We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous to look at, but not so much to stay at.”
Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous to look at, but not so much to stay at.”
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

A room truly fit for a king! The villa we stayed at was gorgeous, but not practical. The bathroom doors were made of an iron design with holes in it and me being part of a family of five, found it very inconvenient. The only thing that I truly had a beef about was the fact that the doors were poorly planned. Not only do they have holes through them, but it's hard just to open/close it. Plus, I really don't think that this hotel was worth its price. We had to pay 525 usd (including tax) per night. Now, honestly, I would rather pay that much a night for an oceanfront view. The private pool was way too cold, but the public pool was ok.

Now on the brighter side, it's about a 10 minute walk to Kata Beach. Plus, they also give a complimentary ride to and from Kata Beach. The hotel has great service and design. At night, around 7, they will come over and spray insecticide all over your room. The breakfast was absolutely superb, definitely try the pancakes! The restaurant at the hotel was worth every baht spent. Definitely the best I've tried in Phuket. Also, don't try the massaman, it wasnt all that impressive. Not only that, but they really do cater to our every need. The theme of the whole hotel is very pretty! I think that it is of Arabian and Thai theme. Absolutely superb.

Bottom line: I would most definitely come back to this hotel, but I would stay in the Sawasdee Village. By the way, the Baray Villa is also combined with the Sawasdee Village in one hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THE_ISABEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, we are terribly sorry that our The Baray Villa didn't meet your satisfaction for all requirement and we did apologize for all inconveniences during your stay. By the way, we are looking forward to welcome you back in Sawasdee Village !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    69
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
312
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My boyfriend and I have stayed here twice, and it is the most amazing place to stay! Not only are the villas beautiful, clean and spacious, but they are also the perfect 'home away from home'. The staff here are so helpful and cheerful, and so kind! The property is tucked into a quiet street, so close to shops, restaurants and the clean and inviting beach. The Baray Villas are pure luxury! You must stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kindness of your review on TripAdvisor. That would be great to have a chance to welcome you back and thank you very much for your returning. We are very much appreciated to hear that we are able to warm welcome and create the great experience again. We all are looking forward for your next visit ! See you soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My wife and me just visited Phuket area for the first time. We stayed in Kata beach at Sawasdee hotel and Baray spa. I have no words to express our joy for this place. Everything is pure luxury here. Beautiful grounds with the swiming pool are perfectly designed, impecable service and honest personel. I forgot to close my room safe with valuables and cash inside and after coming back later in the evening found all intact. Excellent restaurant and 4 hours that we spend in the spa were pure pleasure. I would recomend this hotel to anybody who visits Kata beach area.
Simply out of this world.

Room Tip: Get a Baray vila and you will feel like a king or a queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us that would be very nice to hear that our service and hotel meet your satisfaction and we are looking forward to welcome you back for your next holiday !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This Hotel is lovely if you stay in the Baray Villas. Really fun over the top decor. Loved swimming from my living room out to the long pool and having lunch at the bar. After a long flight it is the perfect quiet oasis in Kata Beach. You don't need to leave the property! Staff is very kind, helpful and professional. The spa is good not the best I've been too but it was fine. The food was good with nice choices. Overall a fun, central place to stay for a couple of nights... but stay in the Baray Villas.

Room Tip: For the Baray Villas I suggest the rooms on the far side of the hotel in the middle of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiakoloaWahine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor and that would be great to hear that you enjoy your time with us at The Baray Villa. We are looking forward to welcome you back for your next holiday !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The first step into this hotel is a step into a secluded, private, relaxing and comfortable space, very hard to find in Phuket. We were in Phuket only for 3 days in our 1 week vacation in Thailand and it turned out to be the best part of our vacations.
The service in the hotel is impecable (they greeted us with a glass of iced jasmine tea while checking in, basket of fruit in our room, permanent smile on the face of all the staff), the room we got, a villa, was the best room we've ever had (private pool, hot tub, access to the main pool right from our room, amazing thai deccor bedroom) and the food in the thai rstaurant was amazing. We'll be coming back to the Sawasdee if we ever go back to Thailand.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mlbertha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

It's certainly a little strange to wake up in an Arabian palace themed villa in Phuket but the imagination and perhaps even contrariness of the owners is a welcome respite from the run of the mill resort.

A private pool comes with each villa - it's not particularly private as it's barely separated from the main villa pool. But as that is only accessed by the other 14 villa dwellers you often get the whole shared pool to yourself. Floating from waterfall feature at one end to the swim up bar at the other on your provided airbeds is not something you can do many resorts.

Well worth the extra money for the sheer space and eccentricity of the Baray Villas,.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the very end villas if you expect to spend any time on your sunbeds as those decks see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomPerignon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back for your next stay with us !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Glen, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I spent a night here in one of the Villa's as a wedding gift. We were married in Thailand the previous week. Upon arriving at the property we were absolutely blown away by the opulence of the villa. The standard of luxury was amazing. From the decor to the surroundings and the environment that is achieved by the villa's layout we couldnt have asked for a more perfect night.
The staff were wonderful. Very helpful and approachable. The seclusion of the villa's private pool and swim up bar was the perfect setting for a romantic couples night away.
I highly recommend this resort. Everything was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you can afford it and are after a luxury break - book one of the villa rooms.. worth every cent.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadowd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

That is very nice to hear that you have a wonderful time with us and we are very much appreciated for your review. We hope for a chance to welcome you back in the near furture !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 57 in Kata Beach
906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,028 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#7 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing