We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Super clean, great staff, very nice rooms and grounds. One thing to note: Get a room that does not face in the direction of the street that has all the bars/restaurants. The music carries from the street and was extremely loud. We asked to be moved the next day and they accommodated our request right away.

Room Tip: Get a room that is furthest away from the street .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smittydhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear smittydhc,

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday with us and liked the rooms, cleanliness, grounds and staff.

Your comments are a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and motivate us to continue to do better to maintain the high standards that our guests have come to expect from us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and team Avista looks forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,432
    681
    167
    41
    18
See reviews for
662
1,096
70
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We book in to this hotel after reading alot of highly recommended reviews.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were welcomed with cool towels and cold drinks. The check-in were good, and we were lead to our room.

We stayed at room 330 which is a grand deluxe room, The room is spacious with 2 beds for my family of 4. The bathroom is also spacious and the bathtub look clean.

Below are our comments:
Plus
+ power plugs are made using international standard pin holes, thus you do not need to use a plug adaptor.
+ bathroom amenities are good and sufficient
+ Kitchenette is well equip with utensiles
+ pools are lovely and big. Pools are not crowded and my kids have alot of fun

Minus
- my room got ants
- TV was not working well on my first night (I make a complaint the next day, and request for room change if they cannot fix the TV. Luckily, they were able to fix the TV problem)
- the water temperature from the shower head not good. It get very hot and then very cold. The water temperature were not constant. Something's wrong with the automatic water temperature controlling.
- housekeeping is not very up to standard for a 4 1/2 star hotel. I spotted dust and hair on the floor near the bathroom when I first step into my room. Also, they were not prompt to clear away the used utensiles and cutleries that were laying along the corridors (from other rooms that called for room services).
- for the promotion rate we got, we were given complimentary b/fast for 2 adults. It is of regret that the management did not practice flexibility to allow my children to have free b/fast. They want to charge the children 265THB/day per child, which I find it expensive and decline to pay for b/fast. For my children's b/fast, we have to buy from outside store.
- the hotel is situated on a hill, and the hill is quite steep. For older folks, the climb up and down will not be pleasant.
- because the hotel is on a steep hill, if you are to get a taxi from other part to Avista, the taxi driver will want to charge abit expensive (reason: uphill steep slope).
- along the hill, there are two make-shift taxi stands that belongs to mafia taxi. Thus, everytime, a vehicle drive in to the hotel front, they will come and question the driver who they are picking up from the hotel. This is causing uneasiness to us.
We almost had trouble with them. We booked a city tour with a tour agent, and the tour van was supposed to pick us up but they couldn't come as they were blocked by the mafia taxi for coming up. Later on, we heard from other taxi drivers, that we can only book with the mafia taxi for the city tour.if we are to stay at Avista.
- because of above problem with the pick-up, when we arranged for our transfer back to the airport, we had to go down the slope carrying our luggages and walk some distances far away from the hotel and the mafia taxi, so that our tour van can come and pick us up to the airport.

During our check-out, the receiption guy was kind to ask us to go for our b/fast while waiting for their house-keeper to check our room prior to preparing the official billing. One of my children came with us to the restaurant for b/fast. Since my husband was not planning to eat, my child ate on his behalf. As my husband was still in the restaurant (but he was standing), the waitress came and inform that the free b/fast were for 2, and pointing at my child that she need to be charged. I told her that my husband is not eating and my child is eating on his behalf.
If the restaurant is full, and the food are needed to cater to alot of guests, we do understand and will pay for the child. But the restuarant is not full, and there are so many buffet spread. We wonder if the management is rigid to the point that they even want to charge one child that is checking out? I guess the waitress is just doing her job.

Over all, Avista is a nice hotel, but something's missing. I don't know about other guests, but I feel so that this personal touch is not there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CheahLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear CheahLP,

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad to hear that you liked the welcome during check in, room amenities and the pools. We take your feedback regarding the houskeeping seriously and will work towards strengthening our processes.

The taxi issue mentioned by you is an unfortunate event faced by hotels across the island and all the hotels are working towards resolving the same.

With regards to the charges for breakfast, allow me to explain about the child policy. As a hotel we have a policy of not charging for any child till the age of 5 and we have also been very flexible in this allowing children even upto the age of 7 to have breakfast with compliments of the hotel. However, I am sure you will agree with me that children of the age of 9 & 11 fall way beyond this age group.

At Avista, all our guests are special and we make all efforts to ensure that everyone feels comfortable and enjoys their stay and holidays. However, I would like to apologise to you if you felt that the personal touch was missing.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We have stayed there 3-4 nights in mid November 2011.

Positive about this hotel:
- very friendly staff
- good service
- very nice hotel, modern and well decorated
- very nice room (ask for a room on upper floors with view swimming pool and on sea)
- great breakfast! lot of choice!
- free WIFI and one of the only hotels where WIFI speed was good!
- not far from shops/restaurants Kata Beach and Karon Beach

Negative about the hotel:
- there is a big upslope leading to the hotel (a bit steep, but hey, it's good to do some sport when we're on holidays) :-)
-

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

As part of our honeymoon, we decided to stop in Phuket for 5 days. We like to relax and do not like overcrowded places / noisy places so we decided to stay near Kata beach. It was a good decision as it is far away enough from Patong to enjoy some rest. The hotel was great, we received some welcome drinks on arrival and were given a room with a decent view. Pool was not overly crowded and it was great to be able to get food and drinks whilst sitting in the pool. Breakfast was average but there was enough choices. The worst part of th trip was not related to the hotel but to getting a taxi from the airport. We ended up getting a shared minibus as taxis were asking for 800 Thai Baht and we could not negotiate the price down as they are all working for the same company.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gremmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Gremmy,

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your honeymoon at the Avista and liked the welcome, view from the room and the pool.

Team Avista wishes you a very happy married life and hopes to see you spend your anniversaries with us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This resort is very private, set back from the main hustle and bustle, however, the location is perfect. Its quiet and allows you to fully appreciate the devie and beautiful land scaped gardens, pool and hotel grounds.
Of particular mention is the restaurant. Great food, wonderful variety and on Tues nights a clown comes along to occupy kids and kids at heart alike. the entertainment at the restaurant is also second to none.
I highly reccommend this hotel for anyone who wants luxury, entertainments, good food and good location in Phuket.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Merrin P,

Thank you for your excellent comments and recommending us.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay at Avista and liked the location, pools, food and the entertainment.

Your comments are a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and motivate us to continue to do better.

To enhance the experience of our guests, Avista will soon be adding a new feature by way of a rooftop bar overlooking the magnificient view of the Kata bay area from where the guests can enjoy the sunset and while sipping on their sundowners.

We look forward to welcome you again soon to enjoy this new facility.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

The rooms are clean, big and extremely comfortable. The staff are lovley could not have been more friendly and welcoming breakfast was amazing food was fresh well presented plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia5490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Georgia5490,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday with us and liked the rooms, staff and breakfast.

Your comments are a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and continue to motivate us to do better to meet high standards that our guests have come expect of us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Location, staff, food, rooms and amenities were all excellent. Pools are very nice also. Only 5min walk to the beach and shops. Staff very friendly and the hotel has lots of nice coves you can escape to.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Oliver S,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday at Avista and liked the location, staff, food, rooms and amenities.

To enhance the experiece of our guests, Avista will very soon be adding another feature by way of a rooftop bar overlooking the magnificient Kata bay. You can enjoy the sunset while sipping on the sundowners at this beautiful location.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotelopia, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing