We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great villas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great villas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed for 9 days in a villa (Sagittarius) with pool. the villas themselves are very luxurious and spacious and you get your own personal service team.

The indoor and outdoor private part of the pool is quite cold as their is limited sun due to the villas being 2 stories high and the private decking area is also shaded - but that is what some people prefer. The shared area of the pool with the other villas is large and impressive though.

The food served in the restaurant was decent enough without being spectacular and service by all hotel staff was speedy and efficient.

the property itself is situated about a 10 - 15 minute walk from Kata beach with a choice of bars,restaurants and shops in both directions to Karon and Kata Noi .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeDonna08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely thank you for choosing us as your accommodation during your stay in Phuket, and for your response on Trip Advisor about your recent stay. We look forward to accommodate you again during your next visit in Phuket.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    69
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
311
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

stayed 5 nights in the villas and we loved it, perfect for couples

-great staff
-beautiful villas and pool
-villas have lots of little details like lilos for the pool, foot baths in your bedroom
-great offers in the spa and restaurant
-room service very reasonable price
-10 min walk to the beach

Room Tip: villas by the water fall looked like they would get more sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backpack t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely thank you for choosing us as your accommodation during your stay in Phuket, and for your response on Trip Advisor about your recent stay. We look forward to accommodate you again during your next visit in Phuket.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Advantages:

The position of Baray Villas is good, near from Kata beach (15 min walk or 5 min by hotel' free shuttle) and it's in a very energetic place.

Environment is excellent for relaxation, couples and families but not for young friends whom may need more interactive place.

Once you get inside the place you will immediately get influenced by the Arabian, Turkish and Indian design styles, but in my opinion it was not really designed for these above-mentioned people.

Room service is very good and it's twice a day.

Lundy service is remarkable and not really expensive compared to other hotels.

View points are amazing inside the place.

I loved the food so much and I didn't eat out side.

Staff are so friendly and always smiling.

Inside massage is excellent.

Disadvantages:

There is a problem in their Water system, water feels oily and taste weird! I was always washing my teeth with meniral water.

There is no butt washer in the toilets! :) Which a huge disaster for muslims that may force you to take a small shower every time you go to ...... ;).
Noting that adding this tool will cost them nothing in fact!

Mosquitoes are monsters! they will provide you with before and after bites (spray & cream), but mosquitoes will eat you alive anyway!

The wall in the first floor bathroom need to be painted regularly due to moisture's effect otherwise they have to add the same quality of the second floors walls.

Privacy is not really there, once you open your first floor curtains.

Same privacy is missing for your private pool and jacuzzi which is not hot by the way because it is connected to the main pool!




















Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Morphy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. . Regarding to your recent stay, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed spending your time with us.

and Thank you agian for your valuable comment on TripAdvisor that will support us to improve our rooms ,Facilities and our overall services. We will follow up all information from your comment harder and concentrate more for maintenance order to ensure that such mistakes will not occur in the future.

We sincerely thank you once again for choosing Sawasdee Village as your accommodation and we will be waiting for your next visit !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We haven't even left this place yet but felt the need to express how much we love it.

My husband and I are here in phuket for our 2nd visit.

We decided this time to find accommodation as we travelled.

During this trip we have stayed in some of Phukets finest 5 star resorts but Baray takes the cake. Funnily enough I think the Baray Villas are only classed as 4 star?

If you are after something a little less commercial and a little more real this is definitely the one for you.

There are only 14 villas which are situated along a private lagoon pool at the back of the property.
We are already planning to come back next year.

P.S Make sure you order the massamun curry with chicken it's the best we have eaten. Oh and ask for bananas to be put in your pancakes at breakfast ;)


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased to have you with us and thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. That is very nice to hear that you had plan to visit us next year and we can't wait to welcome you back !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I was a little skeptical about staying here because of the price, but I was so glad I did. It was such an experience. The villa is a HOUSE. It is HUGE and STUNNING for décor. I loved the door to the pool and the bedroom especially. The swimming pool is designed like a private river that you access directly from your villa. It is very private and very quiet, and you feel very pampered. They bring breakfast to your villa which you preorder .... what a variety! ..... and is delicious, as is the food in their restaurant. Wonderful service as well. The only thing was that I didn't have hot water at night, but after I called, they fixed it right away. There is free internet, free transportation to the beach, and a free transfer option. This is better than the popular beaches in Phuket.

Room Tip: I liked the North Star room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sixweeksoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment on TripAdvisor that will support us to improve our rooms , facilities and Hot water system We will train our staff harder and concentrate more for maintenance order to ensure that such mistakes will not occur in the future. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. Thank you once again for you kind choosing Sawasdee Village for your accommodation. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back in your next visit to Phuket.


Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Did my research and read the reviews on The Baray Villas! So glad I chose them! Loved the authentic Thai feel! The villas were spectacular and worth every penny! Aim was my personal assistant while I stayed at the villa's and was amazing! Even went out of his way to get me something from the supermarket! Superb service! Thanks Aim! (Hope I'm not misspelling your name!)
Scheduled a spa treatment at there spa and had 3hrs of bliss! Only complaint that I had is the water from the shower was a bit salty! Not sure if it's from there Eco friendly system! Quickly got use to it and wasn't a major problem! I'm already booking my return for the end of August! Great location, great villa, great service! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phasebar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The villa was so beautiful we could not believe it for a while. We felt like king/queen in a magical realm. All the hotel grounds is fascinating. We found the suite much larger than our expectations from the photos. Very clean and fitted with all you may need. Huge and comfy bed. It was just bliss spending time inside as well as drifting through the connected pool, which was like a dream. The staff was very friendly and most accommodating whenever we had a request. Its restaurant was another beautiful scene. We enjoyed our breakfasts (included in booking), although not very rich in selection, it was good quality. We tried once their dinner which we ordered to our room, and found it amazing as well. It took us about 15 minutes walking to get to the beach, but it wasn't good for swimming in July. They had an iMac connected to the bedroom TV (upstairs) for internet or other entertainment. I highly recommend Baray Villas for anyone looking for a special holiday with their loved ones.

Room Tip: All Baray Villas are amazing. We saw other room types in Sawasdee, they seemed like lacking privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melsusoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin_Wee, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We are delighted that our service has met your satisfaction and we were very pleased to serve you our service. Moreover, We are very thankful for your comment on TripAdvisor and looking forward to welcome you back for your next trip in Phuket.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#6 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
1.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing