We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of ibis Phuket Kata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ibis Phuket Kata
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

IBIS Phuket was beautiful, We had a long tiring day when we reached the hotel. The Receptionists were friendly and we checked in immediately.

The rooms were very clean, the balcony especially has a beautiful sight in our room, We had one hiccup due to an error made by the travel agent and were given 2 single beds rather than a master bed as requested, This was accomodated later on the 3rd day by the IBIS Management team where we got a room with the Pool View.

The hotel is situated a bit far away from commercial area which actually was a plus point for us as we got a more peaceful time with our evening walks, the closeby beaches, lot of shopping nearby and some real nice food (Even for Vegetarians)

The Quality of Service , Value for Money, Experience - All were amazing

I definitely recommend this hotel to all honeymooners as we had a fantastic time here, hoping to visit this place again when we can to relive the good memories.

Room Tip: "If you booking in advance, ask for Pool side view Rooms as the hotel has a wonderful layout wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amithkumarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at ibis Phuket Kata on our TripAdvisor!
We are glad that you enjoyed and had a memorable moment with us. It is our brand promise to bring satisfaction to our guest with standard accommodation, quality services at great value for money.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    267
    112
    41
    32
See reviews for
156
243
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The ibis kata is a newer ibis compared to the ibis patong. The staff was friendly and nice. Free Wifi all over the hotel for hotel guest. Rooms is a bit small but comfortable. The bad thing is, the water is turned off from midnight to 5am. Not too convenient since phuket is a night town.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normanngjkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for choosing ibis Phuket Kata for your vacation in Phuket, Thailand!
Please note that ibis Phuket Kata is a perfect choice for a getaway trip in a private location. However for travellers who would prefer a more dynamic nightlife of Phuket, ibis Phuket Patong would be a recommended place :)
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our services, friendly staff and room.
At ibis, we aim at providing our guests with friendly welcome, warm services, and great value for money for a wonderful experience. Thank you once again for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Spent most of the holiday on the beach but missed quite a few good sleeps in this hotel. Walls and doors were super thin, and midnight and early morning noises came in straight thru the big gap under the door. Kindly asked the receptionists to put up a friendly sign in the corridors to remind guests to keep quiet, but the answer we got was, "Just call the security or reception if you hear more noises ..."

Bathroom towels definitely would need renewal. They're already quite worn out ...

Also beware of the ants in the rooms ...

Breakfast looked ok but quite pricey. Tried buffet dinner once and it was pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnsino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We apologise for any inconvenience that might have caused during your stay with us. We will share your comment with the hotel management to improve our services.
At ibis, we aim at providing the best service at the great value for money, that's why your comment is very important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Well Trippets... I have one thing to say.... This is not what I call an IBIS hotel. Compared to other countries IBIS KATA BEACH is amazing. We have all heard the saying 'You get what you pay for' Well this is one hotel where you auctually get more than you pay for....
However first up, I must say to all the people that complain about the smell, mold and moisture please do not travel to tropical climates.... it's a natural thing in this part of the world. It's called the Tropics for a reason, so please don't visit if you want you home surroundings.... cause it just ain't going to happen!
The room was very clean and comfortable for myself or a couple, with enough room for luggage and pleanty of storage space under the bed... a very clever design indeed! If your travelling with 3 or more spend a few dollars more and get the larger family room. Air-con was great and not loud at all. Yes the beds are firm but you do awake fresh and revived every morning, after a comfortable sleep.
Bathrooms are small but are fully equiped and very clean and do the job well. Compared to Australia stands I would rate these 4 star... Ever been to an Ibis with marble and mosaic trim in the bathroom? Not one bit of plastic/fiberglass cubicle anywhere.
A balcony with great mountain and local views, made a very spacious feel in the room. If your a smoker this is a big bonus or just a sunlover wanting to people watch over the pool.... An in room safe makes for great peace of mind, although not once did I feel unsafe or insecure in or around the hotel.
Housekeeping were only to happy to help with any requests or ammenities you needed and where always happy and greeted you every morning! It a good sign to see people enjoying their work.... Ah the Thai way!
The pool is good size and you can always get a sun lounge.... Massage by the pool is the same prices as outside the hotel and in fact is run by the people just outside... very unusual with no extra charge for hotel service.
The girls at the conveniance store out the front are fantastic and are willing to help you with anything you need. Just be patient with the language and you will get there.... I was in shock at the amount of rude customers that could not even be bothered to say Thankyou... after all the help the girls gave.
Many resturants, shops and markets are around either to the left or right... The resturant right out the front was great and the staff are very professional, but fun.
Let's not forget the staff at the Ibis - true professionals in every sense of the word. Nothing was too much trouble, from forward bookings, local info, sending and receiving fax's messages ect...
I stayed for a total of nine nights and will make it my first stop when I next visit Phuket. I truley loved this hotel and the services in the local area. Ibis Kata Beach Thankyou so much for a most enjoyable and memorible stay....
My only complaint, which had nothing to do with the hotel at all, was the amount of rude guest that where staying here, who did not show one bit of appreiation or respect for the staff who worked so very hard to keep all things clean, comfortable and enjoyable...... for us all!
If your wanting a clean comfortable hotel with full service at a fantastic price, look no further than The Ibis Kata Beach......

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BaliTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at ibis Phuket Kata on our TripAdvisor profile!
We appreciate that you had a memorable stay with us as well as enjoyed our location, room, services, facilities, staff and the great value for money. We will maintain our quality of service to meet our guest satisfaction and will pass your compliments to our team for encouragement.
ibis brand is Europe's leading economy hotel brand for that reason our hotels follow an international standard offering a great stay at an affordable price.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

A decent hotel in quiet corner of Kata beach. Very quiet indeed for people who want to be close to happening place which is patong.
Few eateries around the hotel, no market nearby, a convenience store nearby. As for hotel room, it was way too small for the hotel you see from outside.
The bathroom gives u a feel of being in a train. Though cramped, the rooms are adequately equipped. Nice pool & a decent restaurant downstairs.
Not a bad option for the price u pay.

Room Tip: choose rooms on pool side, at least they have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Roaming_Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our TripAdvisor!

ibis Phuket Kata is a perfect choice for a getaway trip in a private location. However for people who prefer a more dynamic nightlife of Phuket, ibis Phuket Patong could be a recommended place for you:)

Please note that the size of room is designed to provide the necessary service and facilities to the guests at best value for money.

Thank you for your compliments on our swimming pool, restaurant and the great value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at ibis Phuket Kata!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have been to Kata Beach many times but this is the first time staying at the Ibis. I stayed 11 nights at this hotel during May 2012. I was travelling with daughter and granddaughter and wanted to show them as much of Phuket as possible so did not spend much time in the room. Room was small but ok for us as we were not there very much. The restaurant was quite satisfactory. Breakfast was without much variety but it was all we needed. Dinner at night was tasty. The pizzas are particulary good. The only real criticism I would have of the restaurant was that it was that the inside restaurant was closed to guest when a large group was in the hotel. Guests then needed to eat outside which did not suit us as we wanted air conditioning when we ate dinner. Most staff at reception were friendly and helpful. House keeping - I do find it annoying when rooms are not made up until very late in the day and this did happen to us. This hotel is only 2 or 3 years old so I was very surprised to find bed linen with holes in it and also surfaces that needed a re- paint or a jolly good scrub. The staff on the travel desk were very helpful and friendly. We could walk to Kata Beach shops and also Kata town shops from hotel. There is an ATM outside hotel and a shop that takes in laundry next door. There is a nice restaurant next door and also a good bakery. The hotel has a taxi service that cost 450 baht to get to Patong, 50 baht more than a tuk tuk but worth it for comfort and convenience. The very good news is that free wireless is now available in all the rooms.
If you want somewhere fairly clean and inexpensive to sleep then this hotel may be a good choice but if you want to spend time relaxing at the hotel in you room then there are many choices of nicer resort like hotels available.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cressida_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for choosing ibis Phuket Kata for your wonderful family trip!

We are glad that your liked our room, food, friendly staff, services and cleanliness. At ibis, we aim at providing the best service at the great value for money!

We apologise for any unpexpected experience you met and we will discuss with the hotel management for the improvement!

We hope to welcome you back again at ibis Phuket Kata!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
#91 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#18 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Phuket Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Phuket Kata

Property: ibis Phuket Kata
Address: 88/8 Kata Road | Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Phuket Kata 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for top value Phuket accommodation Bright, light filled and modern. Trendy, fresh and fun. Ibis Phuket Kata sits fiveminutes from the clear waters of Kata Beach. The hotel is ideal for families and couples alike with shopping, dining and nightlife just moments away. 258 rooms, 24 hour service, snacks and drinks. Surf, swim or soak up the sun in this friendly oasis - the perfect hideaway when relaxation is at the top of your list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Phuket Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Phuket Kata Hotel Kata Beach
Ibis Phuket Kata Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing