We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I stayed at the sugarpalm grand hillside in early January with my partner. We both loved how modern, clean and beautiful this resort was. After staying on Koh Samui, and other island destinations, having a clean and new resort was so refreshing as opposed to the stuffy run down wood bungalows. The resort staff were helpful, and the view of Kata town/beach (not very noticeable from the rooms, but from the resort it self) was stunning. Yes there was a hill (it is called the grand hillside afterall) but it didn't bother us considering our only excercise was lifting cocktail and beer glasses. If you are unfit.. yes you would find it an issue - however if this is the case the resort has golf buggies to drive you to your room. Didn't have a chance to try the food, so I cant comment on it.

I didn't have a massage at their spa, although when we asked the price and decided to go elsewhere the spa reception lady cut it by half (its still cheaper on the streets). So I assume that the spa prices are negotiable... as per everything else in Thailand! (tours are generally negotiable too - we got 2 for the price of one)

Kata beach itself, while a little crowded, was a lot nicer than Patong beach, and was only 15 minutes away by tuk tuk - it was no problem to get a tuk tuk back from Patong at 3am.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanni_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    415
    121
    44
    22
See reviews for
161
439
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of January. First impressions of the hotel were lovely. Our room was in one of the blocks accessible by a very steep hill and not by the elevator. Be warned, those steep hills are just sloped - there are no steps, just an inclined concrete road.

This hotel is in a good location but beware of those hills especially when its raining. One afternoon when it was raining particularly heavily, we rang for the buggy to take us down to reception as we were meeting friends to attend a wedding near by. The response from the hotel was that our request wasn't possible as it was too dangerous to send a buggy up. Our room was only accessible via a steep slope - if it was too dangerous for a buggy, then guests have no chance of leaving their rooms when it is raining as it would be quite dangerous to try and navigate your way down a slippery slope.

A quick mention about the communal pool - there are 2 pools for guests, both are quite small. However there are several pool access rooms with dedicated pools which looked lovely and would probably recommend those if you would like to swim with some relative privacy.

Overall the stay at the hotel was nice and good value for money. The staff could have been more helpful - perhaps a little more training and better customer service to improve the overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emelia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

The rooms and technology at this hotel is amazing. Loved the apple mac connected to the television. We had a pool access room which was an extra bonus of being able to step right in the pool from your room. The walk to the room is quite steep but the hotel provides a buggy service to take you up. We had daily massages at the day spa and the service there was wonderful. great, friendly staff who went over and beyond to help. the only downside is the lack of food and beverage facilities. The breakfast is 6:30-10:30, and the food tended to run out by 10. There was no seating structure so 3 out of the 4 mornings we were left waiting for an empty table. Not a good buffet breakfast spread and the resort itself has no restuarant so no dinner is available on site (they have room service but they collect this food from down the road so it can take awhile) We were not too concerned with the food though as we were happy to eat in Kata. I also agree with the comment about taxi's. Our airport transfer could not find the hotel and on 3 seperate occassions thoughout our stay we were dropped at the wrong resort, the rest of the times we had to direct the driver to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursejulie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Very well styled hotel with amazing rooms, comfy beds, very cool bathrooms, endless swimming pools and lovely views & surroundings. Really great location (few mins to beach) and really quiet/peaceful. The breakfast was really good with plenty of choices. The rooms were always cleaned quickly and professionally. Free internet in the reception or wireless in the rooms (was a bit slow but ok). Helpful reception staff. Would recommend using their airport transfer as it was easy and well priced.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enomlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

It was quite an adventure finding this hotel as our taxi driver had no idea about it. We found it eventually. I must say that it is definitely one of the strangest hotels I’ve stayed in. It is a real maze of a place and some parts of the hotel you have to get the staff to drive you to certain parts of the hotel. It is definitely ultra modern. The problem with ultra modern is that it is not always practical.

Apart from all the walking and waiting for slow elevators to get to rooms in the hotel and the bag porters strong signals that you must give them a tip even though they did the smallest job or weren’t particularly helpful (I’m Australian) our biggest complaint was the concrete floors. Yes they have concrete floors to keep the rooms a stylish grey concrete colour!

Looks pretty cool but it feels terrible with bare feet, so you will be wearing slippers the whole time inside. We had our 6 month old son with us and it was quite dangerous for him to crawl around on as well as try and stand, as the surface is very hard and would make it easy to crack his head on. My wife who is Brazilian wouldn’t believe me that they had the floors that way for the design and style of the hotel. She was convinced they did it to save the costs of tilling the rooms or having carpet

On the plus side, the location is great; very close walk to the beach. Hotel is very quiet for such a busy area and the pools are outstanding. The pool’s really make this hotel and gives you a great place to hang out in peace and quiet when you are done with the beach.
We did not have a poolside room, but I could imagine that it’s nice having your own pool attached to the room. Although if you wanted to spend considerable time in the pool you would probably spend it in the large general pool anyway.

Final piece of advice, don’t bother paying extra money for the Spa room. The only difference with the room is that it has a not-cool looking spa bath on the balcony, looks like a bath tub.

Even though I would never go back to Phuket, Khao Lak is way better; I would probably stay at this hotel again due to its location, its pools and its peacefulness.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 120speedracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Nice staff, very modern hotel and conveniently located. It is on a very steep Hill so not for elderly. View is Nice though. BF is average.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oli_and_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This hotel is on a hill. Steep slope to walk up the hotel. Even though there are lifts, the hotels are connected. So meaning you have to walk a lot to reach your room. The night shift car park guard is lazy. Sleeping while on duty, so if you drive, better watch out for traffic before head out to the narrow road of the hotel. Rooms are big enough but nothing to shout for. The front counter need to attend Customers service . Very rude attitude. Pool is nice though. Breakfast is awful. will not stay in this hotel again.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nusabahor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.2 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kata Beach
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#26 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Property: Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tiered infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing