We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metadee Resort and Villas
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$102
US$87
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beyond Resort Kata(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boathouse Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Boutique House(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
PGS Hotels Casa Del Sol(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$331
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Kata Resort Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,443)
Filter reviews
1,443 results
Traveller rating
846
413
116
32
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
846
413
116
32
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pool villathe main roadpool accessbuggy servicemosquito netmain poolamazing poolgolf buggyoutdoor showerevery hourhuge poolbeach baghourly shuttlewestern foodrain showerour honeymoonbreakfast staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
946 - 951 of 1,443 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed at the Metadee in August 2010 and it was perfect. We had previously stayed in Patong and wanted to be a little more out of town this time so we chose Kata Beach instead. We chose the Metadee based on Tripadvisor reviews and they were also having special rates for our dates.

We stayed in a Pool Access Villa and loved it. It's a stand alone stone cottage backing onto the pool. It was almost bigger than our apartment here in Sydney. King size bed with mosquito net, lounge and coffee table and flat screen tv (although to be honest, we didn't turn the tv on once!). Beautiful deck with chairs and entry to the pool right there on your door step. Great airconditioning - almost too effective!

The bathroom was gorgeous, big stone tiles and his/her sinks. A huge bath. Indoor shower and outdoor shower with privacy screens.

The landscaping is beautiful - the plants and flowers are gorgeous and expertly maintained every day. Saw lots of geckos and lizards and only one tiny bright yellow snake which the gardener came and removed.

I recommend the Pool Access Villa over the Private Pool Villa - while the Private Pool Villa means you have your own pool, it is only a small plunge pool and we preferred being able to swim in the main pool, straight outside our door, and then you can swim round to the main pool and see what's going on at the bar and restaurant.

The pool is spectacular, there are fountains and jets and gardens throughout and while we were staying in a quiet time (the hotel wasn't full), there's enough of the pool to be able to feel like you had it to yourself.

The restaurant was good too. Breakfast was excellent with a full complement of western and asian foods (miso for breakfast, delicious). We ate a few times for dinner and lunch but mainly hit the restaurants out in Kata. The staff could not be more helpful - in particular Joy, Boy and Pou. We booked a few things through the front office and found the prices to be very reasonable.

The hotel is set off the main road about a 300m walk but the hotel has a buggy service that will pick you up and drop you off. There is a few shops and several massage places on the access road, as well as a pizza place. There is also a corner shop right on the access road which sells mosquito spray, crisps/chips and beer/soft drink - perfect for when you are heading back to your room.

The hotel also offers a shuttle service to the beach on the hour but we walked it. We preferred the pool to the beach anyway.

The best thing about the Metadee is that it is off the main road and secluded. There is no traffic noise and no hawkers. It is surrounded by beautiful gardens. It is an island oasis. We will not hesitate to stay there again - in fact, we are going again in March 2011!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy15k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metadee_Thailand, Front Office Manager at Metadee Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2010

Deatr Value Guests,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Metadee team looks forward to welcome you again on March 2011.

Best regards,
Metadee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Spent 14 wonderful days at Metadee in September. had the pool access room which would have to be the best rooms at the resort. 3 steps and in the pool which you are grateful for after walking around in the heat. Resort has the odd lilo dotted about the place so nab one of those if you can. Also there are jacuzzi style jets on steps outside Pool villas, opposite access rooms, which are awesome to ease weary bones.
Staff are excellent. Nothing was ever any problem. Had issues with internet and air con but they were fixed within minutes without any trouble.
There is an hourly shuttle service to kata but would be better if it went into Patong as well which is the main shopping precinct. Golf buggies to and from the main road are also available when required.
2 happy hours are great. one between 5pm and 6pm just before dinner and the other between 10pm and 11pm for a nightcap.
Breakfast was great. Not a big selection but well cooked. restaurant for lunch and dinner is expensive compared to other local ones.
We liked the place so much we have rebooked for July 2011.

We advise that you do all your basics shopping at 7/11. they are every 500m or so in both directions from the hotel. most things are cheap especially beer and cola. Wine is very expensive compared to other alcohol.can also get thai sim cards for mobile phones cheap for texting and calling home.

For a light snack you should check out the O-Oh bakery next door to the Hotel Ibis. They make the sandwiches to order and are a very good price. Also have a range of donuts and danishes.
For traditional Thai food check out Natalies which is about a 200m walk left out the driveway. It is next to the Tomato Restaurant and opposite Malis seafood. We went there 3 or 4 times. great food and service. Also try Kata Country restaurant which is 100m right out the driveway. Very cheap food inc european and the best dessert menu in Phuket.
For a family restaurant cant go past dino park. themed like the flintstones and good food. If you spend 900 baht you get a 20% disc voucher to On the Rock restaurant at Marina resort next door. very up market but fantastic views overlooking whole of Karon beach. great photo opportunities. for great sunset shots, go to moms tri boathouse on kata beach. happy hour from 5pm with setting sun over the beach. magical.

To get around best to take tuk tuks from top of driveway. We found the best thing to do was to negotiate a price for the whole day. approx 1000 baht. Driver will take you where you want to go and wait for you then take you to the next place. much cheaper than taking individual tuktuks on separate trips.

If doing day trips, book at any of the travel offices on the main road. cheaper than hotel tours for the same thing. or try sightseeingphuket.com they pick you up and drop you back to hotel.
we did 3 trips and all were excellent.
However if doing Phi Phi Island make sure you book a speedboat not the ferry. 400 people crammed in for 3hours isnt very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hornboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metadee_Thailand, Front Office Manager at Metadee Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2010

Dear Value Gueats,

Thank you very much for chosen us and value rewiews on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you again next time.

Best regards,
Metadee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We were meeting family at the Metadee and hadn't chosen the hotel ourselves so when we pulled up, we were a bit sceptical. The lobby was a very small room with only a few seats, it was very crowded with people checking in and the pool outside looked pretty small. However, check in was pretty quick and we were driven to our room on a buggy. Again, we were a bit negative because we had to drive a really long way and we thought we'd have to walk miles to get back to the pool. Our fears were unfounded though.... When we got to our room, we realised that there was a little shortcut back to the main hotel area which was perfect and we could see that the pool actually extended all the way round past all of the rooms and it was in fact more of a long lagoon than a pool. We were in room 5201 which also meant we could actually pick up the wireless signal while everyone else had to use the ethernet cable.

The room was nice and comfortable with a decent bed, mosquito net, separate shower & bath plus a flat screen tv with international channels. I would say the airconditioning in our room was not great although the rest of our group didn't seem to have any problems.

There is only one restaurant but both the breakfast and dinner were good. Breakfast had everything that anyone could want and the dinner was definitely amongst some of the best food we had while we were there. The one thing that I would say is that there was not enough Thai food on the menu which was a bit disappointing.

Locationwise, the hotel is set back a little from the main Kata road and literally a 5-10 minute walk to the beach. The hotel has an hourly shuttle to take you there in addition to an on demand buggy service to take you around the hotel or to the end of the road if you're feeling lazy. There are loads of restaurants and bars all the way from the end of the road to the beach and there's also a minimart just round the corner.

The staff at the hotel were wonderful and could never do enough but at the same time they were never too intrusive. They were always smiling and made it a very pleasant stay.

We all really enjoyed staying at this hotel and it's certainly an excellent choice if you want to go to the Kata beach area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metadee_Thailand, Front Office Manager at Metadee Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2010

Dear Value Guests,

It was nice to hear that you are very happy with us and thank you very much for chosen our hotel for your holidays.

Metadee Team looks forward to welcome you on next holidays.

Best regards,
Metadee TEam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed for 8 nights in September with our two teenage daughters and I have nothing but good things to say about the Metadee. The staff are very friendly and helpful. One person that stood out for me was Boy. He always has a smile and would do anything to help if at all possible. He deserves a pay rise. There was also Joy at reception and she is just a total bundle of Joy always chatting and smiling. We had two Deluxe Pool Access Rooms rooms which were lovely and clean and very spacious. The Breakfast in the morning was great it had such a wonderful selection of foods. I would recommend this resort to anyone and would definitely stay next time we visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheroSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metadee_Thailand, Front Office Manager at Metadee Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2010

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your rewiew on Tripadviser. We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.

Loow forward to welcome you back on next holidays.

Best regards,
Metadee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

It's rare that I am totally blown away with a property but 8 day stay at this Resort could not have been better. From the very friendly staff to the pool and rooms we were most impressed. Kata beach (and the Metadee) tends to cater for the more mature traveler (but certainly not exclusively) and as such has a very relaxed atmosphere I totally recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerakwacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews