We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for the value and friendly helpful staff”
Review of Jinta Andaman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jinta Andaman
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at Jinta. We took a taxi from the Phuket airport. I had read previous posting about how this hotel was hard for taxi drivers to find so I came prepared with detailed directions. He still had to pull over twice and ask. We arrived on the afternoon so it was easier for us to try to help him navigate a little bit. Street signs are hard to find so come prepared especially if you arrive ag night. We paid a flat rate of 750 baht which I had read was about the cost for a taxi just for my husband and I.

Jinta is close to Kata beach with a nice walk. However rent a scooter from Jinta if you want to see Karon beach or Kata Noi. Kata is a packed beach compared to the calm quiet Kata Noi.
The scooter rental was very reasonable from Jinta!!!

Great clean hotel. A little skimpy on the towels. No hand or wash towels just two bath towels total. But that is minor.

We would definitely stay here again very reasonable and nice quiet location. If you want more odof a scene this wouldn't be your place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjfadnesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed for almost all of the month of September here. I am not sure why the address is listed as Karon since it is in Kata Beach area. The hotel and hostel are housed within the Beach Center which has many hotels, restaurants, spas and travel agencies. If your taxi or minibus driver has a hard time finding it, you can tell them it is just near the Ibis hotel. It is a quiet and secure area that is close to the beach and everything else while remaining calm and clean. It is about a 10 minute walk to the beach but it is very easy and direct. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and they are constantly cleaning and trying to improve the look of the facility. The hotel itself is modern and minimal but with all the bases covered.They provide little touches like drinking water and laundry service. You can rent a scooter from them or book transport and shows. You can also pay a very low day rate to use the pool about 10 meters from the rooms. If you are female and on a budget, you can stay in one of the 5 dorm rooms that are fan cooled and have shared toilets and showers. Though they are dorms they are actually set up like small individual rooms. A note is that there are only curtains for doors but each room comes with a safe box to store valuables. Again I had no concerns about safety or security while staying there. I would recommend this place as a solid option for those whose budgets don't stretch the resorts nearby.

Room Tip: dorms rooms are only for females and are fan cooled with shared baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KayEmPee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This lodging was nice, but nothing special. The room was clean, modern and spacious, bed was comfortable and bathroom very good! Lady at the front desk was helpful, we rented a scooter and booked a transport to Phi-phi islands (you can find it much cheaper)!

Location was not that great! Beach was pretty close but all interesting things are very far away! If you want to go to Patong you have to take a taxi or scooter! Karon & Kata beach was full of family and not very recommended to backpackers! Had to stay in Phuket becuse of the flight but not very impressed, there is so much better places in thailand!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Jinta Andaman is actually located in the Kata area of Phuket island. A solid 10-15 walk to the beach. For those who have not visited Kata before, you will want to note that a large portion of the beachfront area is taken up by Club Med.

While Jinta Andaman calls itself a hostel, it is really a very nice hotel located in a newly constructed village filled with restaurants and shops. Wonderful people on the staff and a beautiful swimming pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel is quite difficult to find as it is tucked away down an alleyway on the backside of the main thoroughfare to the beach.
However, the owners are lovely people, and happy to assist with anything, at any time. I found the bed in my room impossible to sleep on (mattress was perhaps designed by a chiropractor looking for work!) and they were only too happy to let me change rooms. The rooms are really quiet and modern, with quirky lighting, and sleek artwork on the walls. Once I had a room with a nicer mattress, I was quite content. I would definitely recommend to other travelers.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank EtainVeronique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Our taxi driver found it very difficult to find the hostel from the airport so make sure you print out the instructions and maps if possible (we had both and still had a struggle) but we arrived late, apx 1am, local time and yet there was a man to greet us and carry our luggage to our room, the room was a good size, 1 double bed and a single bed, balcony, fresh fruit basket and a nice sized bathroom!
Our stay was lovely, clean and basic but just what we needed!
The staff are great, its mainly the owner and one guy but they helped us plan excursions, booked them for us and even gave themselves us for a cheap taxi service when needed!
I would 100% stay at the Jinta Andaman again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed her for three nights in late july this year. Really impressed with the rooms - air con, tv, fridge, safe and really clean too!

The owner is a lovely guy and can't do enough for you! Staff will help book any tours you want to do, so its easy to get out and see the place.

Guests can use the two computers in reception to go on the internet - which is completely free! (Unusual for most guesthouses/hostels!) Also free wifi.

Close to a beautiful beach and many restaurants/bars. Also easy to hop in a tuk tuk and head down to Patong for a more wild night out!

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_josephine26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.1 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#26 of 56 in Kata Beach
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#17 of 56 in Kata Beach
807 reviews
3.1 mi away
Baan Oui
Baan Oui
#5 of 15 in Nai Harn
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinta Andaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinta Andaman

Address: 98/45 Patak Road | Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Kata Beach
Price Range: £13 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinta Andaman 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jinta Andaman , An asian stylish boutique house is located at Kata beach . Our place is just 500 meters to Kata Beach, walking distance to Karon beach, 15 minutes drive to Patong beach, 30 minutes to Phuket Town and 50 minutes from Phuket International Airport. We have the private standard rooms, deluxe rooms and female dormitory room with room services provided to all room types. Our facilities are swimming pool, Restaurant,massage, Parking place, and the services are including transfer from/to airport, Free wifi, Check in 24 hrs,Motor bike for rent, tour desk, Laundry. We are located at quiet place in the center of kata beach village where you can walk to beach, fruits market, fresh market, international food and thai local food restaurant, bars, pubs and many acyivities more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jinta Andaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinta Andaman Hotel Karon
Jinta Andaman Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing