We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent views”
Review of Villa Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Elisabeth
Ranked #8 of 61 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
alexandra headland
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Magnificent views”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The very best place in Phuket stay. Overlooking the beach. Self contained villas with private spa. Large pool for the villas to share. Brekky is to die for. Staff are welcoming and beautiful. The restaurant is simply delicious. The view is to die for. Highly recommend these villas over any resot. They accommodate you like kings and queens. No request is to difficult for them.

Room Tip: Villa 1 and 2 is the most amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinecoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managergabriel, Director General at Villa Elisabeth, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sunshinec...

is true that our restaurant have a lovely view of Kata Beach, guests can have a romantic breakfast lunch and dinner enjoying a panoramic view.
All the rooms looks directly to the beach and we have open exit to the sand.

We appreciate your good review and we hope be an example for other future guests.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    39
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
30
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

A small boutique accommodation sandwiched between a very loud beach bar area and a very large construction site.  It comprises of studios located at the 'busier' part of the property, villas towards the shoreline, and older rooms that over look an crowded beach.  Somewhat helpful, is that this place is located off the very busy main road in Kata which can be full of motorcycles, cars, and large trucks.  

But, still not as quite as you might think; mainly because of the constant building construction, the overcrowding of Kata Beach, the proximity of beach bars, and the fireworks that go off sporadically after dark.

The taxi we took was only 600 baht, but we tipped the driver 100, because he  was able to maneuver through the traffic jams, yes, along the way.  It was one hour drive from the Phuket International Airport.  

Hint:  When you leave the airport, turn right and look for the sign that says: TAXI  METER.  At the small building, tell them where you want to go, they tell you the cost, and then wait for the cab.  There are those unauthorized cab drivers who will take you, but do you want to take the risk and support this activity?  Besides, the cheapest was 1000 baht anyway.

Accommodations...
Pros:
- Very few guests, nice small feeling
- Clean, bright pool area
- Villas look very well-maintained with fresh paint and quaint too!
- Villas have roof-top decks with soft cushion couches and patio table/chairs
- Studios at the top level have high vaulted ceilings and have 2 a/c units
- Very well-maintained grounds, with the exception of the 'beach' area
- Attentive, cheerful staff with smiles - even at 7am
- Large shade trees and singing birds (Bella Vista's bird is annoying though)
- Private main deck overlooking Kata beach with loungers and tables (a good design plan, otherwise go join the others on the crowded beach with the boats!)

Cons:
- Beachside restaurants can be loud!  Seems like the crowds come up to eat and drink at the bars just located on the beach within 100 meters or so, so it can be loud until late.  Since the studios are located at the top of the hill, the noises carry up unfortunately.  Music, karaoke, drums begin their night beat right on schedule when you want to relax on your patio!
- A small access road directly behind the studios can be noisy too with motorbikes going up and down the small hill just outside the windows, and cement trucks from 7 until 10 pm!
- No real good beach on site at all.  Besides what some may say, there is really no beach, just some sand in-between rocks.  When the water is high, pthe 'beach' is gone completely and the cheap plastic chairs just left to float like trash on the water surface!  This part of Kata beach is a bit 'trashy, and condensed, but there are rocks to find fish, thankfully.
- No buffet breakfast, but the menu items are plenty unless you get tired of the same everyday!
- Missing deck loungers on the balconies of the studios, just hard, flat wooden chairs.
- No mosquito nets above the bed! (a must in the tropics!)

Left unsaid:
- loud beach bars, noisy until late! (you have been warned)
- sporadic very loud fireworks until late - try sleeping early, good luck
- large construction site just behind the property's studios - wakes you up with buzzing of saws, hammers, and cement trucks beginning at 6:30 am
- motorbike parking lot on the small road just outside your bedroom window with predictable morning motor noise from 7 to 8 am, folks going to work at construction site, go figure
- noisy boats as early as 8 am.

Studios are a distance from the shore with a very obstructed view of the ocean.  Villas have the better views, but it costs.  Villa 2 is best.  Whilst Villa 1 had the smell of a septic tank right next door!  Villa 3 located next to the pool.

Studio 4 overlooks the parking lot, entrance way and is closer to the noisy restaurants and bars, so I am not too sure why it gets all the great reviews unless it's so awesome inside.

We stayed in Studio 5 next door to 4, which is in the middle of the studios on the upper floor.  Obstructed view of the ocean, swimming pool below though.  These are basically good sized rooms with a small kitchen area which is open to the small living space.  Kitchen has cups, plates, utensils, pots and pans; thus, very convenient, but who's cooking on vaca?  The king bed is off to the side but is not enclosed.  Bathroom has walk-in shower, basic white towels, shampoo, etc.  No toothbrushes, but you can get most everything at the small store just 4 min walk down the hill and to the right on the main road.

I, personally, won't be returning to Phuket.  Cannot fault this property, though.  It's just gotten way too crowded since 2006.  Pattiya got too full, so travel agencies are promoting elsewhere. That's great for Thailand, but not for me since my goal is to get away from the crowds (Chinese and Russians).  (even the Chinese avoid Kata, Karon, or Patong anymore).  Advice: Go north or as far south as possible, these areas may still be remote enough from the Russian annual colonists.  Only the Thais can be so patient with some folks!

Yeah, it was a risk to stay even at this property.  Not a good choice.  Then, again, if you like parties along with the sun, go for it!  It seemed most guests just wanted a little more peace and quite, but are still wishing for it here.

BTW: bring your ear plugs to Russia's Cancun!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managergabriel, Director General at Villa Elisabeth, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear LaoBlue,

thanks for take the time to write this, more than review, radiography of your feelings about us and Thailand. I can be agree about your description of our place and Phuket in a few things, but I must display that:

- Villa Elisabeth is at the end of Kata Beach, who is a wonderful family beach, full of sand, but like everything in this life, everything finish, so at the end of the beach starts the rocks, and note our place have exit directly to the sand of the beach.

- If there's some noise is because your trip was in the peak season where the occupation of the tourist areas is almost 100% busy; if you want to run away from population and people, don't go to a tourist destination, not in Thailand, not in other country, better choose some relaxing hut in the mountain, there are many travel agencies who offer this kind of destinations.

- Kata is a tourist area, but is open to the sea and big enough to offer to the tourist many option to do, if you felt stress for have contact with other tourist, better don't think even to put a feet in Patong, at 14 Km far from Kata, who is a really big concentration of traffic, hotels and people. Please don't give a wrong idea to other guest about this wonderful place.

- The small street behind our villa is the only way to go to the next villa, and there's no more buildings, so I'm afraid is not posible suffer the noise of a big traffic, and we are far away to the closest street 30 metres.

- If you felt bored to have the same variety of options in your breakfast (included in the price of the apartment), just need to talk with us, and we will find the way to satisfy you.

anyway, all the opinions of our guest, better or worse are welcome, we enjoy have good reviews, and we try to learn with the worse ones.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We spend again our christmas holidays at Villa Elisabeth on Kata Beach in Phuket. And as always we loved it. We have booked the sea view rooms and
The best spot on Kata Beach. All day breakfast, nice view and very nice service and management.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SusanneMarie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managergabriel, Director General at Villa Elisabeth, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Susannema...

thanks for choose us for your accommodation on your Christmas holidays, is a nice change for many people have the Christmas time in a tropical place enjoying the sun and the warm weather as in summer time.

Thanks too for the time you used for write your good opinion of us.
If you are thinking to visit us again in the future, be sure you will be very welcome.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

It was so Romantic Villa, Close to the beach, Best sea view, Clean and Fresh. The Restaurant also was fantastic, open air with the romance Candle Light dinner, good test of the food, lovely service from staff and Big Boss "Elisabeth". I really Love this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yayaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managergabriel, Director General at Villa Elisabeth, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Yayaying,

thank you very much for the good review you wrote about us. Is true that we do an effort for give to all guest the best service and the best atmosphere, for they can have a relaxing time for families and romantic time for couples.

Have a big regards from the owners and all the staffs of Villa Elisabeth at Kata Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

A must stay,we stayed dec. 2012, the Staff was a lot of fun very helpful, beach is just down the stairs, meals were great! Stayed in room 2 view was wonderful and could hear the waves,very peaceful!!
A short walk to shops, scooter rental and bars Thanks

Room Tip: Room 2 is the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managergabriel, Director General at Villa Elisabeth, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Larry W,

thank you very much in deep for the good review about us, you did a direct description and certain about our place.

Thailand is a country of sun, beaches and smiling people, we use that mix for create a small paradise at Kata Beach, for offer a relaxing holidays for families and romantic time for couples.

Our villa have restaurant, swimming pool, privates yacuzzi inside the villas and we organized wedding parties too, all around a full green threes and the sound of the birds and the sea.

Best regard from Thailand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed at Villa Elisabeth in Studio Apartment 4 for four weeks in February 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed myself. Fabulous accommodation for a long stay to escape the British winter!
This wonderful small boutique hotel comprises of three different types of accommodation. Villas (3), Studio apartments (6) and deluxe rooms. No telephones in rooms but free WiFi. There is also the popular and highly regarded Bella Vista restaurant.
It is located on a headland at the southern end of Kata Beach and visitors have fantastic views of Kata Beach and the Big Buddha Monument on the distant hillside.
Studio 4 was an excellent choice. It is the best studio being at first floor level and catches the early morning sun despite being amongst very tall trees.
Villa Elisabeth comprises of numerous levels and there are lots of steps to negotiate between car park, studios, villas and sun terrace. Also lots of steps leading from restaurant to beach. Not ideal for anyone with walking disabilities or less energetic holidaymakers.
Studio 4 had a fantastic 'vaulted' ceiling. Lovely surprise! (see my other Trip advisor review of Studio Apartment 4). The villas are lovely but have a higher price tag.
All of the villas and studio apartments (bar one) are privately owned but rented out and managed by Villa Elisabeth Hotel. Having seen a number of them inside, each one has been kitted out with the same equipment and furnishings, however, each owner has added extra items of their personal choice which makes them slightly different.
Rental costs included provision of bathrobes, tissues, toilet paper, beach towels and two small bottles of water every day. Also, small 'welcome' bottles of shampoo and shower gel. Didn't expect any of these so it was an added bonus.
All day breakfast included in price, provided in the lovely Bella Vista restaurant. No pressure to get to breakfast 'on time'. Time is of your choosing. Not 'buffet style' but served to your individual order by friendly attentive staff. Enough choice to vary, if desired.
Martin, Chaw and Zaw were my favourite members of staff. Always friendly and made me feel most welcome.
I had a number of evening meals in the Bella Vista restaurant which were excellent and most enjoyable with the candle lit tables. Good choices of dishes (Thai and International) and although more expensive than other eateries on the beach, it was well worth the extra for the quality and quantity of food, staff service and ambience.
Villa Elisabeth occupies a great location, very private and peaceful but within 5 mins walk of restaurants, shops, supermarket, massage places. 15 mins or 20 mins to the much busier parts of Kata depending on whether you walk along the beach or main road.
Everything is so easy to access from here. I loved the peace and quiet of the landscaped setting. Disliked the midnight fireworks on the beach which can't be controlled by the police.
3 mins walk away from the studios, there is a very efficient laundry, a very competitively priced supermarket, ATM's, shops and an excellent massage place (the Tum Rub Thai).
20 mins walk to the beautiful Kata Noi beach which is quieter than Kata Beach (1 min walk down the steps from Bella Vista restaurant).
Villa Elisabeth is extremely popular and gets booked up very quickley by return guests (like me). I reserved Studio Apartment 4 for 2013 before I flew back to England and would recommend early booking for anyone thinking of staying here.
Ae Chan needs a special mention. He was an excellent manager, very friendly and looked after all the guests. He made everyone feel extremely welcome. Sadly, I have heard he is no longer at Villa Elisabeth.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissTia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managergabriel, Director General at Villa Elisabeth, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Miss Tia:

Greetings from Villa Elisabeth in Thailand. Thank you very much in deep you your long and so good review. Those guests like you, who appreciate the effort of our staffs and the owners to satisfy everyone, are specially welcome in our house.

Chaw and Zaw send you too a warm regard.

We wish enjoy your visit in the future again.

Best Regards from all the staff and the owners of Villa Elisabeth in Thailand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Had the cheapest room with the best view. The room was nice and clean although it did smell a little mouldy. We couldn't be bothered to complain as the room had the best view ever & even opened the bi-fold doors at night & woke up to the noise of the waves. The beach is right at your feet & my husband & I would wake up each morning, go for a walk & swim then have breakfast.

Breakfast is delicious & the staff are very friendly. The owner Elisabeth greeted us on arrival & was very friendly.

I would not recommend this hotel maybe to unfit people or anyone with knee problems as the steps to the beach are steep, unless you go round the long way.

Also, it was very noisy at night until early morning from the "Ska" bar. The music is hip hop & repetitive. I knew this before I booked & it didn't bother me but it is very loud. Apparently you can't hear it from the villa rooms behind our room but there is no sea view.

We didn't have dinner at the resort as it was dearer but "Mamas seafood" next door on the beach has amazing food decently priced. We also didn't use the smallish pool as you have a beautiful beach just right under you, closer in distance than the pool. The pool looked like it needed a good clean though.

Overall I would definitely recommend this private accommodation & would book again. It's value for money & I you won't find a room with this type of view & access around this stretch of beach.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre but I did a rating. Can't remove it as I'm on my iPad. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndalKrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managergabriel, Director General at Villa Elisabeth, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear LyndalKry:

thanks for your good review about us. We always try to do an effort to our guests and make they time here nice and happy.

I recognize the distribution of Villa Elisabeth is not properly for handicap people or just people who don't like stairs, but is the natural location of the villa.

About our business neighbors, is true the guests can enjoy other options around the villa, and about the reggae bar, they don't play high music and never after midnight, but if our future guests don't like ear any kind of music or noise, the best options are the studios-apartments, and if want enjoy the sea view and have a quiet location, the very best choice are our villas.

Best regards from Thailand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Elisabeth

Property: Villa Elisabeth
Address: 2/29 Patak Road, Moo 2, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Elisabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transfer to the airport: we can offer that service but the guest must order in advance and have extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Villa Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Elisabeth Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing