We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view, good food, service - nothing special - Good Not Average”
Review of Baan Chom View

Baan Chom View
Ranked #53 of 150 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stunning view, good food, service - nothing special - Good Not Average”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We dined as a party of 9 and did not have a reservation. We were warmly welcomed and a larger table was constructed in minutes to accommodate our group.
One waiter in particular was excellent - offering suggestions for menu choices and placating my youngest daughter (who was getting tired and moody after a long day) with the offer of a "special milkshake" with cream on top - worked a treat.
We were left waiting for one family member's meal and had to ask for it. Service was wonderful from this one particular waiter, but average from the others - not bad. Just the little things - extra drinks etc - you needed to attract a waiter's attention. Having said that - we were not expecting 5 star service (nor paying for it).
Huge menu with choices to cater for all tastes.
All in all we had a great night and would dine there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    66
    18
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Great view, food mediocre”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We booked a table at the edge to experience a nice sunset, because of this we were still happy to have eaten there, the service was good too but the food was mediocre at best.

Too much suger in the mango shake, the red curry duck was served in yellow curry, they took it back to the kitchen and served it a few minutes later with some chili paste in it.

The shark tasted good but the spicy (not spicy!) curry soup was tasteless.

My recommendation: Just come for the view and forget about your taste buds.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value Thai with great view”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Food is tasty and staff are very friendly…. come here for a great view and a good honest simple thai meal… fresh fish especially well cooked.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great View over Kata Noi”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We went here on our first night as it was close to our hotel. We had a warm welcome from the staff and the main waiter was very attentive and also made some recommendations.
We had the prawn fish cakes and satay to start then the Massamam curry with potatoes which was lovely and a green thai curry which was quite spicey.
The restaurant has a great position overlooking the bay of Kata Noi with great views.
The restaurant is basic in presentation but makes up for it with excellent service amazing views and all at a great price

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The view!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We went there late in the afternoon,and watching the sunset was a wonderful experience with such a view. We didn't try the food but they have delicious fruit juces.
The staff are very friendly and you feel very welcomed,but the greatest point is THE VIEW.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktnayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baan Chom View also viewed

 
Kata Beach, Karon
 

Been to Baan Chom View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing