We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Maithai Hostel(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kata Country House(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rico's Bungalows(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Color Kata(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveller rating
467
285
93
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
285
93
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roombars and restaurantsroom was spaciousminutes walk awayour honeymoonspecial thankspool barclub medegg stationspent nightsreception staffnight marketsun loungersbeach towelsrain showera wonderful staybuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
457 - 462 of 902 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

It's not a luxurious hotel and they don't pretend to be one. For the price we paid - about US$45 for a pool access room and US$30 for a standard room - it's hard to fault it.

The Hotel:
The room size is very good. Larger, newer and much better equipped than Kata Beach Resort that cost 3 times more. The room is divided almost equally between the bathroom and the bedroom. The bathroom is open concept. The bathtub is right in the middle of it. Great if you are a couple. Fret not. The shower room and the toilet has doors for privacy. The shower room is large and comes with a rain shower AND a hand held shower. I'm a stickler for hand-held showers. I travel with young kids and it's impossible to clean them without a hand held.

Compared to the Kata Beach Resort that we just came from, the thought to planning the lighting at the The Tropical is really, really good. No harsh light. Nothing glaring that hurts the eyes and yet, it's bright enough to see and read in.

The workmanship and the material of the construction isn't the best. There are many rough and 'broken' surfaces. Nothing to be concerned about as long as they function. The only complaint we have is the floor tiles on the pool-access rooms. They may be better quality than the standard rooms, but it's way too slippery when wet. Totally unsuitable to be used in pool-access rooms. The tiles in the standard rooms are more suited.

Breakfast is really basic. Worth the few dollars extra to the room rate but that's it.

The pool is of a decent size. Nice.

Service:
It's not too bad really. The front desk and housekeeping staff were friendly. The breakfast staff could be better and do with some smiles. We didn't need anything extra nor had issues to be solved, so I can't tell how good they will be when faced with them.

Like most smaller, local hotels, they still need to to check you room at check out. So, if you are arranging transport to another destination, allot at least 15 mins for check out. It's still better than Baan Laimai at Patong where one might have to go search for missing towels.

Location:
It's in the middle of the southern end of Kata beach. Conveniently next to tourists shops and eateries. Beach is about 5-8 mins walk away. Probably one of the nearest hotel to the beach, apart from Kata Beach Resort and Club Med.

Room Tip: The cost of an extra bed is about US$25. It's better value to just get another standard room during the low season.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgentBroccoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is our second stay at the hotel and whilst it lacked some of the magic of the first visit but it is still excellent value for money. The cost of our stay per night was £22 for a double room including breakfast. Prices change daily so make sure you shop around we avoided sites that took booking fees. Also try and buy breakfast via your reservation site as its £6 per person per day from the hotel direct. The location is great for kata beach and surrounding restaurants and shops!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible! Avoid room ten on any floor as the view is of room elevens wall :(
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Hotel is quite ok,location is in more or less in center of everything.Coustumer service not exist in this hotel.Receptionist are more bothering having their food in pantry back area than serving guests.Last night on departure we order wake up call,which never happened..when we went to c/o we found guy sleeping in lobby,he didn't even bother to apologize,instead of that he kept our airport car until he didn't personally check did we had any consumption from mini bar.Breakfast stuff is everything,but not polite...I do understand that they don't speak English but smile,which is part of Thai culture is not on their list as well.We spent whole morning trying to explain that we want egg white omlette..didn't work as well.We had leakage in room,which was fixed in reasonable time but workers were more interested steering at us than doing their job.Hillarious!Considering that this hotel is not cheap for Thailand standards I will not recommend anyone to stay here,unless you wish frustrated vacation.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Visnja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Couldn't fault this hotel, got a really cheap rate on agoda. The rooms were large with nice bathrooms, rooms were very clean. The layout of the pool is unique and so good to cool off. Great position in Kata as well.
Returning for sure!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael_james_laws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Good day. Thank you for choosing our hotel and it's our pleasure to serve you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. And, we are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and 5 days with family (2 adults and 2 kids) and booked the hotel thru agoda.com. I took the deluxe room with direct pool access room with breakfast and it costed me just Rs. 17000 (indian) which is even cheaper than hotels of this quality in India. the pool was great but surprisingly had salty water in it. the room aahhhh its was a villa inside and beautifully done with larger bed room, big TV cabinet with DVD player, Tea coffee maker, bath area with bath tub and basin separately installed out side and shower room separate. Free wifi and very friendly staff ( staff was less in number though). its right on kata -karon road so you have good transportation options available. good near by resturants, ATMs, Exchange counters, seven eleven, Subways etc. Kata beach was just 5 minute walk. mostly inhabited by Russians and malasians, the breakfast was good and served all sorts of food. we were only one indian family but even then they kept one indian dish in the buffet.the hotel is almost 1 hr from air port, 45 minutes from Phuket city and 40 minutes from kamala beach.i will recommend this hotel for solo travellers and also for family travellers

Room Tip: take pool access room only.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BhupenderK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and also for this review. It will help us a lot to improve our service and facilities for our beloved guests and to our incoming guests. We are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews