We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic!”
Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Majestic!”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Went on a honeymoon with a 7 months old baby, tadaa! But it doesnt stop us from feeling the romance because this place is just extremely Beautiful. They do have a nanny service thus we asked for a nanny to come along with us to the beach and also taking care of my little one while enjoying their massage n spa. She's very good, gentle and my girl is comfortable with her. paid hourly, but worth it. In Baray Villa, they do provide halal food. Woohoo!
Anyway, this place is just perfect. No complains here. ^^

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khalisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. We are very much appreciated to hear that you have a wonderful time with us and we hope to welcome you back for your next trip !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    69
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
312
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

From the moment we arrived at the airport with our driver waiting for us, to the very special welcome by Aura on our arrival at the Hotel, to the amazing villa which accommodated 3 adults with no problems (except the air conditioning kept playing up in our room up stairs and the wifi kept dropping out) to the driver waiting for us on our morning of departure, we knew we had made the right decision on our accommodation at Kata Beach. The Baray villas are an easy 10-15min walk to the beach otherwise the hotel offers an hourly transfer service to the beach and back all day. Aura and the team were professional and friendly and nothing was a bother. Exceptional service at all times and how special was it when staff would greet us by our names on a daily basis something lost in massive hotels & resorts. The restaurant service by Charan and his team was exceptional. Charan is a professional head waiter - outstanding service Charan. The new years eve dinner and evening of activities, music and dance is something we will never forget.The food was simply outstanding and the evening was so much fun and we met beautiful people from so many parts of the world. The staff worked so hard in preparing for the night. Amazing effort by all the staff to ensure the guests had a fabulous night. We had vouchers for our 10 night stay which could be used in the restaurant for lunch or dinner.The vouchers were amazing value for the Thai food and professional service we received. Breakfast was just as good with many options for food, including 2 beautiful trainee girls, (I've lost all the names I had wriiten down to mention in my review) one girl I remember was called Ann, cooking eggs & pancakes for us each morning in the sweltering conditions always with a big smile. Thank you girls we will never forget your beautiful smiles. My only complaint is the coffee. The owners need to buy better quality coffee beans. I'm a coffee freak and the coffee let the place down.The kitchen, restaurant, and front desk staff and all the cleaners etc are such hard working people I only hope the owners take good care of them as they make this resort a standout. The best food to be had in Kata is in the restaurant at the resort (don't forget to have the banana fritters) and a place called the Redchair - fabulous food and so cheap.Also when at Kata beach go to the Re Kata Club at the far left end of the beach and pay 1000bhts to get a lounge chair on the beach all day and the 1000bhts is then used as credit towards very good coffee, drinks and food. Again fabulous food and service at this place. Also they do a great seafood buffet on Sundays with all the lobster you can eat over looking Kata beach. Getting back to the Baray villas at the end of the day was a real treat away from the crowds and noise. The villas were private and tranquil and a swim at the end of the day in the pool only used by guests staying in the 14 villas was fantastic as the water was cold and refreshing. The other pool with the pool bar and great club sandwich and chips...........I could go on but this should give you some idea on how special this place is. Thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcomed and making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hoildaygirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed spending your time with us and that would be our honor to serve you our best service. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We arrived in the evening when it was dark after being picked up from the airport. The driver was a lovely man. We enjoyed seeing a little of Phuket before dark though my first impression was that it was very poor and dirty. As we neared Kata Beach it became more touristy and appeared cleaner. We arrived at the Villa and met by the staff who were very welcoming. The place is beautifully lit, there are lights in the room where you wouldn't expect them, more for ambience then brightness. Ms Aura gave us a tour. We were very impressed. The rooms are delightful and our location once we got our bearings was Excellent. The meals were included so we ate in the restaurant every evening. Service and food was very good though in the daylight the restaurant looked a little tired. Across the road is a great travel agent who became our driver. He was very helpful and took us for a four hour trip for 1500 baht. There were four adults so sharing made it a reasonable ride in airconditioned comfort and we saw some sights and rode the elephants. The day spa at Baray is a little expensive and we chose to have all our treatments down the road where there were many Businesses ready to cater for us at a fraction of the cost. So we visited nearly every day and had fun. The swimming pools are lovely to both look at and swim in. Private and tranquil. We walked to Kata beach (short walk, though the heat and humidity were too much at times) and also took the shuttle from the villa. We were allocated 6 bottles of free water a day. We loved the gentle nature of the staff, how they tried to help and their exceptional service. I would definitely stay again and recommend it if you wish to enjoy Thai hospitality and absorb the culture which you don't really get from the large chain hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nhew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecolorkata, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. That would be very nice to hear that you enjoy your stay with us and we are looking forward for your next stay with us !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Myself and three friends stayed here as it was our last hotel stay in Thailand and we wanted to make it extra special. It was indeed very special.

We spent the money and stayed in the Baray Villas. They are AMAZING. Seriously amazing. The design of the room is outstanding and every little detail has been thought of. I was just so impressed with the way the room looked. Very fancy!

I loved the pool that we could swim to from our very own lounge room. They provided us a lilo each and we spent many hours just laying around in the pool and occasionally having a cocktail at the swim up bar.

The staff were very very friendly and accommodating. They even helped me when I asked them if they could arrange a cake for a friend's birthday.

I loved simply walking through the gardens in the hotel. There were little water features everywhere and even relaxing music. I felt like we weren't even in Phuket.

I loved ordering room service. :) The club sandwich is a MUST. It was soooo yummy!

The only downside were the mosquitos, but look, just take some repellant with you and apply it throughout the day. Problem solved!

I would definitely go here for a honeymoon (staying in the Baray Villa) as it's extra special.

This was by far the fanciest place I have ever stayed and I'm glad we paid that little bit extra for a really special few days. :)

Room Tip: I only stayed in the Baray Villa and it was really amazing. I'm not sure what the other rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The other reviews and ratings you've seen on this property are all true - it is one of the nicest, most luxurious vacations I've had the pleasure of taking! The Sawasdee Village property seems quite lovely in and of itself, but our stay was in the private Baray Villa section - I rarely write reviews for properties unless they are truly something special, and the Baray is no exception.

So many others have noted the decor and comforts (all stunning, and plentiful respectively) that I won't dwell on those details here (beautiful blend between Thai & Moroccan stylings, and fully outfitted with high-speed wifi, air-con, flat screens, and the best, most comfortable bed in all of Thailand (seriously, I'm 6'10"/208cm, and I could still get lost in the bed)). If the main hotel becomes crowded with families/children, you will be extra thankful for the private pool / bar exclusive to the Baray guests.

The 2 components I wanted to point out most here were the absolutely incredible, friendly, & welcoming staff! If you stay in the Baray you will have your own valet team (who are extremely friendly and competent), but the rest of the staff are all so wonderful that you'll find yourself looking forward to any interactions - true Thai spirit is embodied in everyone there.

The other aspect that seems unmentioned is the incredible Sawasdee Thai cuisine restaurant on site - yes, it is extremely expensive (everything about the property is expensive if you compare it to other locations within Thailand, but when viewed in context alongside Western prices it is still an astonishing value) compared to other venues, but the food is some of the best I've ever had anywhere in Thailand and is not to be missed.

This is a great place to stay if you're looking for a romantic getaway, if you want the trappings of luxury without paying Four Seasons prices, or if you have a group of friends that all want to stay in a central location together - we went on holiday as a couple but would love to come back and visit with friends!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Daxterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor.That would be our honor to serve you our service and we are very much appreciated to hear that our service and hotel meet your satisfaction . We are looking forward to welcome you back with your party in the near future !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We spent our 10th anniversay at the Baray Villa. It was truly a worthwile experience for the occassion. The room was posh and very stylishly done up. Jaccuzzi within the villa and the room opens up to the private pool for the villa residents. It is 10 minutes walking distance to Kata beach and away from the rush. The food in the thai restaruant was excellent.
The flip sides were that the private pool was not very clean. This was mainly due to the trees and plants around the pool. The common pool is a lot cleaner. Another issue are the mosquitoes but the staff do their best by fumigating the room every evening.
One recommendations that I would give is the travel agent (Kate Kuan) opposite to the hotel. Very friendly and reliable (Miss PK).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reemsanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. That would be very much appreciated to hear that you enjoy your time with us and thank you very much for your comment which is very valuable for us to improve our service and we will do it immediately. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The Baray Villas are a small enclave of luxury 2 storey villas within Sawadee Village which is located in a quiet road of shops, bars, beauty salons behind a large Club Med complex that extends for about half-a-mile along the beach front at Krabi Beach. For those that do want to visit the beach this necessitates a 5-10 minute walk or use of the hotels open-backed courtesy bus/mini-van. Our villa comprised a downstairs living area with direct access to the pool and an amazing bedroom/open-plan bathroom on the 1st floor. But the thing that set this hotel apart was the service. We were looked after by the loveliest people from the moment of our arrival to our early morning departure and couldn't praise them highly enough. We had planned to eat out most nights but the food in the restaurant was so good that we ended up eating there 2 nights of the 3 that we stayed in Krabi. Apart from the secondary location I guess the only downside was that there wasn't a decent bar area in the evening but with so many to chose from along the main road this wasn't really a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melparkes34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us that would be nice to hear that you are appreciated with our service and we hope to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,932 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing