We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and realaxing resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metadee Resort and Villas
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have just returned from our 6 nights stay in Metadee..The staff vas very friendly and helpful. We stayed in private pool villa which was huge... The bathroom vas great, with huge showever, his and hers sink and nice bath tub. Private deck area and plunge pool were great. After reading the reviews I was very worried about insectc, gecco etc but we kept the doors closed most of the times due to air con so there was really none of that. I saw one mozzie throughout the whole stay.

The pool is definetly amazing, its absolutly massive. But I do have to agree with some of the reviews and say the water was a bit too warm sometimes.
Many people complain about the walk from the main road but I found it to be relief because you escape the hawkres and madness happening on the main road and buggy service is great.. Breatkfast was great, althought after a few days it can get boring however the food was good.

This is small and cozy resort and I woudl recomend this place to anyone. However I personally will not be returning back to Kata beach or Phuket as it is very westernised, you wil not experience Thailand by visiting Phuket.

Room Tip: Try scuba diving from Phuket Scuba Club, this was the highligt of our trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just returned from the Metadee, feeling very relaxed and wanting to return. My partner and I stayed for 11 nights, our first time to Phuket. (we generally go to Koh Samui) and was pleasantly surprised how nice Kata Beach was. The Metadee made our holiday, it was tidy and clean, staff were excellent, but the Pool, amazing! If you want somewhere thats quiet, reasonably priced with wonderful staff then this is the Resort. Thanks to Golf and Tar for your wonderful pool side service and A for keeping the path to the pool very tidy.To all the breakfast staff, a big thumbs up for excellent eggs and bacon and lovely smiles.
If we had one suggestion it would be to have ice trays in the fridges! Or perhaps bring them with you if you like a we drink in your room.
Make sure you book a Pool access room, so cool to step outside your room straight into the pool!
Thanks again everyone at the Metadee, and see you all again soon.
Sheree and Mike.

Room Tip: Pool Access, not to far from main pool, gets cooler and darker farther you go down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwi4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at Metadee Resort as we had a family wedding to go to. The staff are friendly, helpful and honest. Very polite at all times and made us feel welcome from the start. The rooms were spacious, clean and modern. The pool was huge and the Pool view rooms were better and more private than the pool access rooms. 400 bart will get you a taxi ride into Patong and 1500 bart will get you a taxi and driver from resort to anywhere all day 9 to 5 with driver willing to wait. Taxi drivers at resort are polite, helpful and friendly. Abit of a walk in the heat to the main road but they have golf buggys that they take you in and pick you up again. Breakfast was worth paying for if not included with room. You can eat as much as you like and it includes continental, cooked, fruit, yogurt, juice and thai. Just be weary of Happy Hour and half price drinks.
Alcohol is quite expensive, pays to go to an off licence and buy some to bring back to resort.
Only disadvantage was it was quite away from Airport so allow enough time when transfering.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more private and sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brown1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at here for ten nights during early August 2012. From the moment we arrived we noted how friendly, attentive, polite and happy the staff were from, Boy, Golf, Ta and Can, even the the grounds man 'A'. The rooms were clean, modern and offered everything needed. We used the room service for some meals at night and these were quick, tasty and well presented. We found the cost of these in room meals not alot more expensive than what we could get from the resturants in Kata.
The pool is amazing. Due to the sheer size you can find a quiet area to swim or relax.
The gym is basic however it offers what is needed. We would have liked to have seen small towels avaliable in there.
We would recomend this place to anyone and will return again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kyle and corina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed at Metadee Resort towards the end of our SE Asia trip in August and just wanted to unwind. We did exactly that. Free room upgrade and beautiful, friendly staff made our stay amazing. The room was modern, spacious, comfortable and gorgeous. Private entrance into the pool was great. The pool itself is HUGE - absolutely amazing, the best I've ever seen. Food was great - didn't want to leave.
The only down side is that Kata Beach is quite a long away from Phuket town(this didn't bother us at all) but if you wanted to do activities, its a bit of a drive. Its also about an hour from the airport - we had an early flight and needed to leave before breakfast was open - so the staff packed us a breakfast to take with us, so cute!
Thanks for a wonderful stay - we will be back again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with pool entrance - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights late July into early August, 2 adults and an 8 month old baby. Chose this hotel on a recommendation from friends who also had young baby and had stayed here, and after reading the reviews.

Location and transfers:
Be aware if travelling with children that it’s over an hour from airport but driver and car were very nice, cold bottled water in the comfy car and a good driver. On the return transfer we were taken in the minivan which is more of a party van as it was belting out bassy dance choons all the way to the airport which was amusing for a bit then got annoying. Plus the seat belts were fixed and didn't fit...

The hotel:
Very nice resort tucked back from the main strip (handy buggy service takes you up to the main road for free, always available). Very nice and clean main pool. There are some nice restaurants on the strip and the beach is great but not for children due to strong currents. In high season the strip would probably be very busy. The hotel grounds were very clean and quiet which was nice and the grounds keeping staff were always pleasant and said hello. Watch out for the buggy’s!
As the resort is set back and is surrounded by greenery there are lots of mozzies at night but that's to be expected.

The Room:
We stayed in the private pool villa which on first glance was very nice and ideal for us and our baby daughter. The private pool was just the right size for wallowing around, cooling off, and for our daughter to splash around. If you want to go swimming, go to the main pool, naturally.
After a few days we started to notice little niggles such as the wooden floor starting to splinter (not good for crawling babies), shoddy patchwork done to tart up the rooms and pool area, mould marks/spots on the fabric of the baby crib provided, manky curtains, etc. etc. We also had to get maintenance in to bang a load of nails back down on the floor where they were sticking up. Nothing too major i should add, just disappointing when the rest of the hotel is so nice and the premium you pay for a villa.
The bed was massive and comfy (although the duvet wasn't big enough??) and the showers (inside and out) were great, as was the big bath. The fridge was good for storing our water and other drinks bought from mini mart up the road and when housekeeping bothered to show up it got replenished with water and soft drinks for free. The room also came with a dvd/mp3 player that you can plug iphones/ipods into which was good.

TIP 1: Bring a USB stick with movies on as the DVD player doesn't recognise an external HDD (and the telly doesn't have a USB port).

Housekeeping, as previously mentioned, turned up when they felt like it and sometimes replenished the free items. Also they would just walk in uninvited after knocking once but if they want to see me starker’s in the outside shower then good luck to them. Often we would be out for at least a couple of hours, leaving the ‘clean room’ light on, and we would come back and the room still wasn’t cleaned. Room service plates stacked up outside and you could see that a few of the other guests had the same problem when walking past the rooms.

I'd definitely recommend a private villa if travelling with very young children or if you want privacy. Otherwise go for the pool access.

Restaurants:
We went to the BBQ night which was quite good but not really worth the expense. Plus we wanted to arrange a babysitter so my wife and I could enjoy an evening out but even booking a day in advance wasn't good enough as they (don't know how many) were all booked. Other than the BBQ and breakfast we didn’t eat at the restaurant so can’t comment any further.
Breakfast was good, they had properly cooked bacon (not fried rock solid) and the eggs were tasty. A fair spread of western and Asian foods with lots of fruit and juices. High chair with straps was provided.

Spa:
Didn't try the spa but got a 30% off voucher when checking in and there were some offers on (BOGOF etc). Read the other reviews and they'll recommend other options.

Staff:
Overall very nice and were very good with our daughter (she loved the attention) but as the week went on it got annoying as they all wanted to play/interact with her when we were trying to feed her or just have some time to ourselves. One of the female trainee’s over stepped the mark a few times. Two of the restaurant staff also turned up when delivering our room service on the off chance they would see our daughter which was obvious and irritating. I got quite annoyed with some of them for these reasons and I suggest that if this happens to you then say something rather than let it slide. Some of the English was patchy at best but nothing out of the ordinary. 'Boy' was very friendly and a nice guy. Reception staff were efficient and pleasant. Never met or saw any of the management.

Room service:
Since we spent most of our time in the room and pool we ordered a lot of room service. Value was average for resorts. Quality of Thai food was very good compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Thailand, spicy and full of flavours. The western food items were not as good. Pizzas were overdosed in cheese and there must have been a meat shortage as all of the dishes containing chicken (salad) or steak (sandwich) etc. were laughably scarce in meat – check out photo. I complained and they sent through another one free of charge with a good bit of steak in it this time. They also ‘forgot’ one of our orders but got it to us very quickly after I queried its progress and it was free of charge.

Overall a nice hotel, not as good as I hoped it would be, and bearing in mind we went in the off season the service could have been better. Would I recommend it or stay there again, probably not as there are better options.

TIP 2: If you need to sterilize bottles etc. for a baby then you MUST make room in your bags for your electric steam steriliser as cold water sterilisation is a pain and with the dodgy Thai tap water you can never be too careful!

TIP 3: Go to the mini mart on the right for cheaper booze but slightly less selection.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

we stayed for 3 nights in a room with direct pool access. the pool access was great, it really made swimming so much more fun and convenient for me.

the room itself was spacious and comfortable too.

I guess the only downside was the mosquitoes that got into the room when I opened the pool access sliding door momentarily. the mosquitoes left me quite a number of bites..grrrr

If I do return to phuket for another holiday, i would definitely consider metadee again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beargoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
791 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 55 in Kata Beach
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £92 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing