We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kata Gardens Apartments
beijing
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good choice for family”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It was a lovely staying, beautiful two beds room, big balcony, and big share space. We had our own pond on roof top, but the sun beds weren`t clean enough to use, though you can see the ocean, but still need a bit decorate around that area. Some new building construction happened during the night, very noisy. Besides we stayed on the 3rd floor, I guess center controlled AC was right outside of our apt. noisy!!! staffs were friendly and helpful, would like to go back again.

Room Tip: 2C has good view on the roof top for ocean, but noisy during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ketcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    17
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here for a week in mid August. A lovely big apartment overlooking the complex's attractive landscaped gardens and pools.
Met by our very helpful host Egon who gave us the tour of this attractive apartment, some tips on enjoying the area and left us to it.
The apartment was spacious, cool, surprisingly quiet and having stayed with two teenage daughters in separate 1bedroom villas previously it was nice to be together in spacious accomodation.
The master bedroom was large, comfortable and had a magnificent ensuite arrangement, though we did find thai beds everywhere a bit firm for our taste.
Our girls had their twin bed room and ensuite at the other end of the apartment, with open plan well appointed kitchen, dining and lounge area, with floor to ceiling glass windows everywhere looking down over pool and gardens. The glass doors opened out to a huge covered balcony for lazing around with an icy drink.
The apartment was up on 2nd level with good security and access via stairs.
We swum in two of the attractive pools wrapping around the apartments, finding them clean and cooling and ventured into Kata several times each day to swim in the surf, browse the shops or simply sit at one of the bar/restaurants on the beach with a cold drink or a meal.
Katagarden Apartments are sited on a hill between Kata Beach and Kata Noi. Its a short, relatively steep walk down to beach and town from the apartments, a bit tough walking home in the heat of the day but after a couple of days l actually relished the exercise.
Its a great spot and we really enjoyed ourselves there. A couple of minor hiccups with a sound system we couldn't get going and airconditioning, which was very efficient, stopped working in the second bedroom for a couple of days but overall delightful.
We'll be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnWojc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here as a family and with two other family groups. The place was practically deserted, despite the agent we booked through being insistent that we booked quickly as the place was getting full (obviously working on commission). He also tried to charge us more for an apartment than our friends, they ended up with a penthouse with roof top pool and we paid the same for a standard apartment. There was no washing machine in ours, which was strange, luckily one of the other families had one. There was no information at all about the apartments or the local area in our room and our room was only made up once on our whole time there (7 nights) despite our friends having theirs done twice. Prior to our last day I checked what time check-out was and was told 2pm, the next day they rang us at 11 and asked when we were leaving and when I said that I was told check-out was 2, I was told I needed to pay more! I refused. I know this place is not a resort or hotel, but the total lack of information or any kind of assistance was poor. I would hate to be here when the place was full, the pools were lovely but there was very little space around them and only four sun lounges in the entire place.
The apartments were lovely, well set out with all the necessities. The air-con seemed to have a mind of its own and sometimes just refused to work. One of our sinks was blocked for the entire stay and was never corrected, despite my attempts to let someone know. Not a bad place, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We read about these apartments on Trip Advisor and were cautious because of mixed reviews. However, our experience at Kata Gardens was fantastic. The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in was exceptionally well appointed. It had everything we needed in a luxury holiday home.
We stayed for a week in the spacious 2A and while it was somewhat noisy outside (this apartment is close to the road) it was non existent inside. Breakfast on the expansive terrace, swimming in the free form pool which wound its way around the complex, sleeping in the very comfortable king size bed and separate accommodation (sleeping and bathroom) for our teenage daughter (she really liked this!) were real plusses! The kitchen had everything you could expect including a wide range of wine glasses.
The air conditioning was really effective throughout the whole apartment, WiFi was fantastic, the TV including cable, HiFi including DVD, CD was also a bonus. Our contact Pin, on site manager Ya as well as security staff were all fabulous (The security staff liked to get out the golf cart and deliver us to our apartment).
Restaurants are only 200 m down the road. We had also stocked up in Jung Ceylon Big C in Patong before arriving at Kata Gardens to ensure we had some staples in the apartment.
The location is fantastic for all beach goers. We had the choice of Kata or Kata Noi Beach within walking distance of the resort (maximum 500m) although the return journeys from the beach are all uphill!
All in all a fabulous place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Here now, the apt is stunning, the complex is very very quiet. We booked through the owner so got a very good rate and good communication leading up to our arrival, very helpful. Not a lot to complain about, only 4 sun loungers and 1 umbrella by one of the pools, the other nothing except a bench seat, so if there were any more than the 2 of us would be a problem. As far as I can see there might not be any other guests here, that's suits us fine, pool to ourselves. On a hill between Kata and Kata Noi, the latter beach is better has some shade in the corner late afternoon, otherwise there are wall to wall beach loungers for hire, warning though 200 batht for 2 hours. The apts are a 200 mtr walk to this beach, the quickest way down is by VERY VERY steep steps or a longer route By road, which is steep coming back. Kata beach is slightly further away but again down a hill, but not so steep. I would recommend Kata for dining out, Kata Noi does not seem to have a lot. Looks like the Russians have taken over the place.

Room Tip: I would try and book through an owner instead of the management, better communication and better rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tia074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

What to expect

These are privately owned villas that are property managed. When we turned up it was like arriving at a holiday home that hadn't been used for some time. Every blind and curtain was completely shut however they had turned the air con on for us.
The apartment had everything we needed inc a washing machine which was handy, although each apartment will differ. There was an uncomfortably long non planned introduction to the apartment that we didn't need especially after 16 hours flying. The groceries we ordered for arrival were not there as requested however they went and found the email and got them the next day. Off the list they provided we ordered 7000 baht worth of items and got charged  over 9000 plus 20 percent handling fee. This was supposed to be at local prices however we found it much much cheaper at central festival. (shopping mall) so we don't recommend buying from them.
The location is good, handy to Katanoi beach which is much nicer and chilled than kata if you want to lay on the beach. The apartments aren't crowded so it's quite relaxing and the gym has all you need if your are creative. I personally train 5 days a week on 5 different body parts and I was happy with the equipment.
The view is average but the pool is nice and different to most, there are two pools and we spent time in the one closest to the car entry gate which is sheltered from the sun when you need it.
Being property managed had its difficulties, there was no hair dryer as stated, 2 outdoor chairs were broken and we had 3 outdoor air conditioning units attached to our room and one was unbearably noisy switching itself on every seven minutes during the night. We asked for these items to be remedied from day 2 after the first night and after standing in the office everyday for five days we got borrowed chairs and a hair dryer. The aircon unit was still not fixed, the 6th day they spent the most time on it and still couldn't sort it. They just would not listen to what we were telling them, so I demanded that if it wasn't fixed we wanted a full refund or to be shifted ( I requested the shift on day two so we could sleep and they coyld fix the problem and put other guests in there. Being technically minded myself and my mate climbed outside the apartment and switched off the outside aircon unit and jammed the switch off as it kept turning back on. This was the problem unit that we had pointed out all along belonged to the apartment next door as we had also stated yet they persisted to switch off our bedroom aircon at the switch board each day and tell us it was fixed.....this was extremely frustrating and the property manager could not shift us or offer any compensation or refund if we had moved so just consider yourself the wiser.
After we fixed our own problem the rest of the stay was great. It was a shame to have to deal with problems on your relaxing holiday and them not to be dealt with straight away as a resort would have.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRAIGTHEKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in apartment 5B for 10 nights in December and January.
Location is great with easy access to the stunning Kata Noi beach.
Unfortunately we had endless problems with our accommodation and found the apartment manager to be rather hopeless at resolving the problems we experienced.
The main issue we had was with a faulty air conditioning unit which was so noisy we were unable to sleep.
My husband and I endured many sleepless nights and a constant back and forwards struggle with the apartment manager to fix the problem - it never was resolved.
Not ideal when you are paying big bucks and have come away on holiday to relax!
The apartment is also a bit dated, housekeeping was inconsistent and I would recommend not utilizing their offer to purchase grocery items for your arrival. These are hugely inflated in cost. Instead grab a taxi or Tuk Tuk and head to Big C at Jung Ceylon in Patong and stock up there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Global_Gatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 57 in Kata Beach
906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#11 of 57 in Kata Beach
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Impiana Private Villas Kata Noi
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 57 in Kata Beach
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Gardens Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Gardens Apartments

Property: Kata Gardens Apartments
Address: 1 Kata Noi Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Gardens Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kata Gardens Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Gardens Apartments Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Gardens Apartments Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing