We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of quiet.”
Review of Jinta Andaman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jinta Andaman
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a budget hotel but well worth considering. It is situated in a quiet street off the main drag in Kata town.After booking it we were concerned about locating it when we flew in from Singapore . The hotel contacted us and offered to pick up from the airport . Good decision as we didn't fly in till 2100HRS .The journey took about 1 hour 30 minutes due to road works in Phuket town . On arrival friendly staff checked us in and showed us to our upper 2nd floor room . No lifts ! It was large , clean ,had a king size bed with separate toilet/shower room. To be fair a little 'tired' but very adequate . The bed, whilst king size , had a very hard mattress which was a little uncomfortable. The area around the hotel has the usual tourist shops and a couple of restaurants. Breakfast is available at an attached cafe .Good friendly service with 10% discount for guests . The pool was clean and ideal to cool off after the beach .However NONE of the sun loungers was usable and the chairs unsightly . Bit of a shame .The hotel is about 750 meters from the beach and unfortunately access is via a foot path alongside an open sewer. Not the hotels fault but not a pleasant walk at low tide.Doing some sums, the hotel is cheaper than the hostels so a better option . Would we stay there again ? Yes ..

Room Tip: Try the mattress first .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wavewatcher43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was the worst place we stayed at in Phuket. At first I noticed that the basin in the bathroom had leftovers from someones beard in it. On closer inspection you could clearly see that the place is not clean. There is dirty marks all over the place. The walls has three different variations of the same colour...

Luckily our bed sheets was clean and we could sleep ok. Don't know if all the rooms was like this, but the room can use a good cleaning and be painted over. Luckily we only stayed for two nights.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W1l6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Good place to stay, kind of clean but it felt that much more effort could have been put in. Small things like: wiping mirror, changing bath mat, etc could have been better dealt with. We stayed there for a week and some bits weren't cleaned for the whole time. I know that English in Thailand isn't very often spoken but one person at the reception could not get any of our requests which was rather disappointing. It is not just a beach hut for a fiver after all.. Stay here again? Maybe but most likely not.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ostrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Set in a nice, quiet and very modern complex. Room was ok but we only booked a standard. Comments about beds being hard..... Strongly disagree, our bed was very soft and comfortable but surely there may be different mattresses in different rooms?! Wasn't quite sure about the electric socket in the shower though!!

Beach was 10 mins walk away which was lovely and relaxed. Must admit I did not enjoy the shortcut alley alongside the sewerage though. Beware that one hotel takes up the whole seafront so there are no bars, restaurants or shops directly on the beach which means cutting back through the shortcut just to get lunch etc.

Overall a nice stay with everything we needed, Kata was not our cup of tea as we prefer to be busy but the beach was lovely if you're here to relax. There wasn't much in the way of alternatives that we could find either but the Beach Centre complex also had other guesthouses/hotels.... Recommend the orchid house for food!

Room Tip: I would upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kye2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stay here on dec 25-26 2013, its very lucky to stay here, the room is pretty, clean, the price is not value, the location is still walking distance to get shopping and food. I will stay here again for the next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romida_Marbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were in the female dorm which had individual 'cells' for each person shut off by a curtain. The air conditioning consisted of a little fan and the room was covered in mosquitoes. My towel was covered in brown stains and i couldn't bring myself to use it. Shower head was broken so it was quite difficult to use. The most annoying thing was that the dorms were right next door to the launderette and the staff would come in at 8 am and start talking really loudly and shouting at each other for the next few hours making it impossible to sleep. Pros: nice little pool and the location is good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel and weren't shown around it and only found out now that there was actually a pool! The owner is unfriendly and unhelpful, was eager to take our money but didn't book a taxi to the airport so we were late for our flight. The rooms are spacious but noisy (you can hear the staff going up and down the stairs at 6am) and the bed extremely hard. We can't understand the good reviews for cleaning because our bedding didn't look like it had been changed between guests, with old stains in it. If you have average to high cleaning standard don't book this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#27 of 55 in Kata Beach
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#43 of 55 in Kata Beach
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Aspery Hotel
Aspery Hotel
#93 of 331 in Patong
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fullmoon Beach Resort
Fullmoon Beach Resort
#15 of 65 in Kata Beach
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#29 of 55 in Kata Beach
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinta Andaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinta Andaman

Address: 98/45 Patak Road | Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Kata Beach
Price Range: £21 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinta Andaman 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jinta Andaman , An asian stylish boutique house is located at Kata beach . Our place is just 500 meters to Kata Beach, walking distance to Karon beach, 15 minutes drive to Patong beach, 30 minutes to Phuket Town and 50 minutes from Phuket International Airport. We have the private standard rooms, deluxe rooms and female dormitory room with room services provided to all room types. Our facilities are swimming pool, Restaurant,massage, Parking place, and the services are including transfer from/to airport, Free wifi, Check in 24 hrs,Motor bike for rent, tour desk, Laundry. We are located at quiet place in the center of kata beach village where you can walk to beach, fruits market, fresh market, international food and thai local food restaurant, bars, pubs and many acyivities more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jinta Andaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinta Andaman Hotel Karon
Jinta Andaman Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing