We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for honeymoon”
Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for honeymoon”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked the villa for 6 nights and it was amazing. From the moment we booked the rooms we were greeted with friendly staffs over email. We chose to have hotel transfer round trip, and massages everyday we stayed. With the villa, you can pick either hotel transfer, massages, facials, or free dinners. We enjoyed the massages and all masseuses were professional and well trained.

Breakfasts were included every morning. They had everything from western to asian food. It was perfect for us to start each day before all the whole day tours. When we returned in the evening, we were greeted with chocolate and sliced fruits every night. The rooms were not attached to each other and it was extremely quiet at night. During the morning when we walked out, we could see the mountains and hear the sounds of cicadas. The villas take you away from the busy streets and into a quiet and natural environment.

It was a great experience and hope we can return soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely thank you for choosing us as your accommodation during your stay in Phuket, and for your response on Trip Advisor about your recent stay. We look forward to accommodate you again during your next visit in Phuket.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    69
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
312
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Balmain, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A little bit of heaven as you enter off the street. We have stayed in a pool villa before but chose a Baray Villa this trip and cannot believe the intimate retreat and opulence this offers, with private pool, assistant, and amenities. The spa is second to none, and staff are brilliant and watch out for your every need.

Room Tip: Baray Villas are more private but more costly but still brilliant value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terrysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear valued Guest,
We are very pleased to hear your feedback from Trip Advisor. We hope that you enjoyed your time during your stay with us and that we will have the chance to accommodate you again in your next visit to Phuket.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We upgraded to the Villas as a special treat to ourselves after a hard and tiring year. It was worth every cent, a very special place! The villa was spotless and huge! It had everything and offered privacy and quietness at all times. The staff were also very attentive and friendly at all times.

Room Tip: All villas are basically the same, all as good and private as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Value Guest

We are very impressed that our service met your satisfaction and we were very pleased to serve you our service. Moreover, We are very thankful for your comment on TripAdvisor and looking forward to welcome you back for your next trip in Phuket.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Far beyond your imagination.The Hotel service is very intimate.Hotel staffs are very friendly.Far beyond your imagination.The Hotel service is very intimate.Hotel staffs are very friendly.Far beyond your imagination.The Hotel service is very intimate.Hotel staffs are very friendly.

Room Tip: every one is OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liu w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be great to hear that you enjoy spending your time with us.

We sincerely thank you once again for choosing The Baray Villa as your accommodation and we hope you will be back to stay with agian for next vacation.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The villas are fantastic with direct access to jacuzzi, private and main pool, you can also swim to the pool bar. The interior is breathtaking and you feel at home immediately.
Only let down was quality of food from room service which is served by restaurant in front of resort. Restaurant within the resort, Sawasdee Thai Cuisine, is fantastic though !
Staff are very friendly and helpful. The Spa is amazing too and highly recommended to visit.

Room Tip: Baray Villa is amazing, you get more than what you pay for. Absolute wow factor !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be great to hear that you enjoy spending your time with us.

We sincerely thank you once again for choosing Sawasdee Village as your accommodation and we can't wait for your next visit at The Baray Villa.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

One of the most beautiful hotels we've ever stayed in! We chose the Baray Villa for two reasons- firstly, because of its beauty, and secondly based on some of the amenities and features of the villas themselves. It turned out to be even more beautiful than pictures could capture. Quite a peaceful oasis filled with gardens and ponds, it was hard to believe the hotel is right off of a busy street. We were disappointed in the villa amenities however, not because of low quality or standards, but simply because most of them were not usable. We originally loved the idea of an outdoor shower, indoor jacuzzi, private patio leading to the private villa pool, etc. but they were not usable because of all of the bugs! We expected there to be some and we came prepared with bug spray but it was so bad we ended up not using any of the amenities mentioned above more than once! Not only were you bit whenever you were using these things, but there were always floating dead bugs no matter how many times the staff cleaned these spaces. Of course the bugs made their way inside too so we were constantly on the look out to try to get them before they got us! It rained a lot while we were there so I'm not sure if that had anything to do with it but due to the large amount of standing water and greenery all over the resort, I think the bug issue is the norm.

Other Pros: the staff was amazing, the main pool was very nice, good drinks at the pool bar (a bit pricey but ok at happy hour. If you are a coffee drinker be sure to try an iced coffee!), air condition worked very well! (there were separate meters for upstairs and downstairs), always plenty of large comfy towels available, large room service menu, good selection of books in different languages, hourly shuttle to the beach for free, great location- walking distance from shops, restaurants, bars, massage places, a 7-11, and even the beach, cabs easily availble if you need to go somewhere a bit further, free wifi in villa too!

Other Cons: Main pool area was a bit small and shaded in a lot of areas so it was sometimes difficult to find a lounge chair in the sun, breakfast was a bit disappointing- it was a buffet and came included with our villa stay, had a decent variety but quality wasn't the best and it was pretty much the same each day. We also wished there was more activity- there wasn't much to do in the rain!

This was our first trip to Asia and may have expected more luxury than what is available in Thailand but overall the hotel was very nice! If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing retreat in a beautiful hotel that will set you up for typical beach town activities then this is the place for you! We walked into town every night and enjoyed the nightlife! Although the staff and service was amazing, we expected them to do a little something special for us since we were on our honeymoon but we only got the typical towel animal and rose petal set up on our bed. Be had a staff member dedicated to servicing us whom we asked to make our dinner and taxi reservations. If you are interested in doing a lot of excursions note that Kata is in southern Phuket, so it is really far from the usual excursion meeting places. For all of the excursions we did, Kata had the earliest pick up time and was last to be dropped off. So nearly half of the full day excursions were spent traveling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Value Guest

We are very impressed that our service met your satisfaction and we were very pleased to serve you our service. Moreover, We are very thankful for your comment on TripAdvisor and looking forward to welcome you back for your next trip in Phuket.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The staff are excellent. The rooms are divine, like stepping into an ancient palace hidden amongst a sculptured jungle with water features everywhere. Stepping in here, any noise disappears and is magical at night. The food is delicious.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BiancaandJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Value Guest

We are very impressed that our service met your satisfaction and we were very pleased to serve you our service. Moreover, We are very thankful for your comment on TripAdvisor and looking forward to welcome you back for your next trip in Phuket.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,941 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing