We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
432 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 21 December 2010

+ hotel is positioned high on a hill which separates Kata Beach from Kata Noi Beach, so the views are beautiful, as well as no excess noise
+ lovely infinity pools and terraces for sunbathing
+ attentive staff

= rooms are nice but nothing special. Minimalistic style was fine to me, but some may dislike it.

- you gotta walk up and down A LOT. There's a buggy service from reception to your room, but you won't call them everytime, right? So not good for small kids or elders.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    415
    119
    44
    22
See reviews for
160
439
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Upon check-in, I was given a free upgrade to a room with sea and pool view and a private jacuzzi on our balcony too. The rooms are so spacious and so clean. The bathroom has a cement finish but that gives the room a very trendy finish.

The location is about 5 minutes walk to Kata Beach. This beach is not so party-orientated as Patong beach is. This beach is more suitable for relaxing and just chilling. The hotel sits on a hill which overlooks Kata beach and the main strip of shops, restaurants etc all start as soon as you walk out of the hotel. So convenient!

You can catch a blue open-air public bus (song-thaew) to get to Phuket City, Central Festival Shopping Centre or Karon Beach. Each ride is a mere 30 Baht! The stop for this is within 2 minutes walk of the hotel. As you walk straight down the hill, the bus stop is on your left at the 2nd intersection (same street you would turn off to walk to the beach). I avoided using the tuk tuk or taxis because of the taxi/tuk-tuk mafia. Nothing is metered and they like to overcharge.

Best feature would be the location and the stunning view of the Andaman Sea.
Least liked feature would have to be the smell in the elevators and despite there being free wifi, my connection was always 'very low' and it would drop out every 15-20 minutes which was annoying.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed at the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside for our honeymoon. The hotel is very new and trendy. We loved our room-which was made of stone. The bathroom was impressive. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The breakfast served each morning had great variety and delicious juices. The spa is worth checking out - a bit more pricier than what you will find on the street. The lobby has enough computers and internet access. There are some great restaurants and shopping in the vicinity. The hotel close to the beach.
Note: I got stung by jelly fish while we were at the beach. There are no warning signs of jellyfish so be careful. When I returned to the hotel the staff were not very helpful and did not know what to do for it!
All in all, we enjoyed out stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

This Hotel is a series of 4 story buildings located on a steep hillside with elevators that sort of link up via a breezeway which involves walking a distance to hook up with the next elevator. The floor numbers do not match to the room numbers ...floor 9 is elevator button 6. It gets really complicated when you try to access the pool area. The elevator was not working on several occasions nor was the Wi Fi.
The staff seemed rather indifferent and generally treated us like we were pests.
We had a key problem and had to wait all day until it was rectified. The front desk clerk made me feel like it was our fault which was really strange.
The morning breakfasts were great with a lot of food to choose from.
The location is good just about a 10 minute walk to the beach.
You can catch sea views from the upper floors.
There is a strange noise that came from the second pool level. I thought it might be a bullfrog or some pump noise. I noticed another poster here commented on the same thing. Other than that noise, the hotel is quiet and quite modern. If you like the minimalist cement look. We checked out early and moved to Karon Beach Phuket Island view which was not as busy and had better beach access.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afatchance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We came from a horrible stay in Karon to this resort. We booked one night incase we didn't like the hotel. We ended up booking another two nights. The hotel staff was great! Very helpful and did their best to keep us satisfied.
The hotel has a trendy feel to it. The one we stayed at in Karon felt like it was cool 30 years ago so this was a plesant change.

Price great, room was large and spacious, bathroom was huge (which my wife loved).

We didn't dine in the restaurant but used the restaraunt next door (10 seconds from lobby) which was much cheaper with good food and service as well.

Definitely would recommend this for a stay in Phuket and would say we enjoyed Kata much more than Karon.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echestick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Stayed 4 nights, in a garden/beach view room. Mostly good experiences. One or two issues:

- mattresses are not very supportive
- evenings (i.e. before midnight) were disturbed by some noise from an unidentified source (possibly wildlife)

The hill is not a big deal for physical effort (apart from the initial 30m drag to the reception). The trek via lifts and walkways up the hill to the room could be a bore for many.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stxmld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Location:
> On top of the hill. Very tiring esp when the lift broke down. but its just 5 mins down to Kata beach. Very quiet around the hotel area during night time.a bit scary too.

Reception:
> Spoke in reasonable english. Not so friendly and efficient. Only two front staffs were gd, 1 lady & 1 guy. they were very helpful indeed.

> Downside:
> we reported having problems with the wi-fi (mac) in the room on our first night, and we were told off by saying that its due to bad weather. And when we checked the next day, it turns out to be a different thing. not due to weather. imagine hw did we feel?

> Rooms:
> we had Grand Pool Access Room for the first 2 nights. It was splendid!
> 1 king sized bed, 1 extra bed come sofa bed like, in a very big (literally!) room.
> Amenities (Room):
> Flat screen Samsung TV.
> Tv channels were kind of disappointing. Hbo, Cinemax, and some other channels were not available, evntho' listed.
> Mac (Apple) Wi-fi with wireless keybrd & mouse are available.
> Kettle, crocs -like sandals, bathrobes, beach towels are provided too. =)
> And a great private balcony which leads to the swimming pool.
>
> And the next 2 nights we had Grand Pool View room, nuthing's much changed, cept for there's no Mac wi-fi internet, and no straight access to the pool. And the room has Queen sized bed.

Dining:
Didnt try any of the hotel's food,cos they dont serve halal / vegetarian menu. So no comments abt them.
For muslims, there's only 1 halal-menu restaurant downside abt 500m from this hotel which serves not so good food. Will greatly recommend going down to Patong for dining.
There's Andaman Coffee cafe 3 mins walk down from hotel which serves gd coffee. U can bring back ur cup for only 105THB. Not so bad looking cup. =) Of course, they will wash it up and put it in a box for u.

Spa:
Wanted to try their spa, but we decide to try Sala Spa (as recommended by other reviewers here!) instead. So no comments abt the hotel's spa either.

Housekeeping:
> Last but not least, the housekeeping. Ahhh....the best! they cleaned up the room so perfectly well. and lucky us, we didnt lose anything. they changed our towels everyday, eventho' we hang up our towels to indicate that we dun need to change towels, but they did aniwe. in the rm has this small note abv the bed stating if u dun need to change the towels everyday, u can just hang them and thus they wun change it. we didnt realised that note until the last night and we were happy that they DID change new towels for us everyday.

> On the whole, in my honest opinion. this hotel is a nice place for honeymooners. very romantic. since we had high flr, and when the lift broke down, we practically had to drag our feets climbing the hill. bt seriously on the higher floor has a superbly nicer view.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,030 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 57 in Kata Beach
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.2 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kata Beach
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Property: Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tiered infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing