We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice view and setting”

The Boathouse Wine & Grill
Ranked #23 of 149 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$70
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“very nice view and setting”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We had lunch on the day we arrived at the hotel the taste was average.the fried rice was roughly +/- 450 bath a plate.if it was fantastic I would say well worth it but sadly it wasn't.1 fried rice,1 tom yum,2 heinikens and a drink cost 1500bath.a tad on the pricey side but the setting was perfect

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_Cornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    290
    117
    45
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely setting overlooking Kata Beach”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary, It was a lovely balmy evening and so we sat outside on the terrace. Although the restaurant was not busy it still felt very romantic. We had met up with our daughter and her partner who live in Australia and enjoyed the chance to talk without too much noise! We started with a cocktail each which I thought was reasonably priced and then ordered our meal. We shared our starters and them my wife opted for a thai dish but the rest of us chose the tenderloin which although rather expensive proved to be delicious. This was accompanied by some excellent (if not expensive) wine and we all had a delicious pudding to finish off. Yes it was expensive at £250+ for the four of us) but no different to a similar class of restaurant anywhere in the world! All in all a very good restaurant which serves excellent food with a first class setting and service!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulrw1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No idea about red wine!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to try this place after reading the reviews and I'm afraid we walked away unsatisfied considering the cost of the meal. Wonderful view and location but 2 of the mains ordered (chicken and duck) were just average. The lamb shank however was delicious! We actually all wanted this lamb shank but were informed they only had one left when so 2 of us had to make another choice both of which were disappointing. Dessert was a similar scenario. One out of the three ordered was great the other two were not.

What surprised me the most about this so called fine dining restaurant was the wine. My husband and I chose 2 different glasses of red wine to have with our meal. When the waitress came to pour our wine I noticed both bottles were wet. When I felt the bottle, the red wine had been chilled!!!!! We both said we didn't want chilled red wine and the waitress took the bottles away. We sat there for 10 minutes wondering what was going on and then the waitress returned with the same bottles which had been warmed up! We knew the bottles were the same as the wine levels were identical as the bottles she brought out earlier. I was shocked to think that this calibre of restaurant did not know how to serve red wine. The wine tasted kind of ok but it made me wonder how many times this had been done before. Considering the price, I did not think this was good enough!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sunset and fine dining”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Amazing candlelit beachfront setting and sunset view.

Did the food match the setting...absolutely. Delicious French or Thai cuisine.

Did the ambience match the food and setting?... absolutely. Very charming and romantic with gentle live music in the background (you know Girl from Ipanema styly) and friendly and informative waiters and waitresses.

Faultless, and a lovely evening spent here.

Expensive? Well we had a bottle of wine, shared a starter platter and had 3 very large Thai dishes with rice etc between us and couldn't eat it all, and were well satisfied at almost £100 all in.

Nice walk back along the beach with the gentle waves you have been watching for the last couple of hours.

Excellent venue, amazing food and reasonably priced.

Dean and Lauren

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeanKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine dining, you pay for it though”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have no problem paying good money for great food and better service and very happy to have received this at The Boathouse in Kata Beach. Prawn entrée was the highlight and both Thai mains fantastic. Superb location

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse Wine & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse Wine & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing