We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent value for money”
Review of Casa e Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa e Mare
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was the best value for money we found in phuket, kata beach is alot nicer and cleaner than patong beach, we stayed 2 nights in patong and 3 nights in kata. Patong is good for the party scene but alot gets a little too much after a couple nights, depending on what your into. Kata is alot quiter but still has plenty of restaurants, bars and markets. Case e mare was exellent value at 700 baht PN about halve what other hotels of simular style are charging. It is run by a friendly italian family, there is an italian restaurant/ bar downstairs in the loby.the hotel is about 1.5 km away from the beach which is a bit of a walk in the heat, you can rent a moterbike from the hotel for 200 baht for 24 hrs that makes it very easy to get to the beach and restaurants, bars etc. Overall exellent value for money in phuket. Has free WiFi, aircon, fridge, cable tv, and all the essentials for a budget but comfortable hotel. Would defiantly stay again when we return to kata.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peacelovehappieness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

The hotel is clean, friendly staff who are very accommodating. Restaurant serves full menu of cuisines and great Italian food. The hotel offers assistance with tours and excursions including motor bike rental. Overall excellent choice as a hotel to relax and the base for your holiday plans.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

So I should probably note that I have not yet completed my stay at this place, but first impressions are VERY good.

I arrived into Kata late in the evening so opted to stay at a different guesthouse paying 450B (more than I would have liked to pay), but it was late so I decided it will do for one night.

Did some online research and Casa E Mare stood out from all the rest! I couldn't really find any accommodation below 450B, however Casa was listed at 425B (ok, not a big saving), but you get a lot more for your money than other places in the same price bracket.

My room is spacious and has a TV, fridge, hot shower (not just a wet room, but a proper separate shower), in room safe, air conditioning, balcony, day bed and is nicely decorated and clean. The attention to detail is impressive....air fresheners strategically placed around the room, towels formed in the shape of swans (not a big fan of that, but is an example of their efforts). Daily housekeeping, and there is even an elevator (don't see that too often in budget places).

Have not tried the Wifi yet, so not sure how well it works. Restaurant is closed at the moment (not sure why) but the Gelato shop is still open. Oh yeah, and there is no pool as mentioned in some write ups. Slight disappointment about that, but I still feel like I found a real bargain.

Rented a motorbike with no hassle. A surprise from what I have come to expect from many rental places across Thailand. Deal is, if you crash it, you take it to a mechanic and pay for the repairs. No need for taking photos or going over the bike with a fine tooth comb noting any scratches and dents. And the best part is, it is only 150B per day. Some places charge between 250B and 300B.

By comparison, the guesthouse I stayed in on the first night for 450B had a bed, cold water shower wet room and was relatively clean...that's about it.

It can be a little difficult to find, but be a smart traveler and write down the address and / or have someone translate it for you. A very friendly guy from Oy Travel and Tourism (near Duke's Sports Bar) gave me a free ride to this place. He too didn't know where it was, but sat down with me, pulled out a map and together we found it quite easily. A friendly guy like this deserves business so maybe go see him if you need to make travel arrangements.

If the internet is not up to speed during your stay, take a few steps outside of the hotel and go to Mamma Pat's Restaurant for some friendly service and good Wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank LiveAndLetsDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

There is NO taxi service as mentioned.
There is NO pool as mentioned.
There is NO laundry service as mentioned.
There is NO carpark as mentioned, room out front for about 10 mopeds (which the hotel own most of)
Internet is terrible unless your in room A1 (we moved about four times)
Food is a rip off in the hotel it cost me 350thb for tea and toast which should cost 120thb MAX, there is NO port "down the street" as mentioned.
The hotel is very Italian orientated.

The owner encourages you to go behind the reception desk to leave in your key and take it out... If I can do this can't other people take my key???

The room was OK - bed linen was ripped and had cigarette burns in it!
We also woke up every morning with lots of mosquito ans ant bites!!!

Room Tip: Room A1 has the best internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Megan-Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We have to come to Phuket for business from time to time and used to stay next door - but it was getting tired and staff changing so we had walked past here many times and decided to try it. The room has just been done up and was clean and had good pillows and bed. The price is excellent and we like the location because it is walking distance to the main beach. The owner was friendly and we will definitely come back when we go to Phuket again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aquaholiclanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We originally booked to stay at this hotel for a couple of days, then intended to look round for a hostel in the area!! There was no need this place was fantastic value for money and cheaper than any hostel we would have found!! The rooms were spacious and clean with fantastic bathrooms, TV, WiFi, fridge!! The owners Eddy and Lorella were so friendly and fantastic we went on trips and left my luggage there whilst we were away at no extra charge and they squeezed us into a room at short notice when we returned early!! we ended up staying for 2 weeks and it was a great 2 weeks. Its a short 10-15 Min walk from the hotel to the centre of town, or you could do as we did and hire a moped for only 150 Bhat a day!!!
If we return to Phuket we will definitely be staying at this place again and would also recommend it to anyone!!

Thanks for a great 2 weeks Eddy & Lorella!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyliem85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Great Location, but too small room with double-decker bed.
Besides the room size, I have nothing to comment.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kavin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,171 reviews
5.8 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 135 in Karon
644 reviews
1.0 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#4 of 135 in Karon
794 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa e Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa e Mare

Address: 90/9 Kok Tanod Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £26 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for budget BUT CLEANING AND NICE accommodation for an exiting beach holiday in Thailand, the CASA E MARE is the right choice. The CASA E MARE, is ideally located on a peaceful Kata Beach one of the most beautiful beach in Phuket. Markets, restaurants and nightlife venues are a short walking distance from the hotelCASA E MARE is a friendly hotel with homely hospitality and offers a range of useful quality services (like a high speed Internet wireless connection free of charge in every room, motorbike rental, tour desk etc etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa e Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa e Mare Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing