We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but lots of hassles.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ulladulla, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but lots of hassles.”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I booked a 5 night package (b/fast included) at the Avista through www.getawaylounge.com.au. I added 2 additional nights, and a 3rd person to the booking. (I was travelling with my mother and 14 yr old sister.) These details and costs were confirmed via email prior to departure. Airport transfers were also included.

On arrival to Phuket we were whisked away in a lovely vehicle to the hotel. We arrived late at night after a long flight, hot and tired. The lobby is spacious and modern with a tasteful water feature. Booking in was a nightmare. The man at the front desk insisted we were only booked for 5 nights despite my having email confirmation to the contrary - apparently the Avista head office is in Bangkok and they hadn't bothered to pass on our booking changes. So 20 minutes later they finally confirmed my booking, but acted really annoyed at having to put a cot-bed in our room for my sister, despite us booking a room with 2 beds. We had room 501, which we were told by staff (at least twice a day) has the best views in the hotel and we weren't disappointed. It's on a private corner of the hotel with spectacular views over Kata beach and back up the jungle to Big Buddha. Unfortunately we spent more time trying desperately to communicate with hotel staff than admiring the view...

Despite having three people in the room, we were consistantly given 2 towels, cups, etc. We had to constantly request additional water bottles EVERY DAY. They would only leave 2 small complimentary bottles a day, they didn't re-stock the water/drinks in the mini-bar at all and we were told (by staff) not to drink from the taps. It sounds like a small problem but in 35c heat we shouldn't have had to hassle the staff for drinking water and a towel for each guest! It got to the point where we went down to the local 7-Eleven and purchased 500BHT worth of water because we got sick of trying to get it from the hotel staff. Sounds ridiculous, but we were desperate.

During the checking-in debacle the man asked us twice what time we would like our room serviced each day. I said 11am as I assumed we would be out and about by then, and he said that was fine. The first 3 days we arrived back to our room mid-afternoon to find our room being serviced. So we would wait, outside our room in searing heat, for up to half an hour while they finished - only to be assured that the next day that it would be serviced on time. It never was.

As to the basics, the pool was lovely, the grounds are luscious and clean, the gym small but adequate and the "library" should probably just be called the computer room, as there's only about 20 English titles to choose from. (The other guests we met were predominantly from Eastern Europe.) The hill can be a problem after shopping and it get's expensive to Tuk Tuk all the time, so we walked as often as we could. The beach shuttle bus (run by Avista) is frustrating as you have to book a day in advance and it only has 14 seats for a hotel of more than 500 rooms.

The restaurant buffet breakfast was wonderful, but the dinners and room service were overpriced and nothing special. Go down the road to a local restaurant and risk the locals sketchy English - the food is a million times better and it's lots of fun.

At check out we were told we needed to leave the room by Noon, but could use the facilities until we left at 3pm and they would store our bags. So we lugged our bags downstairs only to be told the hotel wasn't busy, and we should take them back up until we left. But the hotel keys are on an automatic timer and we got locked out. So back down to reception, where they changed the keys. I went back up and it still didn't work. So I went back down and there was a different lady at reception who told me we should have checked out at noon, and weren't allowed in the room! AAAARGH! This went on for ages, and I left the Avista angry and frustrated.

The saving grace of the whole experience was a lady who I think is the "Office Manager". She's a young Eastern European (I think) lady who didn't wear a name tag but if not for her I would have packed up and left. She's an invaluable source of local information, speaks excellent English, is always happy to help when she can, and is genuinely concerned when you have a problem. It's a shame she wasn't there every day. Overall, the Avista is nice, but is not to the standard I expected. Ask for room 501. ;)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Danielle S,

Thank you for your comments.

We are sorry to note that you did not find the service at Avista up to standards. We will surely investigate the issues mentioned about your reservation and lapse in service and put in corrective measures to ensure that such incidents are not repeated.

I do hope that you will stay with us again and allow us an opportunity to change your perception about Avista.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    712
    182
    46
    25
See reviews for
722
1,147
72
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this wonderful hotel where we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. The excellent service started the moment we were met at the airport by a hotel driver. The 1500baht was money well spent, no bartering with the horde of taxi drivers that greet as you leave the terminal. The welcome at the hotel when we arrived was smooth and although we arrived at 11.00am we only waited about 10min for our room, which was exactly as described. We had booked a Club room on the 5th floor. Great ocean view, modern, spacious, neat and spotless. The bed was adorned with flowers and we received a cake and fruit basket to celebrate our anniversary, a really nice touch. Nothing was ever any trouble for any staff member. All were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast catered for most tastes and was more than adequate. We would recommend the seafood and Thai buffet that is offered on a Tuesday night. Freshly cooked on the barbeque, great value for money. Includes live entertainment; great band and even a clown/magician for the kids. The pools are large and relaxing, if the beach is not for you that day.
The hotel is close to Kata beach, Kata town and Karon. Once you get used to the steep hill, it is a short walk to good restaurants, road side markets and the beach. The hotel is in a quiet street, but there are taxi's, tuk-tuks and motorbikes for hire right outside the hotel. The hotel does also offer free transfers and pickups to Patong. A taxi to Patong would cost about 400baht. If you are looking for a well run, modern hotel with great amenities and excellent service, look no further the Avista. Our stay at the hotel was memorable and made our celebration all the more special. Will we return.......hell yeah.

Room Tip: Splash out and book an Avista Club room. For great ocean views ask for 5th floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartShelly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear MartShelly2000,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday and anniversary celebrations at Avista and liked the service, staff and facilities of the resort.

Your comments are a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and motivate us to continue to do better to meet the high standards our guests have come to expect from Avista.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and team Avista looks forward to welcome you again soon and celebrate many more anniversaries with us.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in April and I've been meaning to review it ever since because we loved it so much. We paid under AUD$60/night for a deluxe room with full buffet breakfast, which we thought was a bargain.

The hotel reception has an open, modern and spacious design. The rooms are similar. We thought the place was well kept and clean and the staff attentive. The buffet breakfast had everything we wanted. It's a 5 minute walk to Kata beach and there are loads of restaurants and tailoring shops nearby. The hill that a lot of others have mentioned is seriously not a big deal.

Cannot recommend this place enough, especially for the price we got it for. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngbutwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear youngbutwise,

Thank you for excellent comments and recommending us.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday at Avista and liked the hotel features, service and breakfast.

To enhance the experience of our guests, Avista will soon be adding a new feature by way of a rooftop bar overlooking the magnificient view of the Kata bay area while enjoying the sunset and sipping on your sundowners.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We spent 4 nights at Avista. The actual hotel is quite impressive, just the layout of it can be quite annoying - we had to go up two different lifts just to access our room. The pools are great, so is the gaming room. Close to Kata beach and Kata/Karon - but you do have to walk up and down a steep hill to get to it. The service was great, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mifosbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, Front Office Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear mifosbabe,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with others. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We recently returned after staying in a Grand Deluxe room at the Avista. We were very happy with the resort and our room was lovely and very spacious although we did not need the 2nd bed. We asked to be moved on the 3rd day due to a crying baby next door and they were very obliging and moved us from the 2nd level to the 4th where the garden view was a lot better. The housekeeping on the 4th level however, could be improved, there was still dust present and bird droppings on the balcony after the room had been cleaned. Apart from that we were impressed throughout our stay. The breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice and the service was good. The choice of pools was great also as we preferred the smaller, less used pool as apposed to the larger one. The hill from the main street was just manageable for me but we saw many older patrons struggling and this would be the only thing that would stop us from returning to the Avista. It's önly a short walk to the restaurants, shops and beach which is a plus if the hill doesn't bother you. The free shuttle to Patong was handy although after only one visit, we were happy to return to Kata for the rest of our stay.

Room Tip: If you request a sea view room, you are unlikely to receive one but if you ask to be on the 5th leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorryPomona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, Front Office Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear LorriePom,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay with us and my sincere apologies about the inconvenience caused to you. Your valuable suggestions help us better our services and improve our standards. I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping Manager.

At Avista, we always try to instill a sense of ownership in our people and teach every employee to go the extra mile to attend to the guest needs.

We look forward to welcome you back to Avista Resort & Spa, Phuket soon.

Warm Regards

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We were staying at a nearby hotel in Karon, which was tired and old. We left after 2 nights to come here. It was worth the money we lost to do so. HIGHLY recommend this near-new oasis.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulSomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, Front Office Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear achris001,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with others. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back soon.

We are sure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to improve the quality of our services.


Warm Regards

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We spent 8 nights at the Avista from mid-October and were very impressed with all that it offered. The rooms were spacious and attractive, with all the mod cons including a kitchette (not that we used it!). The bathroom was a good size with a lovely shower, As there were three of us, we booked a grand deluxe and had a lovely view looking out over Kata to the sea. The resort was very clean as were the pools and there was plenty of sun loungers in either the sun or the shade. My 11 year old loved the pool bar and the staff were very friendly and kind to him. The food was amazing, we had a deal with breakfast included and were very impressed with the range and quality of the food - beautiful fresh fruit and salads, tradtional european continental and cooked breakfast fare and (my fav) thai dishes. Yum! I had two thai massages whilst there and both were fabulous and the tea and cookies offered after your treatment are a nice added touch. The hill that has been mentioned is steep for a short stretch and then levels out, not a problem for us. At the end of our eight days we moved and spent 4 nights at a 5 star hotel in Karon. Frankly,whilst this resort had big grounds and great pool for kids, we were sorry not to have booked longer at the Avista as, in comparison, the rooms were so much smaller, as was the fridge, no free wifi in rooms and staff who seemed officous! We would definitely return to this hotel - thank you so much Avista staff! My only gripe with Phuket is the tuk tuk and taxis are a rip off and I would advise you to book a rental car from the airport to get around and about in if you can afford it. Otherwise use the local buses that go from Phuket to Karon and Kata as these are only 30 bhat per person and good fun.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor in room 529, had a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, Front Office Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear travelsat,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with others. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back soon.

We are sure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to improve the quality of our services.

Warm Regards

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,081 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,973 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing