We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed for three nights at the end of our holiday, from the moment we walked into the Baray Villa we were made to feel welcome. Having travelled to Thailand extensively and stayed at some of the best hotels including the Bangkok oriental i have to say that this hotel is definatley one of the best. The Villa itself exceeds all expectations they are on two floors with a large TV on both levels including internet TV! There is an fantastic bathroom and outdoor and indoor shower with access to the pool from right outside your villa door, this hotel provides a unique experience in total luxury. When your floating round the pool it is hard to imadgine that you are in the middle of a town and just a few yards down the road there are hundreds of bars and restaurants. The only thing to watch out for is the mosquito's, as the hotel and pool are heavy with vegitation and trees there are quite a few mozzys about and we were both bitten a couple of times when in the pool. The rooms are sprayed twice a day and there are plug in repellants so its not so much of problem in the villa itself, just round the pool.

Will definatley be returning to this hotel i can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilclareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review us on TripAdvisor. On behalf of our staff, that would be most appreciated to hear that you enjoy staying with us and our room, facilities and service, all make you satisfy.
Once again Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your accommodation.We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    69
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
311
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at Baray Villa for 3 nights in March and I cannot even begin to describe what a wonderful experience it was. The transfer from the airport was awesome, pure luxury and well organised. The reception and all staff were fabulous, the location was great. Being off the beach was fine for us, as we went to an Island after leaving Baray. The Villa was out of this world, we stayed in 203 and it was magnificent. Special mention to Amy and Ms Orra who went out of their way to help us make our anniversary so special. Breakfast served in the villa was really special as was lunch in the Oasis bar in the pool!
We enjoyed Kata beach area, busy enought but also nice n chilled out, and within reach of Patong if one wished. Try the Rasta Beach Bar on the mountain road towards the viewpoint for good sundowners and great food. Thank you all at Baray Villa - Fansastic Place!

Room Tip: 203 was great. Near the waterfall but not too noisy and close enough to the bar. Although I think al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Percyzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed 2 wks in march 2012. The villas are amazing, staff super friendly and helpful, and the village and pool areas are just lovely.

Thank you Orra, M, Tuk tuk, and all the other friendly faces for looking after us :) Hope to see you soon again.

James, Eli and baby Lucy.

Room Tip: Northstar villa has most sun on the pool deck, is one of the biggest villas, and has a big private g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Value Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review us on TripAdvisor. On behalf of our staff, that would be most appreciated to hear that you enjoy staying with us and our room, facilities and service, all make you satisfy.
Once again Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your accommodation.We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Do you have any idea how hard it was to choose just 10 photos of this place to share?

Stayed here in early January 2012. My husband and I are both well traveled (he travels for business every week), and we tend to opt for luxury while on vacation. But as soon as our check in assistant left after showing us around the villa, my husband echoed exactly what I had been thinking: "This is the coolest hotel room I've ever seen."

That's a lot, coming from us. Before here it was Baros, Maldives, which still wins for seclusion and setting, but as far as just the room? Baray Villa, you are hard to top.

Backing up a bit... after a harrying experience at BKK airport and the flight to Phuket, we were so relieved to be picked up by Baray Villa's transfer service. I was actually worried what the ~1 hour ride would be like because I get carsick, but the transfer was extremely smooth, air conditioned, and in a high-riding vehicle, with plush seats and relaxing music, to boot. It wasn't just tolerable; it was pleasant.

Upon arrival we were shown to our villa and allowed to check in there, and even though it was late and the kitchen was about to close, we ordered dinner to our room without problems.

The food was excellent - again I was worried, what will Thai food made for European tourists be like? But it was fantastic and we loved every meal we had. (We ate all our meals for our 48 hours in Phuket there at the hotel - it was so good, why go anywhere else?)

Minor complaint = it was hard to get the wifi working. Not a huge deal since the TV doubles as a monitor for a wired internet connection, but it would've been nice to get my Kindle connected.

Also, if you are expecting the beach shuttle to be something fancy, don't - we were literally on benches in the back of a pickup truck. It was kind of cute.

Room Tip: Even though our Villa was closest to the check in area, I was very pleased with the privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahjoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here in November for our honeymoon.From the moment we arrived we felt so welcomed. Tuk Tuk took care of everything for us upon arrival from refreshing towels and a ice cold drink. Customer service was superb. Everyone at this property was so friendly. Tuk Tuk especially. Every time he saw us on our four day stay he always spoke with us and asked how our day went. He made us feel at home. I have been working in the hospitality industry for Hilton for 5 years and he and the staff at the Baray Villa/Sawasdee Village are the definition of customer service. The property is set on a pretty main street but amazingly you would never know, because the moment you walk into the property it is a tropical oasis. The villa is very spacious, grand, and exotic. You have a small pool in your living room that leads out to your own private pool which then leads to the main villa pool which is beautiful. You even have an outdoor shower outside your villa and sun chairs by your pool. I felt like it was more authentic to the area then some of the other hotels that I had looked at. Essentially you have your own home for your stay. Fresh fruit, flowers, and chocolates were waiting for us when we got back" home" every evening. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. The hot items on the buffet varied daily. It is not beach front but no problem short walk to the beach and I believe there was a shuttle but we never used it. We enjoyed walking and exploring the area. When ever we needed a taxi the gentleman working security was quick to find us one to take us wherever we needed, he was very nice. The in room internet actually came in handy to look up local things as well to keep in touch with our diving group and some of the other tour groups via email.The staff work so incredibly hard all the time. I seen a gentleman continuley cleaning the leaves out of the pool to keep it looking great, fresh flowers were put daily into planters around the property, and candles were set around the property at night. Our housekeeper(s) kept our villa so clean. It was such beautiful and romantic place to spend our honeymoon and I am glad we chose The Baray Villa for part of our stay in Thailand. Thank you everyone at the Sawasdee Village and The Baray Villa!!! We will most definetely be back!

Room Tip: Stay in a villla you will not regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinx4563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review us on TripAdvisor. We are very much appreciated to hear that you were glad to choose us for your accommodation and have a wonder ful stay with us. We promise that we will keep our standard and we are ready all the time to serve you our best service and we are looking forward to see you soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Excellent staff so friendly and caring. Please upgrade to the villas they are well worth it. Having traveled extensively throughout the world this is a place that exceed expectations in all respects, truly first class.
Miss Or Mr Tuk Tuk and all the other staff thank you so much for your warm caring concern during my 15 day stay. I will be back, and will recommend this hotel to all my friends and fellow travellers. Truly a lifetime memory.
Having recently had surgery there is no better place in the world than this to recover.
Definitely a place for honeymoon couples who want a slice of heaven and wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Pay the extra upgrade to a villa for a lifetime memory you will never forget
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review us on TripAdvisor. On behalf of our staff, that would be most appreciated to hear that you enjoy staying with us and our room, facilities and service, all make you satisfy. Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your accommodation and thank you very much in advance for your recommendation.We are looking forward to welcome you back soon with your family !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I'll leave the description of the villas to the other reviewers. My only comment is that the experience is better than the description in the reviews. It needs to be experienced to be fully appreciated.

We arranged an airport transfer with the hotel which I would recommend. It made the arrival hassle free. We were welcomed by Or on our arrival and were taken straight to our room. There we completed be check in procedures and Or explained everything in our room and the benefits that were available to us. This was fantastic.

During our stay we availed of the restaurant for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service (thanks for a great in room breakfast experience Tuk Tuk). All meals were outstanding. We also used the spa twice for a 2.5 hour treatment. This was an amazing experience and we wish we could have squeezed one more treatment in.

The facilities and the service sets this place apart from other hotels we have stayed at. Next time we are in Phuket we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us in The Baray Villa, that would be great to hear that you have a wonderful time during staying with us. According to your direct booking to The Baray Villa so you get some benefits for example airport transfer, Thai Set Dinner etc.,and we are delight that these services met your satisfaction. We hope that we can make your next amazing experience in the near future. Thank you once again for your staying with us.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#6 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
1.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing