We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metadee Resort and Villas
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay and couldn't be more relaxed and happy. We arrived at Phuket and were greeted by Mr Nine who was such a delight! He pointed out local attractions and the like on the way to the resort and made us feel very welcome.
Our private pool villa was ready on arrival. I have read a few reviews of the check in process taking some time but we had no issue with this. Staff were very welcoming and friendly.
The private pool room we had was amazing (3102). It was only a few steps away from the main area which was great. The private pool was a great size for a couple especially for the price we paid. I did not find any comparative pool villa resorts for same price and size. The rooms are clean and very large, including the bathroom. The mosquito net over the bed was also handy and daily replenished minibar is great. There is no alcohol included but the minimart is a short walk away. If you want a lot of privacy then these rooms are great. You are able to swim alone and also in the main pool when you want a bit of an atmosphere and a drink by the pool. Might be an idea to wait for a special rate as we did though.
We stayed in monsoon season and expected a lot of insects but did not have a major problem with this, a few large bugs here and there, would definitely recommend having insect repellent though becuase you get bitten and don't even realise.
The buffet breakfast is awesome, our fave meal of the day. They had a great selection of thai and western. The western breakfast was great as you were able to get eggs made to order with fresh fruit available also and everything you would normally have at home. Boy was super helpful. After our first breakfast, he knew our room number; if we needed coffee or not etc he was such a great help and we appreciated it!
The main pool is amazing. Pool access seems like a must. The pool access rooms seem more private than the pool access villas so if privacy is what you like then get a pool access room as it is covered by the trees.
Happy hour was great so don't miss out! It's a good atmosphere and the drinks are cheap. They also let you take drinks back to your room if you don't finish them at the bar. Jacky and Golf were great to have around and were a lot of help and we appreciated their friendly attitude.
We had dinner at the restaurant and we liked it but recommend going onto the main road as it is cheaper.
I tried the spa which I found very relaxing and clean. The price is a bit more than the main road but found the main road not as relaxing as you could here others next to you talking to their masseuse. At the spa you get a private room which helps with the atmosphere and relaxation.
A big thank you to Mr Nine. He was such a wonderful driver and helped us out a lot with the language and site seeing. He definitely made us feel very welcome and we would recommend him as a driver to anyone staying at the resort. He is so great, he is emailing us original Thai recipes which we are grateful for!
We have tried to think of constructive feedback and the only thing we can come up with (which is minor) is that the bills from the pool bar take a while to come out once asked for. Our longest wait for the bill would have been approx. 15mins. It wasn't much of an issue for us but we could see others were a little annoyed about it. Room service is also great but did also find the plates sat outside for longer than necessary.
The buggy service to the main road is such a help! It is not that far to walk but in the heat can make it hard. The staff on the taxi service are so great and are always smiling, they are some what of a highlight!
Overall, we had such a very wonderful stay at the Metadee and could not recommend it enough. We will definitely be returning and could not thank everyone there more for our great experience.

Room Tip: Keep the doors closed - if oyu would rather not have them in your room Bring/buy insect repellant
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sav22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
There are newer reviews for Metadee Resort and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Metadee Resort for 14 nights at the start of August and we had a FANTASTIC stay.
We checked into a Pool Access Villa (Room 4109). The Villa was very spacious, clean, great air conditioning system and of course access straight into the pool and what an awesome pool it is, this really is the feature of the resort.
I wouldn't go as far to say that the Metadee is a 5 star resort, but certainly getting close to it. I say this as there are a few minor maintenance issues that could be taken care of, such as replacing the missing Bamboo near the outside showers, which also act as a privacy screen. The mosquito net is full of holes, although many are repaired; it still makes it look slightly shabby. As mentioned in other reviews, the beds are also quite firm. Also room service could be improved, whilst getting room service is easy, when finished and leaving the plates outside, they can linger there for hours and given that there are lots on insects and the occasional stray cat, it is not ideal to leave them there. I did call room service to ask them to come collect the plates, as the waiter told us to do, but trying to explain over the phone was difficult and staff did not understand what I meant, so I gave up and the plates sat there for sometime. This really is trivial and did not detract from our stay.
Previous reviews mention insects. Thailand is a tropical country and if you don't like insects or nature, then I recommend you holiday in another country. There are mosquitos, ants, millipedes, bees, frogs and so on. The room has electric plug in mosquito repellent and I recommend you bring your own too, as well as a tropical strength spray/roll on to apply to yourself. We kept our doors/windows closed most of then time and never had an issue.
Mini Bar is complimentary and does not contain alcohol (coke, fruit juice, lemonade). If you want beers, go to the minimart outside the resort.
Breakfast has a great selection from continental (croissants, cheese, ham, fruit, Cereal, Yoghurt) to full English (Bacon, Eggs, Sausages, Toast, Omelettes, and Baked Beans etc), French toast, Pancakes, Asian Breakfast (Rices, Noodles) and even pasta of the day. Fresh Fruit Juice is available, albeit a small selection (Melon, Carrot, and Tomato) otherwise non-fresh pineapple, Lemongrass Juices are available.
Cocktails are good and happy hour from 4.30-6.00pm give you a choice of 2 for 1 cocktails on the daily cocktail only and buy 2 get third free on beer. Drinks and food are available poolside and you can drink in the pool too.
From the main road to the resort is a long driveway, which is a few minutes walk or there is a golf buggy service that drives you in both directions. The driveway at night is very safe as there is another resort along it, plus shops and plenty of people. I think the driveway is good as it separates you from the main road and therefore the resort is quiet.
They have wind chimes outside the rooms and throughout the resort, I couldn't find them to buy anywhere, but if you like them, you can buy them from reception at THB300. Australian's who want to buy one will have no problems bringing them into Australia, but I would still declare them at customs as they are a wood product.
A few staff I'd like to mention: Jacky, Boy and Golf were very attentive, professional and always smiling. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HotOz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe pool access room, it was amazing. The pool was huge!
Staff are friendly and helpful. Kata Beach was very nice and only a ten minute walk away.
Also very close to shops and restaurants.
I will definitely be back there one day!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with pool access
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Right from the Friendliness of staff at reception to your golf buggy ride to your room you know you will love this place. Small Resort with everything you could want to make a pleasent and relaxing break I would recommend paying extra for a pool access room although standard are huge and nice. Rooms were huge with giant beds and an incredibly large bathroom with an equally large bath(magnificent to lay back in with a glass of the best.) The pool is like a long canal running past all rooms and exiting into main pool area, giving you privacy or social atomospkere. Only a small bar and dining room but meals were good and not expensive. A great selection of Happy Hour cocktails all well priced. Golf buggys run you from reception to main road in Kata and Laundry services and other essiential shops plus good dining are all close. Go back to the Metadee again "For bloody sure!"

Room Tip: Definitely get a pool access room or better, cost is not much more and wortwhile. Standard rooms are...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SloanerangerDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have just returned from our 6 nights stay in Metadee..The staff vas very friendly and helpful. We stayed in private pool villa which was huge... The bathroom vas great, with huge showever, his and hers sink and nice bath tub. Private deck area and plunge pool were great. After reading the reviews I was very worried about insectc, gecco etc but we kept the doors closed most of the times due to air con so there was really none of that. I saw one mozzie throughout the whole stay.

The pool is definetly amazing, its absolutly massive. But I do have to agree with some of the reviews and say the water was a bit too warm sometimes.
Many people complain about the walk from the main road but I found it to be relief because you escape the hawkres and madness happening on the main road and buggy service is great.. Breatkfast was great, althought after a few days it can get boring however the food was good.

This is small and cozy resort and I woudl recomend this place to anyone. However I personally will not be returning back to Kata beach or Phuket as it is very westernised, you wil not experience Thailand by visiting Phuket.

Room Tip: Try scuba diving from Phuket Scuba Club, this was the highligt of our trip.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just returned from the Metadee, feeling very relaxed and wanting to return. My partner and I stayed for 11 nights, our first time to Phuket. (we generally go to Koh Samui) and was pleasantly surprised how nice Kata Beach was. The Metadee made our holiday, it was tidy and clean, staff were excellent, but the Pool, amazing! If you want somewhere thats quiet, reasonably priced with wonderful staff then this is the Resort. Thanks to Golf and Tar for your wonderful pool side service and A for keeping the path to the pool very tidy.To all the breakfast staff, a big thumbs up for excellent eggs and bacon and lovely smiles.
If we had one suggestion it would be to have ice trays in the fridges! Or perhaps bring them with you if you like a we drink in your room.
Make sure you book a Pool access room, so cool to step outside your room straight into the pool!
Thanks again everyone at the Metadee, and see you all again soon.
Sheree and Mike.

Room Tip: Pool Access, not to far from main pool, gets cooler and darker farther you go down.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwi4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at Metadee Resort as we had a family wedding to go to. The staff are friendly, helpful and honest. Very polite at all times and made us feel welcome from the start. The rooms were spacious, clean and modern. The pool was huge and the Pool view rooms were better and more private than the pool access rooms. 400 bart will get you a taxi ride into Patong and 1500 bart will get you a taxi and driver from resort to anywhere all day 9 to 5 with driver willing to wait. Taxi drivers at resort are polite, helpful and friendly. Abit of a walk in the heat to the main road but they have golf buggys that they take you in and pick you up again. Breakfast was worth paying for if not included with room. You can eat as much as you like and it includes continental, cooked, fruit, yogurt, juice and thai. Just be weary of Happy Hour and half price drinks.
Alcohol is quite expensive, pays to go to an off licence and buy some to bring back to resort.
Only disadvantage was it was quite away from Airport so allow enough time when transfering.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more private and sunnier.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brown1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £41 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing