We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent design concept but hotel maintenance could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent design concept but hotel maintenance could be improved”
Reviewed 29 October 2010

The design team made excellent use of the narrow strip of land on a steep mountain slope. It's a very beautifully designed and unique hotel, no doubts about it. The rooms are contemporary with unfinished concrete. You'll either love it or hate it. If you prefer traditional Thai style or mass market hotel style rooms, this is not for you. Parents with young children will also want to give this one a wide berth as there plenty of sharp corners and the room floor is rather slippery when wet. There is steep slope in front it (45 degrees incline), which I didn't really mind but hubby was saying his knees hurt after a few days.
It's a couples' paradise with the somewhat private pools that is only shared with a few other rooms and the glass bathroom wall is sexy. The bathtub was big and spotlessly clean. There's a separate shower stall which is spacious and features a sleekly designed rain shower and a wand like showerhead. We took a pool access room and the pool is right on the edge of our balcony. There's a deck in the middle that has sunbathing beds. There's a few different pool configurations so yours might be different. Breakfast is somewhat limited in range but yummy.
Just down the slope there's shops, restaurants, massage palours and the beach. The immediate surroundings (southern end) is a nice area for couples and families. The pubs are just that and not the girlie bars sort. Kata beach has girlie bars too but they are concentrated at the northen end. We scootered to Patong and it is much busier and dirtier but with more shopping. Imagine Bangkok's Patpong area transplanted on a beach. Depends on what you are after anyways.
There's some maintenance issues though. The power went off at around 11pm and the room was pitch dark. Thankfully it was only for ten minutes that night. The next day, there was a letter from management stating that electricity, water and telephone lines will not be available for 3 hours the next afternoon because they are changing the electricity capicitors. We had already decided on sightseeing so that wasn't an issue. But what if we were sick and had to stay in? 3 hours without modern conveniences would be terrible.
Service was mostly good except for 2 grouchy receptionists. There's a few other receptionists with ready smiles, approach them and you will have no complaints about the service.
Overall yes I will stay at this hotel again because I love the room design and pool access but I will only recommend it with a big disclaimer because of the maintenance issues.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmRightHereNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    413
    119
    44
    22
See reviews for
159
435
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I just returned from 2 night stay at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside. As the name suggests, it's indeed peaked high upon a hill which did help us train our thigh muscles so we are not complaining :D. The hotel is great, the room is very minimalistic and sleek.. definitely worth the 2nd trendiest hotel in asia title! :)

We had a poolview room and it's amazing. There's indeed 11 pools and some of them were infinity pool and it was great for photo taking! I'd strongly advise you to take time to dip in the pool :D. Room service meals (105baht = SGD5) and cocktail prices are all highly reasonable (to our surprise!). Staff were friendly and the place was very cosy.

Only regret was that the steam room was not ready yet.

Down the road there's shops selling souvenirs.. clothes.. bikini and food. Remember to barter for price. I got my bikini set at 350baht. Anything more than 400baht is not worth it! Do rent a bodysurf or surfboard to fully enjoy kata beach :D

All in all, i'd definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I return! :D

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Myself & 3 friends have just returned from Phuket where we spent 7 nights at the Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside. Generally speaking, its a lovely hotel with pretty much everything you need. Rooms are large & spacious with a balcony & lovely view. The bathroom is also quite large with a lovely bath aswell as a separate walk-in shower. Theres a flatscren TV & a DVD player aswell. You get separate beach towels & water daily. After reading all the reviews on TA, we were abit worried about the hill that you have to climb to get to the hotel however its not really anything to worry about it if you are in good health, its literally only a few mins & provided you don't have knee/joint problems its fine. The breakfast was good & filling with plenty of variety. The staff were always friendly & helpful. There is free internet use in the hotel reception. Its a great location -the beach is only 5mins walk away. There are shops & plenty of places to eat as soon as you come down the hill. It was low season when we went so although there were plenty of people around at all times, the area was pretty quiet, however i can imagine it being more busier at peak times. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b_5London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

stayed in pool access room fantasic to dive into pool after day out lovely modern room massive walk in shower and double bath very comfortable king size bed flat screen tv with dvd player as with most hotels not enough drawer space only draws in wardrobe
access up and down slopes is a bit awkward but boys happy to run you up and down in buggies.
great buffett breakfast loads of choice and staff very pleasant
Free use of 4 computers in airconditioned reception plusstaff happy to print out anything you need at no charge.
Hotel 5 min walk to the beautiful Kata beach with loads of restaurarnts nearbuy would recomend the ska bar and restaurant for great value food/entertainment with great views

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_tracyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed 3 nights in Sep 2010. Off peak period for Phuket and hence the hotel is not crowded. Great value for money. Good view and lots of privacy.

The drawbacks are front desk not friendly when we asked for late check-out, and taxi bookings.

Would be perfect if hotel offers shuttle service to Patong, Phuket Town and other beaches.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The first room they gave me was at the far end at the back of a steep hill. When I checked in and was driven up there in a golf buggy at 8pm that did not seem to be a problem and it was actually rather fun (like a carnival ride). I walked in and was amazed at the modern and minimalist granite look-I thought it was great. But within minutes the room was covered in smoke and the air con built inside the roof started sparking as if on fire. I quickly exited and luckily the next door neighbours called reception. The neighbours (Chinese Australians in their 50s) then told me they did not like their hotel room because it was too far from the main road and up a steep hill and it was hard to move up and down from the hotel entrance to their room. Luckily I was quickly moved to a room closer to the main lobby (access using 2 lifts) -the room was nice but the aircon did not work (immediately). I had to call the electrician in twice to have a look at it and fix it. He had no command of English and everything had to be translated via the receptionist over the phone (who was disappointingly rude). It was 32 degrees in my room for over an hour until I passed out from tiredness. When I woke up in the morning it was 24 degrees.

The room and hotel looks clean but I did find a long ladies hair in my bed plus the former neighbours comments about finding ants rang true when I noticed small reddish ants on the bed! Never seen that before. When the former neighbour said to me they had problems with ants in their room I just thought a few ants on the floor not on the bed! But apart from that the hotel looks clean.

The hotel breakfast is nothing special but I got there at 10am (breakfast ends at 10.30am) and the setting is lackluster. The coffee served is brewed. The breakfast staff looked like they did not want to be there- there was nothing happy and friendly about them. Most of the hotel staff have no or limited command of English or don't want to try. I was surprised since in all my travel experiences in Thailand they always seem to genuinely try- not at this hotel. Not sure if they were all locals.

The pool is a tiered pool with one pool with a swim up bar which can be also accessed by some of the rooms. The pool seemed underutilized. I did not see a communal toilet nearby -which could be a problem! (and may be why).

The hotel is located up a small steep hill and it takes about 5 mins to walk to the beach from the lobby. Depending on where your room is in the hotel it could take longer especially on the way back up the hill sans the buggy!

Would I stay here again? Not sure. It seemed like a good deal but because of all the little things noted above- I would only go back if I had no other option. The electrical short to the aircon unit is a real safety concern especially if I had been asleep! The check out process was also less than friendly and that left a more lasting sour impression.

Would I recommend it? Not sure. I may have been unlucky. So check out other reviews before you make a decision.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappySydChampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

the hotel is in a great location in Kata, close to everything needed and easy to get to other places like Patong. Plenty of restuarants/cafes/spas within walking distance. it is a great design, built in levels into the hillside and designed out of concrete. the room was very comfortable, clean and had amazing views. the service was fabulous and very attentive, no matter the request or time of day. The pools were in 3 levels with cascading waterfalls and a simple poolside bar. only downside were the limited hours. Highly recommend this hotel. Only issues were the ongoing renovations and the lifts which were out of service majority of our stay and the fact they are spilt between the levels so you need to work from one side to the other to get use 2 lifts over 8 levels.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haylee173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.7 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#19 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Property: Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tiered infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotelopia, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing