We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here for part of our first wedding anniversary trip and must say it's probably one of, if not the best hotel we have stayed it. It's difficult to compare this with a hotel room being a villa but we just had the most amazing, relaxing stay and would go back in an absolute heartbeat.

To begin with, the villa is huge with an upstairs bedroom and bathroom with a massive, super comfortable bed, big screen TV, deep soaking tub (which regrettably never got an opportunity to use), big shower with rainfall shower head and a double sink vanity unit.

Downstairs had a massive lounge area with a huge sofa, another big screen TV, second bathroom with single tap vanity unit and toilet. Downstairs also had an indoor jacuzzi that opened up to the private pool outside which itself opened up to the beautiful main villa private pool (pool only for villa guests). Outside there was a third private shower to use I guess for after a swim in the pool, 2 sun chairs to relax outside on and 2 of your own blow up pool beds for guests to use. The water in the pool was a little on the cooler side but once you got all the way in your body adjusts pretty much straight away. The private pool was a little on the small side and not entirely private as anyone swimming past could look through the trees that make up the wall and see if anyone's in the private pool or jacuzzi (there are curtains just outside the jacuzzi so you could close them for privacy within the lounge but unless you switch off the lights at night time anyone could peak through the bushes and watch you in the jacuzzi which was the only let down of the stay). The outside lounge chairs we never used because there were so many mosquitoes around so unless you sprayed a lot of repellant on yourself or you got straight in the water, you’d get eaten alive (but this is the tropics after all). Having said that, it was only in the shade or at night around the pool this happened. As soon as you stepped out into the main hotel grounds or into the sun there was no issue with mosquitoes. Having said all that the villa had a complementary bug spray repellent and container of ointment to apply to any itchy bites (which the staff pointed out when they take you on a tour of the villa when you’ve checked in).

The Hotel grounds were amazing and relaxing, at times making you not wanting to leave, to just relax with a book or spend the day in the hotel pool or the Oasis bar, the swim up villa pool bar which by Australian standards was very, very reasonably priced for drinks. Even at night time the gardens and grounds were all lit up and beautiful to look at. The staff were super friendly, saying hello everytime you walked past and always willing to help.

The Villa came with complementary buffet breakfast daily at the hotel restaurant, or you could elect to have breakfast delivered to your room daily. Breakfast was amazing with all sorts of breads, fruits, cereals, an egg/ omelette station, hot and cold cut meats, sausages, smoked salmon and smoked fish, everything you could expect at a higher end hotel and everything was delicious. Sitting in the restaurant eating breakfast and enjoying the hotel gardens and ponds was the most relaxing way to start the day.

The street the Sawasdee Village is on had many small restaurants, a few shops (including a 7/11 about 30 metres from the entry and a tour operator directly across the road) and quite a selection of massage/ relaxation/ beauty spas (one of which my wife and I visited a number of times). All the beauty spa/ massage parlours we’re priced around the 300 baht thai massage/ 400 massage with oil and I was never accosted for a happy ending so was very happy knowing they weren’t the seedy ones we’d heard about in Phuket. The hotel was about 10 mins from Kata beach which was amazing and all the surrounding streets also had an abundance of restaurants/ bars and shops so there wasn’t a massive need to go to Patong unless you were after the seedy bars/ ping pong shows etc.

All in all, the Baray villas were incredible and would stay there again in a heartbeat if we get the opportunity.

Room Tip: Just pay the money, its worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    69
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
311
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We've stayed two nights in the Baray Villa due to the high rating on Trip Advisor back in May, but was busy to write a review until now. We booked the package with airport transfer and the driver was very friendly who greeted us at the Phuket airport. The check-in process was efficient and we were personally guided and fully explained the room functions by the front desk staff. The villa itself was very grand and specious, certainly it is ideal for honeymoon couples.

However, as some of previous reviews have stated that some fine details are lacking in the villa, such as leaking shower and chrlorine taste water. The breakfast is able to serve in the villa, but the quality was on the weaker side about three-star hotel standard. There are other minor things such as:

1. We found the note of they're not able to clean the room due to the privacy sign was on, but we left our villa around 11:40am, which we felt was a bit early to leave such note to the hotel guest.

2. The free-ride to Kata beach was on a larger tutu type of vehicle, but the driver was not very friendly.

3. The lack of security at night, which we didn't see any security staffs when we came back at night.

4. The check-out experience was very strange. We called the front desk to have our luggage pick up at 11:30am, where check-out time was at 12:00pm. Instead of sending the normal bell person, two persons came, one was the room cleaning staff and another was a hotel security staff without any smile on his face. The room cleaning staff then started counting the number of towels and inspecting other items while she was calling the front desk to report the status in front of us. The security staff then kind of es-crowing us out of villa and finally gave us an unnatural smile after I gave him tips.

5. The swim-up pool had a young bartender where he doesn't speak much English. You'll need to wait for quite sometime for the drink as he made a phone call to place the order then bring it back to the swim-up bar. In addition, there're lots of mosquitoes in villa's pool area.

Other than that we've encountered some very friendly staffs with smiles. One really positive note is that the spa is certainly one of the best spas in the area. We really enjoyed the three-hour spa package treatment and is highly recommended if you're staying here.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovetraveling4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in one of the villas for 5 nights. The decor of the entire resort is really beautiful - there is a lot of water, a lot of statuary, a lot of beautiful things to look at. The staff took very good care of us. The food was good in the restaurant and the spa was quite good too. A couple drawbacks: the in-room whirlpools aren't heated - I can see why because they connect to a bigger swimming pool, but still it would have been nice if it had been heated, and the hair products are not very good - I don't know if it was the product or the water pressure but I never felt like I got a decent shampoo going the whole time we were there.

Room Tip: The villas are really great. I didn't see the Sawasadee Village rooms, but they're probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItravelLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for review on TripAdvisor whic is very valuable for us to improve our service. Regarding to your recent stay, that would be nice to hear that you enjoy spending your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at the Baray Villas in May 2013, after choosing it upon Tripadvisor reviews, which I usually read with many precautions because of the lack of selectivity and level of exigence of most of them when it comes to luxury. But this time, we needed a 5 days break from very upscale hotels in the middle of an 18 days trip Thailand. It quickly appeared that Sawasdee Village was our top choice, but I decided at the last minute to book a Baray Villa instead of a regular room (what a good move !), at an average 300 USD a night in low season (with BF and diner included, plus transfers), which seemed to me a bargain for what was advertised.
The 14 villas are impressive, in a totally private part of the Sawasdee Village, with a huge private swimming pool entering into each villa, yet maintaining each villa privacy; a very nice design and architecture in my opinion, that just stops before reaching the kitsch limit. Traditional decoration, very warm and a very nice floor plan. The bedroom, on first floor, has a magnificent "bubble" ceiling and even a sofa with mini feet-sinks integrated in the floor for a relaxing feet bath while watching TV (there, we are clearly going into kitsch !!!).
Nice and big bathroom with one big default : this huge bath tube in the middle which takes so much space that it is a pain in the a.. all the time; it looks like it was added at the last minute and really does not fit in the decor ! For the rest, it seems you stay in your own little palace !
The pros are clearly the intimacy, the nice traditional decor, the design of this pool (you can enter in the pool from inside your villa and swim to the wet bar located at the end of the pool and come back with your fresh preapred cocktails !) and the big size of the villas.
The cons are the lack of attention to construction details (ex. the shower leaks on the floor, the toilets door which cannot open totally, the lack of storage space for luggage despite the big space, ...), the room cleanliness (we verified that in 5 days they never washed the floor, nor the minibar top shelf which was stained by honey from the first day, ...) and, the last but not the least, the presence of a lot of mosquitoes in the room, all the time and despite keeping the doors closed and spraying everyday.
One big problem is also that some of our personal items were stolen at the end of our stay. The hotel nicely offered us to change our transfer to airport (included) for a transfer to our next hotel (close to airport), but the thing is that the driver was so stupid that, not knowing where exactly he was going, he did not ask anybody, even when I asked him why he did not turn at the right street (I had studied the maps before leaving), and it took us 1h45 instead of a little 40mn drive (he went back 3 times on the same road). And we missed our lunch appointment despite the 30mn margin I always anticipate...
The location, even if not by the sea, is very central yet quiet; the restaurant is very good and charming; the spa is good and the cooking lessons very nice. Good staff at the reception even if not completely professionally trained, but very nice.
The garden are beautiful yet small, but the pool area is very tiny and there is no place at all to have a drink at the bar / wet bar which, on top of this, closes at 7pm !!! The pool is nice but the overall impression is the lack of space.
I would not book a normal room at Sawasdee Village (the regular hotel part opposed to the upscale Baray) because they directly open on the pool area where everybody pass and strictly have no intimacy !
Well, Baray Villas is a very good choice for an upper class accomodation in Kata, with a good but quiet location and for bang for the bucks; it needs improvements but it is an overall very good experience and a good base to discover the south of Phuket.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your candid comment on TripAdvisor which support us to improve our room and service.

According to our original floor plan and architecture, please kindly be informed that all of our decorations is considerated and set up as they are and we feel very sorry if it cause any inconvenience.

On behalf of our management, we are terribly sorry for our driver and housekeeper. We will train our staff harder to ensure that we will serve our standard quality of service or more and hope you are able to see our further improvement for your next stay.Moreover, after you left the room, we found some items drop down under the bed shelf - we had already sent you the detail by your personal e-mail, could you kindly check your inbox, please? We sometimes found some items in this situation and found that the guests would like to leave them so we are waiting for your e-mail to verify.

Thank you once again for your comment and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Style especially love ~ oh rural wind.Room is small.Fine everywhere.It is best to quiet in there for three days or more.Will have more feeling..Lives of great.Very good service.Breakfast is very delicious, rich and delicate.A don't know what a windy outside at night just knock on the wall, some loud.Hope to improve.

Room Tip: Night view is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That was nice to hear that our tranquil atmosphere make you relax during stay with us and we are looking forward for your return.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had arranged for a transfer from another hotel in Kamala and the Baray Villa charged us a rather reasonable rate and the SUV was comfy enough. We were pleasantly surprised when we reached Sawasdee Village. It's like you've entered into a secret jungle world while outside was a different picture altogether. We were brought to the check-in area and check-in procedure was fast but our room was not ready so we were told to wait at the lounge. They provided us with a nice welcome drink and towel as well. The lounge was a very nice place with music playing from an IPAD. There's a MAC PC there and there are swings in the lounge! Huge super comfy swings. Really brought out the child in me! 15mins later, we were brought to our room at the Baray Villas. We were awestruck. We've been to Morocco and they manage to make a mini-Morocco in Thailand! Lovely. We were given a mini-tour of the villa. It's a double storey villa. The first level has a gorgeous living area with super comfy huge sofas and a TV. It's a pity though that there is no dvd player in the living area. There is the jacuzzi and also the private pool. They have a small area for the kettle and coffee pot but we wished there was at list a mini kitchen. We didn't feel comfortable washing the kettles in the bathroom. There's a bathroom on the ground floor too and an outdoor shower. Unfortunately, the outdoor shower is not very private as the people from the unit beside you can see you showering. There is a shower curtain but unfortunately that defeats the purpose of an outdoor shower. There is a private deck but unfortunately, it's not very big and we would rather chill out at the super comfy sofa.

The staircase area is well-lit and made you feel like you are in some expensive place. I love it. The bedroom - is super gorgeous. Yes, I love the bedroom. I love the ceiling, the lighting and the huge huge huge bed. I had a hard time waking up the 4 nights we were there. The bed was really really good. There is a tv and you can even rent movies for free from reception and watch it on the tv! Awesome. Another thing that I so so love are the foot soaks at the end of the bed. Super relaxing after a day of riding bike and shopping. We sat on the sofa and had a foot soak with the warm water almost twice everyday! So luxurious! The bathroom is gorgeous and you can see that the details are very well thought of.. except for the fact that there are no hand bidets/sprays provided. It would be very useful if they provide it. Also, I'm not sure if newly married couples will appreciate having an open concept bathroom. There is a door you can close but you can still hear/smell whatever is going on inside the bathroom.There is a huge bathtub but we didn't use it. The shower gel and shampoo didn't really smell very nice and the water has a strong chemical smell with a strange taste.That I didn't quite like but after checking with reception, we were told that it's due to the chlorine that was added so that people can use the tap water for rinsing the mouth after brushing their teeth. After learning that, I do appreciate that extra effort the hotel put in. The cupboard is big and provides enough space for our clothes. I love the lighting of the room. It's really gorgeous and romantic.

There is a nice woody scent that lingers throughout the villa and it's really nice and it sets a romantic wood.

The private jacuzzi was wonderful but not so private. I didn't appreciate the fact that the unit next door would be able to see you if you are in the jacuzzi. Perhaps a curtain would make it more private. The private pool area is also small and unfortunately not private cos the neighbours can still see you swimming. But in a way I guess it's good cos the water from the jacuzzi and private pool will flow to the water in the main pool and I don't want my water polluted with human fluids. I'm just being practical here. The main pool which is shared by the 14 villas was really gorgeous. I love it and the floats provided. There is a waterfall at one end and a pool bar at the other. We barely see people swimming so we had the area to ourselves at most time. It's nice to just float and hear the birds singing. There are trees all over and it's really a pleasant site. You feel like you are once again in a secret Narnia-esque world.

You can go to the buffet or have in-villa breakfast. Unfortunately, we didn't quite like the in-villa breakfast as we didn't find the food tasty nor the coffee good.

The Sawasdee Village compound is really gorgeous though. There are swings all around and you can just get your book and chill/lie down on any of the swings. I love that!

There are convenience stores and food just outside of the hotel so it was really convenient. We rented a big scooter from the tattoo shop in front (Mr Kang is the guy's name) for 300 baht per day and went from Kata to Karon to Patong for 2 or 3 days. The hotel is at the beginning of Kata so it's not too long a ride from Karon and Patong. It's convenient. There are a couple of halal places in Kata and there is an indian restaurant which provided delivery so we didn't have a problem finding food. There are also pancake (roti) sellers near the hotel.

The staff of the hotel are very polite and friendly. You can put a do not disturb sign but unfortunately, we still find people ringing the doorbell.

Overall I love the Baray Villa and may come again but maybe not everytime I go Phuket. Even though it's luxurious and romantic, I don't find it very practical.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_spinsterella_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your comment on TripAdvisor and that was great to hear that you enjoy spending your time with us.

We are very sorry for our incompetent house keeper, as we are trying our best to keep our guest satisfied with the best experience of our hotel room, we try to keep it clean and tidy for the guest’s environment. However we will took your comment and act accordingly about do not disturb sign, so this kind of incident would not happen again.

Thank you once again to choosing our hotel for your accommodation and we are looking forward to welcome you back !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Me and wife stayed for four nights at the luxury villa.
Pros:
Stylish, huge villa with the canal type pool. Really nice to look at.

Staff do their utmost best to cater to all guest's requests.

Opposite a good bike rental shop.

Not so near to the chaos and party centres,a plus if you want to relax away from the world.

Staff sends breakfast to your room if you want.

The staff do their best to save you from mosquitoes.

They let you borrow DVDs and adapter plugs too.

Huge comfortable bed."
king plus" sized.

Cons:
For such a nice pool setup,they close it at 7pm.boring.

Breakfast is not that nice. Have tasted better in 3star places.

The architect was too much into opulence for the villas that practicality is lost.Can't wait to go home to my nice bathroom+toilet.and, the bedroom has a mac mini, but the living room only has a weird JBL speaker thing.theres no basin for kitchen kinda stuff. Wierd, considering that ppl use this as a temporary home.

Gotta bring your own shower gel.theres a 7-11 nearby selling these kinda stuff. The one they provide smells like the water.

The water has a permanent chrlorine taste.not the same at our previous hotel in kamala.they do provide enough drinking water though.so dont drink from the basin!

Might be too much to ask,but if only they would provide heating for the pools! :)

Hefty pricetag for the very nice decor and architecture, worth to try baray villa at least once in your life :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank byteblorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your accommodation and give us valued comments for improve our service.

The only reason for closing the pool so early in the night is for the safety of our valuable guest, which we dearly take prioritize.

Thank you for your dedicated comment about breakfast, we will advise our chef for further improvement.

We do hope to welcome you back to stay with us again for next visit to Phuket

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#6 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
1.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing