We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Appeal and Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kata Beach, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Modern Appeal and Amenities”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is one of the most unique hotels I have ever visited. The pools cascade down the hillside with rooms all around them. The rooms are modern and large. The hotel is very clean and has great service. I celebrated my birthday while visiting and the staff surprised me with a birthday cake because they saw on my passport that it was my birthday. The breakfast buffet has lots of yummy options. They stock the fridge every day with water and beer for free. The location is just a short walk to the main beach in Kata, along with restaurants and shops. The only downside of this hotel is that it is on a pretty large hill. If you are elderly or have bad knees this might not be the best fit. This hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    417
    121
    44
    23
See reviews for
163
442
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice room with pool access, they upgraded us which was very nice of them it's beautiful hotel in nice area beach is only 5 min walk, breakfast was lovely lots of options,they give you free drinks everyday , one beer water and coke which is nice.
If we come back to phuket I will stay here again for sure.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ilgin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It is such a shame this hotel was undergoing renovations when we were there...even more upsetting that we were not told! We constantly felt like we were trespassing on a construction site with dust, materials and builders working from early morning to late at night.

The room was big, modern and clean with a lovely view but it didn't feel finished. The renovations didn't help with the comfort either.

The pools were lovely but look a little uninviting due to the surrounding work - and the pool side bar was closed so you didn't feel like you were staying at an upmarket hotel.

The location was INCREDIBLE. Yes, there are a couple of small hills but nothing major or to complain about! You were so close to the town and beach but tucked away for peace and privacy. Could not beat this place for location.

This hotel could have been so lovely and I would stay here again... But make sure there are no renovations going on!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOLL1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Lots of hills and walking involved in getting around this hotel so I wouldnt reccomend for the elderly or people with poor mobility. Staff will drive you to rooms in golf buggies if needed but this service finishes at ten pm.

during our stay we were upgraded to deluxe pool access room. Rooms are big and beautiful, very comfortable beds, apple computer and fast wifi in the rooms. Renovations are still underway so the pool bar and restaurant are not up and running yet.
we went to the beach most days so the building work did not bother us, but I think it would be a disturbance if you wanted to sit by the pool all day!
rooms service food was terrible would not reccomend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcfetre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The cons:
Exactly what the others have said, there is a 40degree incline to the entrance of the hotel. It is actually about 100m and takes 5 minutes to walk. An issue if you have elderly, difficulty walking or lots to carry. The other con mentioned was that the hotel was undergoing renovation. The last con mentioned in the other reviews were having to change lift which I will elaborate below.

The above two were not applicable to us, as I travelled with my 50-60s parents who are healthy and fit and had no difficulty walking. Our taxi brought us directly to the lobby of the hotel bypassing the slope so we only walked up & down that slope when we went out for meals or to the beach so no luggages and it was fine.

The hotel is 5-7 minutes walking to the beach and food and shops are 5 minutes away as well. Various types of restaurants & massages around and you can choose accordingly to your budget. Recommend Darin massage which is 5 minutes from the beach and we just walked and tried different restaurants for meals. There were night market stalls at night, selling clothes, fruits & food which is also walking distance from the hotel.

We requested for high floors and got the highest non-pool access rooms. This was accessible through the first lift that takes you to about 8th floor and then you have to change and then climb another slope. Again, this depends on what you want. If you find it a hassle to change lifts, you can stay on the lower floors. We were okay so we were happy to get a very high floor though it was cumbersome to get to our rooms via changing of two lifts and climbing up a relatively steep slope which my daddy was quite tired to climb by the second night. So just to take note of this if you want to request for high floors. If not, you can request for relatively high floors that you will only need to change lifts and not climb. However, they have a buggy to bring you and your luggage but only for check in and out.

About the room:
Our rooom was newly renovated and very nice and big and new. Everything was perfect about the room. Basins were outside the toilet and there were two so convenient to use it while someone is in the toilet. Basic complimentary mini bar and drinking bottle/pax provided daily. Hair dryer, toiletries (shampoo, soap, toothbrush) were provied. Both bath and beach towels provided. And they also provided both bed time slippers as well as beach slippers which was so convenient! Umbrellas were also provided in the room with a safe.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was basic for asians' standard but sufficient. An egg station, bread, salad, fruits and some hot food. Please try the fruits, its so fresh and sweet because this is Thailand!

Pool:
The main pool was small but good enough. We did not use it as we were at the beach most of the time. There were also various small pools for the pool access rooms ...

We had 3 people and they charged us extra per night... FYI
The hotel also had local tours etc if you want to sign up but we did not join any as we just wanted to relax by the beach.

Room Tip: High floors ( if you have no difficulty walking), Do not recommend pool access because it is just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We arrive at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside late in the evening October 13. At checkin we are asked to pay for all of our 21 days of previously booked accommodation in advance. The alarm bells should have been ringing! Not having seen the accommodation previously I ask to see the room on level three before I pay almost 65000baht. The room looks OK so we agree to pay. In the morning the room takes on a different persona as the noise and vibration from the nearby renovations commence. We endure till the following morning and then express our disappointment and concern to the reception staff. The renovations are taking place on five levels above us in the same building with constant noise from jackhammers and grinders. The reception staff swiftly offer us another pool access room above the renovations area on level 10 which we accept. The access pathways and lifts are constantly strewn with renovations litter and the fire stairs blocked with a mix of old and new fittings and furniture. This complex has apparently been undergoing renovation for some months, and when we leave on November 3 it is still not completed. The reception staff are always helpful, however on one occasion when we are unable to go on a day trip due to illness they refuse to contact the tour group on our behalf.
During our 21 night stay the lower lift is out of service twice and the upper lift out of service once.
The room decor is ultra modern glass, tile and white painted cement and plasterboard. Flooring tiles or polished concrete. The lighting is modern industrial. There is nothing here to remind your that you are in Thailand. The room is kept reasonably clean and tidy by the always helpful service staff.
The room air conditioning frequently stops cooling during the night and needs to be turned off for 10 to 15 minutes and then re started.
There is an almost constant lack of hot water. We advised the reception staff of this problem several times and managed to get 6 hot showers in 21 days. The sound insulation is average. You can hear the television in the adjacent room and constant slamming of doors from adjacent rooms. The tile and glass surfaces in all the bedroom/bathroom/balcony areas are poorly finished with tile cement, grouting and paint drips and splashes on all the surfaces. There are areas of silicone sealant left on the bathtub and surrounding tiles.
The swimming pools (there are eleven) are kept very clean and tidy at all times, as is the surrounding synthetic grass. The poolside service is limited. Airport transfer on our our final day cost a reasonable 1000baht. Late checkout may be available at a cost of 200 baht per hour.
The restaurant is only available for breakfast. The are no on site facilities for lunch or dinner however it is only 100 metres to all of the restaurants on the street. The breakfast food is of reasonable quality with good presentation but them menu doesn't change. The service staff at the restaurant are very helpful.
We are extremely disappointed that we were not advised at some stage that the renovations were taking place. This would have allowed us to consider alternative accommodation or possibly negotiate a better tariff. We wouldn't recommend the place to anyone else, and we won't go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part of the complex in level 10 or above. Don't take a room on level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great location near the beach and streets. Transportation is easily available.

Staffs are always around when help is needed; will be even better if they can prepare GPS for people who rents bike from the hotel,.

Spacious and clean room with a great view from balcony, be surprise to find a Mac hooked up for you to surf the net!
Great breakfast variety ranging from local, asian and western.

Lastly, if you do not enjoy Patong, this side of the island is definitely where you'll prefer.

Room Tip: Room 3101 - 3105 has the best view with pool... downside is you'll be exercising a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
742 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kata Beach
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Property: Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tiered infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing