We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view,service,location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic view,service,location and value for money”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Beautiful design hotel in Phuket,away from the noise and crowds but close to all the amenities you expect on holiday. Loved the seaview from my top floor suite! Spacious clean room with free wifi and breakfast,as well as free minibar. Great pool area and sauna/steam room for that end of the day ultimate relaxation. Fabulous breakfast buffet with more choice than you need to keep you full till dinner time. Efficient check-in desk and attentive service.

Tip:walk 5 mns down the hill to Kata beach if you don't mind family crowds,or take the bus to Karon beach,more spacious and quiet.Or try both and see which one you prefer :-)

Room Tip: If you have difficulty walking,don't pick the upper floors,because there is quite a steep climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquesMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    416
    121
    44
    22
See reviews for
161
440
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We chose Sugar Palm Grand Hillside because of the beautiful setting, the cascading swimming pools, the nice view and the proximity to Kata Beach. Everything in the description turned out to be true, so there were no disappointments whatsoever.

The only downside of the hotels in this part of the island is the cost of airport transfer - but it has nothing to do with the specific hotel.

Some transportation tips: You have a very cheap public bus to Phuket town (a charming place with great examples of Sino-Portuguese architecture) every 30-40 minutes diring the day, the bus stop is just in front of municipality building - just 3-4 minutes from the hotel.

For airport transfer you'd better book a car online - the local taxi mafia is ripping tourists off with worse service and fixed high prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomasbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed there 2 nights as some friends were also staying there.
we booked the pool access which is definitely worth the extra money especially as it's quite difficult to get around the hotel with all the floors.
We were in room 2204 and had to take 2 lifts and walk as well - wasn't too happy as i've got a lift phobia but was ok after a while. It's a bit steep to get there but not a bad things after a meals and cocktails.
The beach is less than 10min walk and the shops just down the hill.
We found some great restaurant and a bar called Ska Bar at the southern end of Kata beach (close to the hotel). This is much better than the restaurant on the main street which are very touristy.
Room was really nice, very spacious, modern and clean.
Breakfast was good

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Spent 2 nights at Sugar Palm Grand, after 3 nights in Bangkok. It was about 2 hours away from the airport. Location was great, just a short 5 minute walk from Kata Beach, and away from the crowd. It's up a steep slope, but it should be manageable to walk for most people.

Service staff were generally unfriendly, and the guy carrying our bags to the room looked like he didn't want to be there at all. Rooms were very uninviting, with cold concrete walls and floors. We stayed at the block nearest to the main lobby, and had to take two elevators up to our floor. Wifi reception was bad, we needed to stand at our front door to get reception! Quite a quiet place though apparently it was all booked out the first day we came - I never ever saw or heard any guests around my floor throughout my stay! Plus points: free coke, beer, and water everyday.

We picked a poolside view, was quite pretty and was a nice sight from the balcony. Breakfast buffet was alright, nothing spectacular just good enough to fill your stomach for the day. It was good as a base camp for my short stay in Phuket, but I do not think I will be coming back to Sugar Palm Grand nor Phuket anytime soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Thailand and Sugar palm hillside was our third stop after Bangkok and Krabi. The rooms are very big and modern with flat Tv and toilets are with bath tub and separate shower room. You get every day a beer, coke, water and juice free. The hotel has two lifts but to get into the fourth block you have to walk on a hill and if you are not Ok with that avoid booking there. If you can afford go for a room with a private swimming pool. All rooms have balconies. Breakfast was rich with choices for every taste. Beach is very near also shops and restaurants.
We had a fantastic time and will higly recommend this hotel. Internet is ok for browsing. The hotel has 3 separate swimming pools with nice view over Kata beach.
Our only disappointment was that when we checked out the receptionist said that a coffee spoon is missing from the room and they chrarged us about 0.40 pence , which was nothing but it was embarrasing...
We loved Phuket and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevyLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside is pricey for thai standards but absolutely worth it if you’re after 2 nights of luxury before heading to the thai islands.
Our room was spacious, clean and had a stunning view of the beach.
There isn’t much to do in the bay of Kata but it’s fine for a couple of nights whilst you acclimatize and prepare for island life!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

It is a very good accommodation. Friendly staff, well located in Kata beach (only a short walk to the beach), good breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms and price fair for what you get. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Do not buy tours from the hotel lobby as they are more expensive then what you find if you shop arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
718 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.2 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kata Beach
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Property: Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tiered infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing