We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Baray Villa
Nearby Hotels
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beyond Resort Kata(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Metadee Resort and Villas(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Kata Resort Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boathouse Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Flora Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palmery Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
392
74
18
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
74
18
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolliving roommain poolfoot bathour honeymoonpool barinsect repellentturn down servicelounge areaspa treatmentsairport transferwater featuresevery hourdirect access to the poolrainy seasonrain showerbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I travel Phuket for 5 days. 4 nights at The Baray villa are so wonderful and go by rapidly. I won't talk to much about life at the villa because you can read them in many reviews below and I believe that happiness never lie. I just wanna said that you'll really 'MISS' if u don't come here. Feeling rejuvenated,open wide but safety comes to the first step on The Baray villa, I bet this is the answer which lodgers find out.

I heard many guests complain about location not sea side. Actually I think it's better to be like this. Sea side brings the crowd, so why we must bring ourself to that fussed life. Just waste a little time 5-10 min. walking to the beach, sight seeing along the way. That's so much fun.^^ Especially safety from TSUNAMI !!! hahaha ;p


P.S. Beyond saying Wow w w wwwwwwwww!!!! for sure :) <3

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoupeAMLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind choosing Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa for your accommodation. That would be nice to hear that you are relax and have a wonderful time during stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is my first review ever on Trip advisor.
I will not detail much what the villas have or do not have as you can check these on the Hotel website. I will just provide my subjective view on the experience I had.
The Baray Villa is a unique property, full of design and charm. It is the perfect place for a peaceful retreat. This hotel is a real hidden gem. Step into the entrance straight from the road and you enter a true oasis. The swimming pool is edged by the most beautiful plants and trees and you feel that you are swimming in an undiscovered lake with an amazing waterfall at one end.
Beautifully designed and furnished, this High Thai and Morroccan inspired sancutary is a place for couples to escape the madness of life and re-centre. So many small details and attentions to attract your eyes everywhere and to fall in love more and more with this place.
This place is amazing! I could not boast anymore about it. It was absolute bliss, perfection and just so relaxing! We had a private jacuzzi and pool, sun lounges, massive bed and bath. You even have a foot spa when you're sitting on the couch.
The semi private swimming pool is everything you can expect and when the night falls it is lit by tiny little lights.
Each evening there is a turn-down service (in addition to a daily cleaning, of course) , where your curtains are drawn and tropical fruit bowl replaced.
The staff cannot be praised enough. You have to experience it to believe it.
If in doubt to book this Hotel or another one in Phuket give this one a try. You can thank me later for the good advice :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JENNY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind choosing Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa for your accommodation. That would be nice to hear that you are relax and have a wonderful time during stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Booked seven days stayed two! Beguiled by previous rave reviews on Trip Advisor, we were looking forward to a blissful experience. No one informs you that when your taxi pulls up in front of the hotel, you are opposite a construction site, there is NO seabreeze as you are in the hottest part of Kata Road, the Baray Villa restaurant borders on the road so you can smell truck, car & bike fumes whilst trying to enjoy the limited variety offered at breakfast; with the kitchen staff taking up one of the best tables as they enjoy a leisurely breakfast! Yes, our villa was architecturally lovely BUT if you seek fresh sea air, sun and light in your room, this is NOT the experience for you. The lights are dim ALL day and aircon has to be on all the time which makes for a sleepless night as it is quite loud. The option of a fan would be nice! No iron in our room, a dodgy hairdryer. Yes, the bed is huge (actually 2 beds locked together), way too firm, and the pillows we were given, lumpy! The straw that broke the camels back was the old linen sheets on our bed and towels that should have been thrown out 2 years ago. Stained with rust, unsightly marks. The narrow pool that winds to the bar was full of leaves so made swimming an obstacle course. Yes, the staff are helpful but when you advertise 4-5 star there should be at least one staff member able to speak excellent English, the food should be sensational, and the linen quality feeling new every time. We truly believe that the owner has become complacent .. relying on their thai morroccan influenced architecture to mesmerise weary travellers into believing that the villas are worth $450-500 a night. They definitely are not! Lift your game, please. After our first sleepless night, we reluctantly stayed a 2nd night before booking into a superb resort right on peaceful Kata Noi beach at half the price. We shouldn't have agreed to the Baray Villa's manager's demand for AUD$1,000 (2 night compensation for cutting our stay short), we were the one's who should have been compensated, but we conceded knowing that our decision to move down the road would ensure fresh air, 5 star attention to detail, superb dining experiences, and a Phuket holiday never to forget. Thank God for the Katathani Resort!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Maidstoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Value Guests,

Thank you very much for your valued comments, we will use it to fulfill what we have not yet complete.
About the hotel's location. The hotel state clearly that we are not next to the beach. Other guest's comment on every website also state this point out. However, to compensate with this disadvantage in location, our hotel provides you with free transfer service to Kata Beach hourly.

About the linen sheets. Our hotel use linen sheets that have not been bleaches white, which would give the sheet a mild creamy color. Additional to this, our room have a dim light atmosphere to give your sight a relaxation feeling, this make the sheets looks even more creamy. With these two factors it might make the sheets look old with yellow color. However, we guarantee that the sheets' color isn't resulted from ages of used but from the nature of the unbleached linen itself. As you are the one comment given to us about the sheets look old, we are working on changing the whole hotel's sheets into white color, in order to avoid misunderstanding in the later term. If we were not affected by the flooding, the change should be completed by December 2011.

We are sorry for the lack of cleanliness of the pool, as the fence between Villa and main pool are trees to keep green and privacy. It is not easy to have the pool clear all the time but we will try our best to improve on this flaw.

Normally, the condition for early check out is whole period charge, as we would lose opportunity to sell when we are fully occupied. However, we do understood that you are unhappy to stay here, so we ask you to help us cover for the 2 nights from the 4 nights left and the hotel would cover for the less.
Each hotel have different room types and depend on the location. As well as if compare as the same category we are sure to setting room rate cheaper than.

Once again thank you for your comments to improve our service.

Best Regards,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

From the approach this does not look anything special but once you go inside you will be amazed. We stayed in the Baray Villa no 212 (scorpio) and it was huge. The rooms are spread over two levels with a huge bedroom upstairs (with the biggest bed we've ever slept in, bigger than super king) with large flat screen and a sofa at the foot of the bed with a built in foot spa. The bathroom has a huge stand alone bath tub (for two) with large wardrobe (with safe) and walk in shower and his & hers sinks. Downstairs is a living room area with large flat screen, another toilet and outside shower, and a jacuzzi which leads on to small secluded pool area which then leads on to the private long pool with waterfalls at one end and a bar at the other. The in-villa mini-bar is exceptionally well priced and the in-villa dining is also cheap and of a very good quality.

Good points - The service was exceptional and always with a smile, the mini-bar was cheap, you can have your breakfast delivered to your room for no extra charge, the private pools, the impressive surrounding and the private dining room/bar for use by only the Baray Villa guests.
You also get little benefits to use each day. We tried the meal (not the best but the wine was good), the spa treatment (absolutely fantastic) and the airport transfer (again, excellent).

I would heartily recommend this accomodation to anyone visiting the area and it really does deserve the ratings on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Avoid Gemini - it's the very first Villa and seemed to be a liitle overlooked (whist the others are completely private) We stayed in Scorpio (212) which was quiet and towards the end of the row of Villas
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaAndMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor and that would be great to hear that you had a wonderful time during stay at The Baray Villa.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Baray Villa is just amazing. We stayed there for 5 nights in october and absolutely loved it. The Villa's and there amenities are just astonishing. The pool is beautiful and very quiet. The pool-bar is great to have a drink or some lunch.

The personnel is very helpful. In the Villa's you have access to your own personal assistant. Just dial 0 and ask whatever you want. If you have any complaints they will be sorted out immediately. We noticed on our first night that our downstairs tv (yes, there are 2 tv's in the villa's) did not work. The girl from housekeeping who was doing the turn-down service saw this and called the personal assistant. An hour later we had a new tv!!

We had a great stay and will come back again. Thanks to everyone at the Baray Villa's.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor and that would be great to hear that you had a wonderful time during stay at The Baray Villa. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews