We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2009

The Hotel is located on a Hill close to Kata Beach. The rooms are along a slope as terraces. Many rooms have private pool access. I think there are something like 13 terrace pools on the way up. The way up can be eased by using the hotel buggy. The walk down is quite nice and gives you a view over Kata Beach. The hotel is close to shopping, food, massage, beach. On the foot of the hill one can found taxi and tuk tuk service 24/7.
the design of the place is very modern. You might need some time to get used to the concrete walls. It's no where close to a traditional thai place. But it's a great value for your money. I booked on latestays.com for around BHT2000. The stuff is nice and helpful. The breakfast is nice and got a good selection. The open concept of the breakfast room is great.
The hotel is a good pick and great value for the money you pay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IjonTichy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2009

We booked this accommodation on wotif.com for approx $80AUD a night. It was great. Just what we wanted. It is very modern so if you are looking for a traditional Thai feel then don't stay here. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We booked a spa room which was very nice. The pool was also very nice and relaxing. It was in a good location very central to Kata Beach. Wouldn't hesitate in staying here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AussieMegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Well, the views of the coast and surrounding mountains are marvelous. The pools are lovely also.

Sadly, the service is not yet up to scratch. here are a few examples:

1. We ran out of toilet paper and requested another roll. It arrived almost an hour later! Lucky we weren't in a hurry...

2. We requested an early morning wake-up call. It didn't eventuate, despite assurances that it would.

3. One of the standard services offered by the hotel is a golf buggy and driver to access levels three and above (The elevator does not service the bottom three levels). The staff openly derided me for requesting a buggy instead of climbing the stairs. Considering I had stepped on a sea urchin earlier in the day, I was none too pleased. If you're disabled or have any sort of dificulty getting around, expect to be treated like dirt.

4. We presented a pamphlet to the tour desk at the hotel and asked them to help us arrange a booking for a day trip. The staff member quickly slipped the pamphlet into a desk drawer and attempted to convince us to take a different tour. When we declined and requested the return of our original pamphlet, the staff member "couldn't remember" where it was.

5. We were double-charged for a number of mini-bar items. Staff would arrive and take a note of what had been consumed for billing purposes, and then depart without replacing the items. Thus, when they returned the next day, the same items were still missing and so we were billed again. Fantastic!

If you're fit, thick-skinned and extremely patient, the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside is worth considering for the great price and spectacular views.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GoodnessMeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Overall, this hotel is overrated but is a bargain for budget travelers, considering that the rooms are overall clean (an important factor to me) and are equipped with the basic amenities.

1) The receptionist who assisted us when we checked in was smiley and all but was actually not very helpful. We were under the impression that we would be getting a room with an indoor jacuzzi but realized that the jacuzzi was actually a bathtub cum jacuzzi situated in the balcony (which means you don't get much privacy because people can actually see you from the lobby, esp if you are assigned to a lower level room. There is nothing romantic about being under the watchful eyes of the public. More thought should be put in when designing the rooms). Besides the jacuzzi (which wasn't functioning properly), we were also dissatisfied with the double bed + single bed we got, notwithstanding the fact that we specifically requested for a king size bed. Initially, the receptionist declined our request to change rooms but eventually relented after several calls from us.

2) The room was very "concrete", even the bedroom floor was concrete. I wouldn't deem this as minimalist. Rather it gave me the impression that the tile contractor probably failed to deliver his work or the hotel just had to open in time to meet the peak period. Maybe I am just too used to seeing carpeted hotel rooms (which are more feet friendly) and I have to say the pictures on the hotel website looked better than in reality.

3) Having said the above, I think I can get more mileage for my money elsewhere, maybe not in commercialized Phuket, but in countries like Bali where I paid around US$100 per villa per night for a huge room + bathroom + personal pool + personal spa area.

4) Although the hotel has 11 pools, they are rather small and you would have to share them with other hotel guests.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OOOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Took 2 rooms for a short 2009 family getaway. Had my own wadding pool staff was good.

No FULL SIZE, upscale restaurant in situ. Not a problem as its close to a bunch of restaurants and I believe they focused on the hotel rather than a big bar, big restaurant.

Price was great. Will definitively come back

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FliaBuitragoRincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We (4 of us) stayed at the hotel during Christmas and booked for 2 rooms. Its mixed feeling but I think this hotel only deserve a 3 star.

The downsides:
1. We didn't get the room next to each other, although I booked it in one go.

2. The reception was not consistently helpful. Some of the reception ladies are very nice and helpful, others were rude and not friendly. We weren't sure what to take to Patong beach one night and as normal, we asked the reception for their help and if they could get us a taxi. She was very rude, unhelpful and has the worst manner.

3. The hotel is up on the hill, and the hotel provides buggy to send guests up, unless you stay on the lower level. This can be a very serious problem if you stay in the grand seaview deluxe - like us, which is equivalent to sixth floors. There are only 3 buggy (fit in 4 ppl), and in the peak time you may not want to wait as there is quite a bit of queue.

4. The "grand seaview" didnt have any seaview at all. Dont get cheated by the pic in the web, as this hotel is at the end of Kata beach, and you don't get much view of these at all.

5. Room was okay, I think the pic in web is prettier than reality. Clean, and spacious. The balcony is totally useless unless you choose the plunge pool access. The problem with the grand seav deluxe is you have to share the main pool, which is not big at all, and have only about 10 sunbathe chairs.

6. The hotel has a tour desk. If you are going to take tours say to Phi Phi or James Bond, I recommend to talk to them, and look at the brochures, but don't book with them. We went out to the road to book the tours and get almost 30% - 40% off for exactly the same tour programme.

Goodsides:
1. Breakfast was quite nice with a bit of variety different on each day.
2. Except for the receptionist, the buggy staff and others are very friendly and nice. There are 4 public internet next to the lobby and when they are all used, one of the buggy staff lent us a laptop which we appreciated very much.

Phuket is very much commercial place and I def not recommending anyone to go to Phuket.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MuskCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

Unfortunately i am writting this review as we check out from this fabulous hotel.
As stated in the review below Hillside is perfect!
We were a group aged 20-30, prefer the better things in life, wanted a hotel where we could relax, yet still be close to the night life.

The staff are excellent, we loved being driven to and from our room in the golf buggy, loved the massage parlour in drive way - 250Baht 1 hour!
But nothing beats the 11 swimming pools all cascading down to one and other...Its just perfect as it is never over crowded and is there are children (or adults) annoying you, simply walk up 10 steps (or jump the ledge) to the next pool.

We stayed in a deluxe view room - and what a view it was...with a HUGE spa on the balcony looking out over Kata beach whilst drinking a long island ice tea...What could be better???

We booked our room on latestays.com and only paid 2300Baht per night.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank imaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#6 of 55 in Kata Beach
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kata Beach
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Flora Resort
Chanalai Flora Resort
#8 of 55 in Kata Beach
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#31 of 55 in Kata Beach
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £42 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tiered infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing