We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New....clean...simple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2009

we stayed in a poolside access room. We found it nice and clean but if you are after a nice warm cosy room then this hotel isnt it. Everything is simple and effects are done through polished concrete. The workmanship needs some quality assurance behind it. I would suggest booking this hotel if you are after something new and in a quiet area of of Kata Beach. There a good prices to be had at last minute prices and would not suggest staying here if it wasnt.

Our room had some issues with the shower area where the water ran into the batthroom area. It smelled mouldy and the room itself always has mozzies. I had the room sprayed everyday. Something to note if your skin does not respond well to mozzie bites like myself.

It has been noted that it is on a hill and hence its namesake. If are are mobility challenged then this hotel does pose a problem however if you can walk this should not deter you. The gold buggies are available to take you up and down though it may be a short wait at times. Not everything has to be a rush.

All in all

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titanix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2009

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of our Thailand trip and it was a fantastic start to the holiday. It was very clean and our pool access room gave us direct access to one of the many swimming pools. The only drawback was the mammouth hills you may need to climb in order to get to your room, and ours was right at the top! They do have little golf style buggies but they can't be used in the rain as they slide.

Great location very near to kata beach, ate at the 'Boathouse Wine and Grill' which I would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stayed here for the last new year’s eve. It seemed that the hotel was just opened. What can we say? Our room (a superior room with sea view) was simply superb. A fantastic view, a huge space, comfortable bed, new and super clean towels, linens and pillows, 2 air conditionings, LCD TV, a nice veranda, and more.

But… outside the door the hotel is just average. Breakfast is ridiculously simple (considering the hotel’s purpose), the staff is poor trained, we have to use electric cars to go to the rooms (and they aren’t always available) and, outside the pools, the common areas are not nice, mainly the front desk.

About the location, if you really want to stay in Phuket, I think Kata is the best option, and, once in Kata, this hotel is in a good location.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandre_Barreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

we stayed 10 nights in sugar palm grand hillside in mid february and we had a great time. the hotel is great value for the money we paid. the rate we paid was around 58 USD per night for the 2 of us including breakfast and taxes and our room was sea view. the hotel is set on a hill in the kata beach area. our previous visit in 2007 was based in patong so kata was quite a change. it's much lower key and more family oriented than patong and it offers the convenience of being close to most of the nicer beaches like kata noi,karon,rawai,yanui.
the hotel stay was good.it's quiet and close to many restuarant and local shops like 711 and stalls that sell everything from clothes to souvenirs.the hotel staff are polite and friendly.we didn't try room service as we only ate breakfast at the hotel and lunch or dinner was out. this is not a five star hotel,if you're looking for luxury then try the four seasons.the sugar palm grand is a good value budget 4 star hotel.
we ate out almost every day. we tried the orchid restuarant 3 just opposite the hotel on your down to the main road.we had pad thai(my favourite) and chicken with cashew nuts and chicken with green curry.the food was great,so was the service.it's a family run businness and in our opinion a hidden treasure cuz the food was great and cheap by phuket standards.on valentine's we had dinner at on the rock which is at the marina hotel in karon.we had reserved a table by mail a couple of day before we arrived in phuket. the place is set literally on the rocks and the view is of the beach is great and even nicer when the sun sets.we had chicken satay and spring rolls for starters and grilled large prawns for mains and drinks.we also tried cappanina which was very good and the horn grill steakhouse just 1 minute walk away from the hotel.we had the buffet they do 3 days a week for 295 baht per person without drinks and you really need to be hungry to able to try what's on offer:chicken satay,live mongolian bbq chicken,beef and squid.they aslo had a live noodle station,a salad bar and deserts and the resturant has many seating options, either outdoor on the pavement or indoor or in a cute garden setting.kata mama is another place we tried and enjoyed. it's set outdoors very close to kata beach.we had starters and grilled fish which was delicious.anyway it seems my review has turned into a JBR.we had a great time and we spent a well deserved break of relaxation,great food, and of course shopping.

1  Thank sunseekerleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

As the name suggests this hotel is on a hillside close to Kata Beach. The beach is approx. 3 blocks away and is an easy walk. There are about 7-8 individual pools on several levels so a person does have a choice. The place is quiet and there are many restaurants and shops in the area. The buffet breakfasts are great with many selections.The shower is a great feature. The downside is the hill as a person has to climb the hill to get to the hotel and then climb again to get to the first three levels of rooms; and after that there is an elevator. Also the rooms have bare cement floors and the bathrooms have bare cement floors and walls so it is a harse interior and hard to walk around in the rooms. While we were there, the internet was a problem as many times the computers would freeze which was very frustrating.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Stayed at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside and thought it was wonderful. We booked a pool access room and never regretted it. It was great to have a pool just outside the room. Not a huge pool for doing laps, but still a pool and a deck with a great view of Kata since our room was almost at the top. Rooms were very clean with big comfy bed, also because the hotel is new. Bathtub and shower stall were huge! Cannot complain about the decor, since its suppose to be minimalist. Mostly white interiors which was very relaxing.There is a steep slope to get to the hotel and that got quite tiring especially after a day out. Plus our roon was quite high up. But the buggies were always available to take us up except a couple of times when it rained. Oh, and dont be fooled by the outdoor jacuzzi rooms. We very nearly booked it but realised its actually a bathtub on the balcony in full view of the other guests. Direct pool access was much much better!! Staff were alright, not overly friendly, but relatively nice. Breakfast was pretty good. Lots of tropical fruits, an omelette station, variety of cereal, bread, danish and juices. Kata beach is really nice, clean. especially in the evenings when all the sunbathers have left. Its much quieter then. Definately better that Patong. Kata is definately not for those seeking nightlife. Its better for families.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanzTapz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We booked the hotel mostly because we saw very good reviews on tripadvisor. We were very disappointed on arrival to see it was a post-modern-style hotel, with dark gray decors and washed-out cement floor (not very appealing to us), a very steep climb to get to the base of the hotel and then to our room, no ambiance/animation whatsoever, and a quite inconvenient swimming pool layout (the picture of the hotel is rather misleading of what it is really like) . Not our idea of a nice retreat.

We eventually decided to cancel our stay and to go to a much nicer - and more expensive - hotel nearby (Kata Beach Resort & Spa) but were told by the Hillside staff the bad news that we could not really cancel our stay any more due their strict cancellation policies. We still cancelled our stay nonetheless (and forfeited most of the payments we’ve already made). That was not really the fault of the staff, but we felt of the overall experience as a total rip-off.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarceFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchidacea Resort
Orchidacea Resort
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £33 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tiered infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing