We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable place”
Review of Rico's Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rico's Bungalows
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great affordable place”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Rico's is nothing too special but is a great value with clean rooms. It is not on the beach, but is probably a 5 minute walk from Kata Beach. It is in a quieter part of Phuket but still has plenty of options for restaurants and shopping. I would recommend Rico's!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    56
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
43
42
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Ricco's is nothing special. But hey, what do you expect for about 28 euro' s a night. Its clean, it as a pool and a receptionist that never learned to smile to customers. You get no breakfast for that price, but there are enough places to get that for a fair price. The location is in the middel of all the activities in Kata, so if that's your thing, and you dont have that much money to spend, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nybro, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

we sure like this place
pros: inexpensive, smaller place with all the rooms(=small bungalows) around the poolarea, nice staff, free wifi or use their computer next to their desk, if you have a late flight you can use their pool and shower after you checked out and they hold your luggage, an ATM just outside the hotel
cons: no breakfast included - you´ll have to go out first thing and breakfast out makes it somewhat expensive

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelinaNybro_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jokela, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We spend nice 2 week holiday in Phuket/Rico´s for the period of 2.5.-16-5-2012.
This was our 3rd time in Rico´s and for sure we will go back next year.
Receptionists Noi and Aom are simply lovely, funny and helpfull ladies - Thank You one again girls !

We met also the hotel manager Kent twice - very nice man, indeed.

Room Tip: Rooms 15-21 and 23 are in my opinion the best ones - Just next to the pool. Compared to rooms 1-12 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miksaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Rico's is about a 5 to 10 minute walk to the beach, and there are plenty of restaurants, 7-Elevens and markets near by. Personally, I think Kata is the best of the beaches for anyone over the age of 21, so this hotel is in a great location.

The hotel staff were very helpful, once you asked for help, but they did not go out of their way to make themselves available to you. Often the front desk was unattended, so you would have to wait to get help from staff. But once again, they were very helpful once you found them.

The rooms were very clean, WiFi worked great, a nice big bed, and plenty of beach towels. The pool was very nice, but unfortunately closed at 7pm. There was a room safe, but we could not get it to open, so we skipped it.

I think this hotel would be perfect for a family, who really just want to go to the beach and be left alone while on vacation. The front-desk service is good, but just not always available. If you are looking for a hotel that helps set up tours and has little "inside info" tips, this might not work for you, although they did help me book two tours, from a company I found on my own.

Room Tip: All rooms are around the pool, but I think rooms 1 & 2 might be a little more noisey because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeJets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have stayed at Rico's numerous times but my fiance had her engagement ring stolen this time, so we moved out.
It was our fault because the ring wasn't left in the safety box, the police came but didn't interrogate the maid who we suspected, we were not happy with the effort from the management so best to move to another hotel.
We enjoyed Kata Poolside just down the road, much better for Baht 200 extra.
Will never stay at Rico's again. Walking past their restaurant to get to the hotel stinks of garbage everyday anyway.
There are much better deals in Kata than Ricco's, so loosing the ring had a positive side to it in the end.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katacove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed last week, Im pretty low budget so I never expect much but I at least want a bathroom thats not flooded, clean pillows and water to shower w/ on our last day..

PROS-
Great atmosphere
Great Location
Good AC
Free computer w/ wifi
Held our luggage
free beach towels

CONS-

"Clean" pillows smelled of someone who had never bathed

Bathroom took hours to drain, after letting the front desk know since our whole bathroom had 2 1/2 inches of water, nothing was done about it our entire stay so we were forced to shower at night and hope all the water would be gone by morning.

Understood there were hair dryers in the room, asked the front desk and looking at me like I was dumb she told me it was in the drawer (we looked thru the whole room and no dryer)

They only except cash for the rooms

The day we left we had only trickles of water in our shower, not even enough to rinse off with.

And when we needed a cab to the airport she told us it would be an hour because it "had to be booked" and she had no one else to call, or to take a tuk tuk. There was no way we were gonna fit on a tuk tuk w/ our luggage, and there wern't any cabs driving by so we walked next door to another hotel and had a cab in 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Don't take room number 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyrobugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Phuket Kata Resort
Phuket Kata Resort
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#49 of 56 in Kata Beach
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#40 of 56 in Kata Beach
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#34 of 56 in Kata Beach
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kata Beach
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rico's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico's Bungalows

Property: Rico's Bungalows
Address: 42 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rico's Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rico's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rico`s Bungalows Hotel Kata Beach
Rico's Bungalows Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing