We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault this restaurant”

Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale
Ranked #12 of 149 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, European, Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy fine dining in an award-winning restaurant set just above the rocks overlooking Kata Noi Beach. Panoramic sea views and the sound of the waves below create a peaceful, sensually indulgent and romantic setting. European favorites and Thai dishes are served either on the open-air terrace or Thai sala. Mom Tri’s Kitchen has won the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for 7 years in a row and offers over 750 labels.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Can't fault this restaurant”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I have just had a week at Mom Tris. We ate dinner in the restaurant three times. We had lunch twice and room service twice. The food was delicious. The ambience wonderful. It is such a lovely location. The staff are very attentive. Some people say it is too expensive. I say you get what you pay for. Ice cold water is free. They bring a bread basket and two dips that are also free. They bring a little mouthful of food to get your taste buds ready. At the end of the night they give every lady a rose. It is a very romantic restaurant.

We are just about to have our last breakfast in this lovely location. This is our second stay here and I hope it won't be our last. Thank you Mom Tris. This is what good memories are made of.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaEvVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,076
    330
    165
    71
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, Location & Service= High Price”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We ate at Mom Tri's for several nights- the food is exceptional, location is breathtaking and service is excellent. Very pricey for the portions you receive. Definitely worth the visit and recommend the seafood platter for 2.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AaronandChelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and service but average food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We had pretty high expectations by looking at the reviews in TA and since it was also recommended by our hotel.
Loved the place, the setting, and the greeting when you first step in.
It's divided into a lounge section where you could have your drinks first, and the restaurant section overlooking the beautiful sea.
Everything was great except for the food part; unfortunately when it came to Thai food, there wasn't much flavor in it. We ordered a pretty spicy dish (as set in the menu) but had received tasteless plates overflooded with sauce.

I'd recommend you go there for the view and drinks. As for the food... I wouldn't get my hopes up.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Amazing view, amazing atmosphere, AMAZING food... not much more can be said. We did 3 courses each, 3 ppl all different choices and each dish was delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great service, but unfortunately the food let it down”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had some amazing meals in Phuket this June. For our last dinner we decided to have one last special meal at we went to Mon Tri's Kitchen on the Saturday night. The location is fabulous as is the service- you can't fault it at all. The staff were all very personable and helpful.
We shared our entrees- Duck spring rolls and crab cakes- and these were quite nice. Great presentation.
The mains we had- Crab Cannelloni and Duck main. There looked fantastic (large size main meal too) however I the taste was lacking a little. I think that both meals lacked seasoning. Also in the crab cannelloni, the leeks were not softened down and were too hard to eat with the pasta and crab.
We don't mind paying the money they were asking for, and we have had a couple of other amazing meals in Thailand during this trip around the same price that tasted far better.
Perhaps their Thai dishes are better than their international dishes??

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MelAxP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing