We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional hotel, there is no way you can be disappointed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel, there is no way you can be disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I was just browsing the internet to see where we would stay during this year's trip to Thailand and I stumbled across the Baray Villa, where we were lucky enough to stay a couple of years ago. I didn't write a review at the time as time ran away. However if any of you are looking for the most beautiful villa - you can't call it a room as its so big - you could possibly wish to stay in, then you must experience The Baray Villa. I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is spectacular, as you will see from the photos, and so unusual. The Villa is HUGE, the furnishings are beautiful. Everything, from the indoor jacuzzi leading through ornate doors to your own little private pool surrounded by vegetation which leads through to the main pool.to the foot spa at the end of your bed. The place is indescribable and absolute luxury. You have to go!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samandnatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor and thank you very much for remembering The Baray Villa - that would be our honor. We are very much appreciated to hear that you enjoy your time here with us and we do hope to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    68
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
309
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed three nights is the Baray Villas, they are magic. I have stayed in some of the best hotels on the world and this is up there. The staff are the fantastic and could not be more helpfull! The food, spa and pools etc are excellent. I can't think of one bad thing, not even a " it would be good if they...". I would recommend this hotel to anyone and know they will be impressed. I will be back as soon as I can. They are also great with kids, I came with.a 4 yr old and she loved it. Don't even bother looking at other options. Ps. I dont own the place but wish I did. It would worth it at twice the price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyDraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We went to Phuket to meet up with our son who is studying in Scotland & chose Baray Villa from the reviews on Trip Advisor. Our stay of 8 days was just perfect; from the friendly welcome by Aura, to the amazing Villa, to the wonderful breakfasts, to the friendly helpful staff, we couldn't find fault with anything. Aura is the perfect host, always friendly & smiling; nothing was too much trouble - she is the perfect person for her job! The villa was beautifully appointed & very spacious; much bigger than it looks in the photos on the website. Just when we thought that the designers had thought of everything, Aura showed us the footbath at the end of the bed! Heaven after a big day of sightseeing. Our son stayed in a garden room that was also well appointed, though quite a bit smaller than the villa; at 6'4" he really appreciated the enormous bed! We loved the semi private pool & enjoyed a swim to the Oasis pool bar each afternoon for cocktails. All in all, a wonderful stay with amazing accommodation & great staff. Well done!

Room Tip: Baray Villas are more expensive, but really worth the extra All the rooms have mini Macs with inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jan-n-lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Value Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor.Regarding to your recent stay with us in The Baray Villa, that was so nice to hear that you have a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just returned from an amazing 4 day stay in the Baray Villas at Kata Beach and couldn't have been more impressed. Our 27 year old daughter shared our villa and there was more than enough room for all of us. The staff were absolutely beautiful and have spoiled us forever. We spent most of our time relaxing about in the villa poos and the main pool area and were so relaxed when we arrived home. An absolute treat for us all. We dined at the restaurant on our first night and thoroughly enjoyed the food. We decided to venture out to outside restaurants for the other nights and because of its location it is very easy to get to Kata Beach. Despite being close enough to walk to the beach and restaurants the villas are incredibly quiet and are wonderful to return to after a day of wandering. Thank you to all the staff who looked after us so well.

Room Tip: One of the villas at the end would possibly be a bit better as they appeared to get more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor.Regarding to your recent stay with us in The Baray Villa, that was so nice to hear that you have a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in one of the Baray Villas at the Sawasdee Village and it was incredible. Neither of us had seen anything like it before. It is two story with the lounge area and a bathroom downstairs and access to the main pool from the pool in your lounge room. I know, hard to imagine isnt it! Upstairs is another sitting area with foot spas, the main bathroom which is huge and the bed which has got to be larger than a king size bed, I am sure of it. You could both star fish in the bed and not feel each other!
The highlights were the staff, the bed and the amazing pool that is for the Baray Villas only. The other resort pool is also beautiful. There are lots of areas in the place to sit and read a book in the shade as there are lots of trees and greenery which I really loved. It is like a sanctuary away from the bustle of Thailand. By far the best place to stay in Kata beach. It is only a 10 min walk to the beach and you really dont get hassled that much.
A big thanks to Aura for looking after us!
As others have said, dont forget to bring the insect repellent. There are some mosquitos but they arent that bad and if you use repellent, you wont even notice them.

Room Tip: Th biggest villas are 201 and 214. But that is not to say the others are small!!!! Villa 215 has a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the second portion of our honeymoon and I am SOOOO glad that we picked this place!! Not only was the whole property incredibly decorated and beautiful (including our over the top, fabulous villa!), but the staff was SUPER friendly and helpful and the hotel is very conveniently located with lots of shops and things nearby. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Phuket. It was AWESOME!!!

Room Tip: You have to get a villa! They are FANTASTIC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsPollot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor.Regarding to your recent stay with us in The Baray Villa, that was so nice to hear that you have a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Until this day, I am still overwhelmed at how amazingly beautiful this resort is. Our multi-level Moroccan inspired villa not only had exotic and intricate design and decorations, it came with a private garden (which has a swing and an outdoor dining setting), an in house Jacuzzi which lead to our private pool … and through a set of crafted metal gates, entered into a swimming pool that is accessible only by villa guests…and of course the swimming pool then leads to an exclusive bar, which again is only available to the villa guests.

When we arrived at the resort, we were exhausted after a turbulent flight through a storm over Bangkok. We were welcomed with fresh tropical fruits and lemongrass infused juice. As our villa hostess explained to us the facilities provided by the resort, my mind was already wandered somewhere else, eager to see the rest of the villa, to jump up and down on the larger than king-size bed and take a long, warm bath in the full bathtub. I’ve taken so many photos of the villa but it seems that they just don’t do its justice.

While we were in Phuket, we went through a tsumani scare. Everyone was evacuated from the resort but we were well looked after by the resort staff who ferried us safely back to our Baray Villa.

All this and daily buffet breakfast (that can be taken in your Villa), a beautiful spa, great hotel transfer service and great location within a short walk of Kata beach.

Words cannot describe this resort, you have to go there to experience its incredibleness.

For photos, please check out my blog post:
http://dolcebunnie.blogspot.com.au/2012/06/baray-villa-8-katekwan-road-phuket.html

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DolceBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. That would be great to hear that you have a wonderful time with us and we do thank you very much for kind upload us on your blog. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing