar very nice no problem finding somewhere to sit always plenty of loungers avialable.
Although the breakfast was dissapointing (all the choice just slight lack of care poor coffee and other things just not quite right). The food from the pool bar, room service and outside resturaunt was always loverly both thai or western.
We found all the staff to be polite and friendly they always tried to be helpful. Would definatly return forget about the dated room, poor breakfast enjoy the view and location no where better on kata beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ant r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments and we are delight to know that you had a great time with us.

Look forwards to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights last week. We have been travelling about Thailand and this hotel was probably the one we enjoyed the least. There's nothing majorly wrong as such with the hotel itself, rooms are a good size and the pool too but that is all I can really say. I thought the breakfast was very average given those I can compare to during our time in Thailand. The tea and coffee was always cold and one morning there were birds sat pecking at the bread. None of the staff were particularly friendly it welcoming and when we had to extend our stay for one more night this either hadn't been understood or the information not recorded because I had to go and check with reception twice after they put a slip under our door on the night before we were originally planning to leave. Wifi in the hotel is rubbish! You can access free wifi in the lobby which either doesn't work or takes forever to load or pay to use the wifi in other areas which again doesn't work. The major plus this hotel has is it's location on the beach which is fantastic!
Other than breakfast and a pizza by the pool we never are at the hotel. It appeared that not many others did either as the hotel restaurant was often empty with a musician singing to no one.
I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Nikki,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we appreciate your comments and suggestions.

Please accept our sincere apologies if we fail to live up to your expectation.

We are sorry to hear that you will not be returning to Kata Beach Resort and Spa for several reasons. However if there is an opportunity to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future and if we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

With best regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we seem to end up back at kata every time we go to phuket it has the beachfront location, located next to the shops and nightlife so is a easy choice. We stayed in a grand view room next to the pool great with small kids or more than 2 of you as they have a seperate room at the back. The other rooms in the main building are more light but depends what you are after we dont spend alot of time in our rooms in the day. We had a look at a grand deluxe on the second floor they are spacious apparently the grand deluxe corner rooms are even better but we couldnt view as they were occupied. We will return here as we havent found anywhere as good for the value for money and service. The manager Andrew is visible and greeted us at breakfast each day and came around to speak to the guests and the resident manager Glen was also extremely helpful with our requests, the front desk staff are not so great hard to communicate with as they find it hard to understand english. If you want free wifi use the option if you post on facebook kata beach you then get a password from reception. The instructions were on a stand on the reception desk just lucky I saw this instead of paying!
If you want your water replaced each day you need to leave the empty bottles out they only leave the number of bottles of water that match the number of empty bottles something we found out the hard way!

Room Tip: if you like the view choose 2nd or third floor seaview if you want to be in a bigger room chose grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Shoppadownunder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to Kata Beach Resort time after time and thank you for your positive comments and words of encouragements.

Look forwards to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Like some of the recent reviews on here we had a great stay! The poolside bar staff were fantastic and our room was lovely and clean each day. The security guard at the front gate was extremely friendly and helpful, he was a highlight of the trip! Thats where the goodtimes ended! We, like other guests, found the front desk staff to be rude and unhelpful. We couldn't get a spare key and weren't given the room we booked ending up in a dark cave like room beside the pool. The lady that checked us in simply didn't care and showed it.

Room Tip: Specifically ask NOT to be put in the ground floor rooms with walk access to the pool. They are too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Ray,

Thank you for your positive comments and please accept our sincere apologies for the Front Office staff not being attentive and thank you for your kind words for our security guard.

Look forwards to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just back from kata beach resort. Beautiful hotel with a very friendly security guard! Breakfast great. Rooms great. Staff unfriendly and un-interested. pool bar pricey compared with all other surrounding bars. As a result the hotel is a ghost town in the evening. Lovely restaurants nearby but very little open past 11pm. Taxi into Patong (which is bonkers!) is about a tenner but well worth it if your after some nightlife. (Takes 10-15 mins)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our beach locations and thank you for your kind words for our security guard.

We look forwards to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel was just ok. We stayed for 8 nights and initially we were impressed with the accommodation and view until the evening and the cockroaches came out. Not one or two but many!!! They were everywhere.. Bathroom, side tables and headboard. Our friends also stayed and they also experienced the cockroaches.

The location isn't that good for shopping or attractions as we had to travel via taxi to Phukete, Patong and other areas most days. This got a little expensive after a while.

Buffet breakfast was pleasant and to be expected. Staff weren't overly friendly.
House maids did a great job each day making over our room. Beach was nice to swim in. But other than that our stay at Kata Beach Resort was not that memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank New_Zealand_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Beyond Resort Kata, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our beach locations. We will certainly look into the insect situation.

Thank you for your kind words of our room maids.

We look forwards to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#31 of 55 in Kata Beach
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jinta Andaman
Jinta Andaman
#12 of 54 in Kata Beach
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Kata

Address: 1 Pakbang Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Kata Beach Resort and Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £81 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Kata 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond Resort Kata (formerly Kata Beach Resort & Spa) is a 4.5 star resort set directly on Kata Beach, a spot that provides the calm blue of a wide horizon and all the fun of a classic tropical holiday for families and couples. The resort features 275 smart and stylish rooms and suites with sea view and pool access options, and with room categories especially suitable for families. Lush gardens and a shimmering swimming pool are a restful beachside setting for sun-filled days and incredible sunset views across the blue of the Andaman Sea. The Kids’ Club is supervised by trained carers and will keep the youngsters busy and happy. Kanda Spa is the ultimate retreat for individuals and couples. A gorgeous wedding venue, with wedding planners and packages to make the great day a success, the resort can cater for up to 400 guests at any event in its attractive function spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Sawasdee, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beyond Resort Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort
Beyond Resort Kata Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing