We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong here”

Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale
Ranked #10 of 152 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy fine dining in an award-winning restaurant set just above the rocks overlooking Kata Noi Beach. Panoramic sea views and the sound of the waves below create a peaceful, sensually indulgent and romantic setting. European favorites and Thai dishes are served either on the open-air terrace or Thai sala. Mom Tri’s Kitchen has won the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for 7 years in a row and offers over 750 labels.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong here”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Beautiful setting with beautiful views. I can't fault Villa Royale, the service, the food, the setting- everything is just wonderful. I have been here three times now and have had an exceptional meal each time. Definitely worth going there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,110
    339
    169
    72
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Views amazing, food good!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the views at the beachside view table, service largely good but not as attentive as I was expecting! Good vegetarian options but despite at ordering having a conversation with the waiter to ensure the tofu thai red curry didn't have fish sauce in as I was a strict vegetarian I was presented with a prawn amuse bouche on my plate! The tofu vegetarian curry was however amazing, very tasty! And both desserts we ordered were outstanding - passion fruit crepe and chocolate pudding! Seafood ravioli to start I am also told was amazing! Loved the touch of the red rose! Overall great setting, some really good food, lots of added touches but far and away the most expensive meal we ate in thailand! £75 for two three courses with one alcoholic drink each! But if your not staying at kata noi the views are worth seeing!

Helpful?
1 Thank Katwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good View”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great view from the restaurant, excellent service. We ordered Thai food for lunch , 2 starters, which were good and we ordered Green Curry with prawns. This is my personal taste, being Asian and having eaten Thai food every time I go to Thailand and also in KL, i found the green curry cooked for the western palate. Mild and bland. However for tourists coming from the West , it would be a very kind introduction to Thai food. The food was well presented .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great setting, great food”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What's not to love? Lovely restaurant sitting up on a cliff overlooking Kata Noi Beach. Just the sound of a Thai jazz band and the waves lapping gently on the shore below.

A Thai menu and a European/Aussie menu which you can pick & mix from. The service was excellent, allowing us to chill out in a seating area with a drink whilst choosing our meal, then taking us to the cliff side table. Nothing was too much trouble. Our waiter even 'entertained' our Granddaughter by pointing out gekos and showing her a cicada close up.

The food is superb - my lamb was exquisite!

Make sure you book as its really popular! Its Thai expensive, but not UK expensive, so treat yourself!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food and veiws”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

great service and the food was amazing. Had the pad thai and was fantastic. The veiw was like nothing else. A nice cool breeze blowing of the ocean was a perfect complement after wards. The entree was lobster ravioli which was simply delightful. I could have easily eaten it all night.

Helpful?
Thank David v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale also viewed

 

Been to Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing