We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday of my life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Fifteen family members stayed at Kata Beach Resort and Spa from July 6th to 17th and every one of us had a wonderful holiday. For me, it was the best holiday of my life, everything was just perfect. The hotel is right on beautiful Kata beach so the view from my poolchair was heaven. Yes, you have to be up pretty early to get the best ones but we were content with what we could get thanks to some of our party rising earlier than others. The view from our deluxe seaview room was just gorgeous and those sunsets... The rooms are lovely, yeah, they're not brand new but hey, the ambience (and location) more than makes up for that. We found no fault with the staff (especially the lovely pool bar guys) and our room was always tidied and restocked to our satisfaction. Everything you need is right at your door, shopping, restaurants and transport. We went into Patong on a few occasions and while we enjoyed our time there, we were also glad that we were staying at Kata and not Patong it's just not as busy (and I think, more beautiful). The beauty of Kata Beach Resort is that you can spend hours lounging around the pool (and we did), dipping into the ocean if you want, my husband and teenage son hired surfboards and boogie boards most days, and if you feel you must get out and about you simply go and organise a tour. We went outside the hotel for this as it seemed to be a little cheaper. There are heaps of tour organisers outside as well as pharmacies, laundry services, massages, money changers and atms, oh and shops. Breakfast was fabulous, plenty of choices and it was delicious, I miss my omelettes. We didn't have one bad experience with restaurants but one of our favourites was Natalie's in the street opposite the resort. With a group as large as ours it's difficult to please everyone, but I can honestly say that each and everyone of us had an amazing time at Kata Beach Resort and Spa and we are all going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theryans-barrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2009

This is our 2 time to kata beach.

We loved and enjoy our 5 days at Kata Beach Resort and Spa. Everything was perfect for us. The hotel is right on the beach, so our kids spend all of their time in the pool then run off to the beach while we just sit and watch them right between beach and pool. In order to get a great chair and location, you must wake up at 7:00 am, grab pool towel, put them on the chair you want, otherwise, you will get nothing.

Staff were very friendly and very helpful. I will not recommand pool access room though. As we walked by checking out pool access, it's not a pool, just a place to sit, dip you feet in. Hmm...I wouldn't spend my money on that kind of room.

There is a blue open air bus right by the hotel. You can take it to Phuket town for 30 bath per person. It was a nice ride.

7 eleven near by, many restaurant in walking distance.

Kata beach is beautiful, clean and safe beach for our family. Not to many motorboats like Patong beach and not too crowed.

Other than that everything was really nice. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldfish2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed at the Kata Beach resort for 7 days in June. Had great weather (except 1 day of pouring rani) all other days was 35o and sunny, humidity wasn't too bad. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is right on the beach and has 1 huge pool and 1 smaller pool. We were there just to relax to really enjoyed lazing by the pool. Sun lounges were abit of a problem with people putting towels on them very early but we just put our towel on when we went for breakfast. Hotel food was quite expensive, most days we went to the nearby restaurants/cafes for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was normal buffet resort style. they have a happy hr (30% off drinks) between 5.30pm-6/30pm. Our room on the top floor was great. Great views of the beach and pool. One small complaint, the bed was rock hard! that was the only bad thing about the room. Hotel staff were helpful. We did a day tour to phi phi lsland via speedboat, just booked through a tour company near the hotel. internet was 200bhat for 30mins, we found a nice cafe that had 200 bhat for 90mins. this is a large hotel so if you want small and boutique its not for you. if you are after all the things of a large beach front resort its for you! We'd go back again

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We arrived at Kata Beach Resort and Spa late in the evening.

The resort staff were extremely helpful with our check-in. Everything was arranged with speed and a friendly smile.

In approximately five minutes from the time we got out of our taxi, we were being shown to our 'seaview' room.

THE ROOM
The room was exactly like the pictures we had seen. Clean, tidy, and a fabulous view of the sea and the two pools.

Breakfast every morning was fantastic. The cooked breakfast had a few of the standard 'western' items, but was also made up of Thai dishes, which my husband was particularly fond of.

The room was made/cleaned up every day, fresh towels when required, and extra pool towels when we needed them as well.

THE RESTAURANT
Meals at the resturant were fantastic, although a little pricey. Similar prices to a decent restaurant in NZ.
And at the end of Kata Beach, we found a fabulous little place, that made very similar food, for approximately $3-4.00 NZ dollars. For both of us, including drinks and desert.

EXTRA STUFF
Michael had a suit custom made for him, by the hotel tailor. And it looks great.

THE POOL
The pool was great. We had read alot of previous reviews saying you needed to be up early to get a poolside seat, but the reality was, you could get one just about any time of the day, as long as you didn't expect to have one right on the edge of the pool.

The pool bar was fabulous, as was the poolside snack menu.

We stayed ten days at this resort. It was perfect great. There really isnt anything I can think of that I would change about it.


ACTIVITIES OUTSIDE THE RESORT
Across the road from the resort there are lots of markets, and activity booths. Remember to barter at the markets. It is expected.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maoris_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Myself, husband & our 18mnth old spent 7 nites frm 3/6/09.The hotel was really quite nice! Having read alot of other reviews,i was a little worried about our booking! The resort was lovely,witha good pool & lovely gardens.The breafast had everything covered for all tastes i felt.We had a Delux Seaview/ground floor room which was an excellent choice for when the baby was napping & being at the pool we were only 6 paces away! Staff were pleasant.Breakfast girls were lovely & great with children.We also utillised the "baby sitting" service which worked out great.Room service was good,rooms always very clean.Overall appearance of rooms was pleasant- however from a decorators perspective could do with an upgrade! A little outdated for my likikg...
Hotel location was excellent - only a few mins. to all the shops & restaurants nearby! Being right on the beach was a really lovely location & great in the afternoon when the tide when out! My only winge was that like some other reviews, i too felt the pool bar staff were rather lazy -a little service would be nice!
We ate at the restaurants on Kata beach - quite good! We also ate one nite at the Hotel - Seafood/Steak restaurant - really quite good! Our real treat was dinner one nite at Mom Tri's Kitchen- excellant!
Louise A. Narrabeen,Syd.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseAndersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We spent 8 nights at the Kata Beach Resort on April 18th. Spent ages trying to decide where to stay in Phuket. Had our hearts set on staying beachfront and managed to get a reasonable 8night package through our local travel agent House of Travel in New Zealand (much better than online). We are family four with 2 teenagers 14 & 16. We were very happy with our stay. It is the best location in Kata Beach being beach front and close to everything you could need. Not 5 star flash but very clean and pleasant and worth it just for the location alone. The lobby has a nice "Thai" feel about it rather than a sterile modern look. Its worth paying a little more for the deluxe seaview rooms. We had to get two rooms (as the max is 3) but they were interconnecting and this worked really well with our kids as it meant 2 bathrooms, 2 TVs. Just makes it a lot more expensive for families. The pool areas were great and being a quieter time of year we had no problems with poolside chairs. The breakfasts were nice, plenty of choice. Right outside you have ATMs, 7-11 for snacks, restaurants etc. We went twice to a lovely little restaurant called Kata Minta. So reasonably priced and delicious. Just out of Resort, turn right, then left to the street that heads up hill a little (opposite Serene Resort). You do get a little tired of the suit makers trying to tout for business but I think they recognised us after a few nights and stopped hassling. Just smile politely and move on. We went to Patong briefly, but definitely made right choice staying at Kata. After coming from Chiang Mai, taxis and tuk tuks were a little expensive here but I guess you expect that as Phuket is lot more touristy. We did two day trips, both with Siam Sea Canoe, one to Phang Nga Bay (this was awesome) and the other speedboat to Phiphi Islands (also great) but a little warning it can be pretty rough on a speedboat trip in choppy weather. We booked our trips with SB tours (at Chiang Mai airport) You can definitely get them cheaper than the brochure advertises at 2400 bht, think we paid about 1600 bht per person for each trip, which is awesome value for what you get. I would highly recommend both. The other days we just enjoyed the sea, pool and relaxing. All around if you can get an okay price to suit your budget we really recommend this resort and would definitely stay again. One little negative for us is the charge for the internet (but we'd been a little spoiled with free internet throughout the rest of our Thailand trip)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LewisFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We stayed here for 8 nights from May 9th to 17th 2009. We thought it would be great from the photos etc on the internet. The rooms are tired and need a good facelift. The whole place didnt have the atmosphere from the resort that we had left in Krabi so it was a bit disappointing. It was on the beach which was a plus but expected a bit more. We paid less at the previous resort and it was immaculate. Would not stay here again, think there are better Resorts around that are cheaper and nicer, even if you have a little walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broniqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#23 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £70 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beach front resort with complete facilities and amenities for a 4 star resort. All rooms and food & beverage facilities cater to all types of guests whether honeymooners, families, business executives or conference delegates. Ideally located in arguably the best beach of Phuket, Kata. Behind the resort, an array of shops and convenience stores can be easily accessed. Staff Service is to provide all guests the best of Thai hospitality with a dash of genuine care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing