We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We have stayed there 3-4 nights in mid November 2011.

Positive about this hotel:
- very friendly staff
- good service
- very nice hotel, modern and well decorated
- very nice room (ask for a room on upper floors with view swimming pool and on sea)
- great breakfast! lot of choice!
- free WIFI and one of the only hotels where WIFI speed was good!
- not far from shops/restaurants Kata Beach and Karon Beach

Negative about the hotel:
- there is a big upslope leading to the hotel (a bit steep, but hey, it's good to do some sport when we're on holidays) :-)
-

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,647 - 1,653 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

As part of our honeymoon, we decided to stop in Phuket for 5 days. We like to relax and do not like overcrowded places / noisy places so we decided to stay near Kata beach. It was a good decision as it is far away enough from Patong to enjoy some rest. The hotel was great, we received some welcome drinks on arrival and were given a room with a decent view. Pool was not overly crowded and it was great to be able to get food and drinks whilst sitting in the pool. Breakfast was average but there was enough choices. The worst part of th trip was not related to the hotel but to getting a taxi from the airport. We ended up getting a shared minibus as taxis were asking for 800 Thai Baht and we could not negotiate the price down as they are all working for the same company.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gremmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear Gremmy,

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your honeymoon at the Avista and liked the welcome, view from the room and the pool.

Team Avista wishes you a very happy married life and hopes to see you spend your anniversaries with us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This resort is very private, set back from the main hustle and bustle, however, the location is perfect. Its quiet and allows you to fully appreciate the devie and beautiful land scaped gardens, pool and hotel grounds.
Of particular mention is the restaurant. Great food, wonderful variety and on Tues nights a clown comes along to occupy kids and kids at heart alike. the entertainment at the restaurant is also second to none.
I highly reccommend this hotel for anyone who wants luxury, entertainments, good food and good location in Phuket.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear Merrin P,

Thank you for your excellent comments and recommending us.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay at Avista and liked the location, pools, food and the entertainment.

Your comments are a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and motivate us to continue to do better.

To enhance the experience of our guests, Avista will soon be adding a new feature by way of a rooftop bar overlooking the magnificient view of the Kata bay area from where the guests can enjoy the sunset and while sipping on their sundowners.

We look forward to welcome you again soon to enjoy this new facility.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The rooms are clean, big and extremely comfortable. The staff are lovley could not have been more friendly and welcoming breakfast was amazing food was fresh well presented plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia5490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear Georgia5490,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday with us and liked the rooms, staff and breakfast.

Your comments are a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and continue to motivate us to do better to meet high standards that our guests have come expect of us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Location, staff, food, rooms and amenities were all excellent. Pools are very nice also. Only 5min walk to the beach and shops. Staff very friendly and the hotel has lots of nice coves you can escape to.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear Oliver S,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday at Avista and liked the location, staff, food, rooms and amenities.

To enhance the experiece of our guests, Avista will very soon be adding another feature by way of a rooftop bar overlooking the magnificient Kata bay. You can enjoy the sunset while sipping on the sundowners at this beautiful location.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Great hotel - modern, clean, sense of luxury about the rooms (we had Grande Deluxe with two big beds). Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast really good, with lots of choice. Lots of little touches made a big difference, for example bringing our children an ice cream each when we arrived. The children loved the kid's playroom, which had little ball pools, colouring sheets, a few toys and DVDs. Would definitely recommend the Avista, although it wouldn't suit everyone as it is at the top of a very steep hill and has lots of steps throughout!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familym061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Dear familym061,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday with us and liked the staff, breakfast options and the kids play area.

Your comments come as a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and it's service and will continue to motivate us to do better.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and team Avista looks forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I booked a 5 night package (b/fast included) at the Avista through www.getawaylounge.com.au. I added 2 additional nights, and a 3rd person to the booking. (I was travelling with my mother and 14 yr old sister.) These details and costs were confirmed via email prior to departure. Airport transfers were also included.

On arrival to Phuket we were whisked away in a lovely vehicle to the hotel. We arrived late at night after a long flight, hot and tired. The lobby is spacious and modern with a tasteful water feature. Booking in was a nightmare. The man at the front desk insisted we were only booked for 5 nights despite my having email confirmation to the contrary - apparently the Avista head office is in Bangkok and they hadn't bothered to pass on our booking changes. So 20 minutes later they finally confirmed my booking, but acted really annoyed at having to put a cot-bed in our room for my sister, despite us booking a room with 2 beds. We had room 501, which we were told by staff (at least twice a day) has the best views in the hotel and we weren't disappointed. It's on a private corner of the hotel with spectacular views over Kata beach and back up the jungle to Big Buddha. Unfortunately we spent more time trying desperately to communicate with hotel staff than admiring the view...

Despite having three people in the room, we were consistantly given 2 towels, cups, etc. We had to constantly request additional water bottles EVERY DAY. They would only leave 2 small complimentary bottles a day, they didn't re-stock the water/drinks in the mini-bar at all and we were told (by staff) not to drink from the taps. It sounds like a small problem but in 35c heat we shouldn't have had to hassle the staff for drinking water and a towel for each guest! It got to the point where we went down to the local 7-Eleven and purchased 500BHT worth of water because we got sick of trying to get it from the hotel staff. Sounds ridiculous, but we were desperate.

During the checking-in debacle the man asked us twice what time we would like our room serviced each day. I said 11am as I assumed we would be out and about by then, and he said that was fine. The first 3 days we arrived back to our room mid-afternoon to find our room being serviced. So we would wait, outside our room in searing heat, for up to half an hour while they finished - only to be assured that the next day that it would be serviced on time. It never was.

As to the basics, the pool was lovely, the grounds are luscious and clean, the gym small but adequate and the "library" should probably just be called the computer room, as there's only about 20 English titles to choose from. (The other guests we met were predominantly from Eastern Europe.) The hill can be a problem after shopping and it get's expensive to Tuk Tuk all the time, so we walked as often as we could. The beach shuttle bus (run by Avista) is frustrating as you have to book a day in advance and it only has 14 seats for a hotel of more than 500 rooms.

The restaurant buffet breakfast was wonderful, but the dinners and room service were overpriced and nothing special. Go down the road to a local restaurant and risk the locals sketchy English - the food is a million times better and it's lots of fun.

At check out we were told we needed to leave the room by Noon, but could use the facilities until we left at 3pm and they would store our bags. So we lugged our bags downstairs only to be told the hotel wasn't busy, and we should take them back up until we left. But the hotel keys are on an automatic timer and we got locked out. So back down to reception, where they changed the keys. I went back up and it still didn't work. So I went back down and there was a different lady at reception who told me we should have checked out at noon, and weren't allowed in the room! AAAARGH! This went on for ages, and I left the Avista angry and frustrated.

The saving grace of the whole experience was a lady who I think is the "Office Manager". She's a young Eastern European (I think) lady who didn't wear a name tag but if not for her I would have packed up and left. She's an invaluable source of local information, speaks excellent English, is always happy to help when she can, and is genuinely concerned when you have a problem. It's a shame she wasn't there every day. Overall, the Avista is nice, but is not to the standard I expected. Ask for room 501. ;)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Dear Danielle S,

Thank you for your comments.

We are sorry to note that you did not find the service at Avista up to standards. We will surely investigate the issues mentioned about your reservation and lapse in service and put in corrective measures to ensure that such incidents are not repeated.

I do hope that you will stay with us again and allow us an opportunity to change your perception about Avista.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,089 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
791 reviews
9.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £70 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing