We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great, very much caters to Russian package tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at Avista as part of our 10 night trip to Phuket. It was our third trip to Phuket and this was a R & R holiday for our wedding anniversary and "babymoon" so relaxation and pool/beach time was the key.

We stayed at another resort in Kata for 5 nights prior to this. Checked in at about midday to Avista.
We had booked a club room (there best room other than a suite) via their hotel website.

First impression - big attractive lobby, very busy with people checking out at that time of day. Got a welcome drink and promptly our passports/details were taken for the check in process.

Unfortunately, this was where the speedy check in ended.Now i know we were about 1.5 hrs early for check in time, but once our details etc had been taken we were left to sit in the lobby for an hour with no update as to when our room would be ready or if it was close to being ready. We would have been fine with waiting till 2pm had someone come and told us "your room wont be ready until the usual time", but as they had taken our details/done the formalities so fast we were under the impression our room was nearly ready. Also, while we sat there at least 5 lots of Russian package tourists arrived and were greeted and taken to their rooms almost immediately - which left us with the impression that this hotel very much catered to the Russian package tourist market and they were given preference. In the end we asked what was going on and they rang housekeeping to check then told us our room would be 15 more minutes.Fine, no worries. We then watched another couple start to be taken to their room with our bags! We had to chase the porter and get them back. Eventually after about 1 hr 20 of waiting we got into our room.

The rooms here are in 2 towers, we were in the back tower which involves taking a lift to level 2 from the lobby, then a short walk to the next tower, then a lift to the 5th floor.

We were in club room #519 which was on the top floor. I had requested an ocean view for our anniversary and they did a great job in allocating this, our view was fabulous. They had also decorated our bed for our anniversary which was really sweet. A cake was later left in our fridge and a complimentary bottle of champagne brought to our room (at 10.30pm at night which was a little odd with the timing!), which were lovely touches and made up a bit for our check in experience.

The room was nice, king bed, lounge, flat screen tv and dvd player, balcony with comfy chairs, nice bathroom. Some bits looking a little worn eg the coffee table had scratches all over it. Good lighting system with all the switches by the bed, very handy.Only one key so couldnt leave the aircon on when going out but it cooled down fast. We found there to be some corridor noise at night (just unlucky with drunk guests i think) but otherwise slept well. Bit of a funny smell in the corridors each afternoon (that Thai drain smell) tha seemed to linger. Water pressure and hot/cold in the shower a bit erratic. But the view was great and the balcony good for an arvo drink and to watch the sunset :) Free wireless in the room which we used with our laptop/smart phone, a good perk but it can be slow. Lots of english speaking tv channels/radio which was nice and great to have a dvd player too.

There are 2 pools at Avista, one up top and one on a level below, plus a small kids pool. The pool area/lounges are not big enough for the amount of guests at this resort. Im not sure if the resort was totally full but it was VERY busy, predominantly Russian clientele who dominated the sun lounges with their towels from the very early hours. If you want a lounge, put your towel down early. The resort seemed to be very popular with families and there were kids running around the pool alot. Be careful of the tiles by the pool as they are super slippery. There is a swim up bar in the top pool but we didnt use it so cant comment on service etc. The resort could definitely do with an extra pool and more lounges to cater for the amount of guests. We didnt manage to swim in the top pool at all as it was pretty busy all the time so we stuck to the smaller bottom pool which was very refreshing.

Breakfast spread here was great, heaps to choose from - cereals, egg station, eastern/western brekky, everything you could want really. The service at brekky is not the best, they are slow to come with the first coffee and we constantly had to ask for a refill rather than them offer it which they have at all the other places we have stayed at.

Gym here was really good, nice and cool with newish equipment and sound system, i used it pretty much every day we were there.

Staff - overall didnt really seem that happy to be there? Some we got the genuine smile and "sawadee ka" but others, particularly the brekky staff, just didnt seem to want to be there.Management i think is Russian rather than Thai.

Avista is located at the top of a steep hill above Kata centre (the northern end of Kata with Karon beach directly north and Kata beach south). Its about a 10 minute walk down the hill to the northern end of Kata Beach. About 5 mins walk down to the shops/bars of Kata centre, theres a couple of small minimarts down there, ATMS, laundry place etc.

The hill - yes its steep, but its only about 200 metres long. It gets the heartrate up but i was 23 weeks pregnant when i stayed here and i was fine doing it a couple of times a day. There are tuk tuks outside the resort if you cant be bothered with the walk. I didnt mind doing it a couple of times a day.

We found Kata centre to be lacking in restraunts so each night we were here we walked or tuk tukked back down to the southern end of Kata for dinner. Its about a 15-20 minute walk along the beach road or Kata road or 200 baht in a tuk tuk.We much prefer the southern end and would go back to staying down that way in the future.

I probably havent left a great impression of this resort. We found it good, but not "great". It is really busy and very much caters to the package tourist which is fine, but just a bit too overrun with people for our liking. Aswell i think there are better locations in Kata, being the southern end, as this was a bit out of the way for restaurants unless you dont mind a big walk or a tuk tuk ride. The brekky, gym and club room view are all top notch. The pool area,location and service let it down a bit for us.

We wouldnt return to Avista but would reccommend if you like the big, busy resort feel.

Room Tip: Pick a club room for an ocean view/sunset view. We had 519 and the view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heids24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,584 - 1,590 of 2,537 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just come here and spend a week. Sit all day by the pool and enjoy or venture out into the craziness and come back to your little sanctuary. My wife and I stay a week and didn't want to leave.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Tom Z,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

We are pleased to note you enjoyed your holiday with us and liked the peace and tranquility of the hotel. Your comments are a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and motivate us to continue to do better to meet the high expectations of our guests.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and all of us at Avista look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed here for two days. The service is very good, and hotel infrastructure is impressive. The pool is very comfortable, and breakfast outstanding. In addition, the hotel is very close to Kata beach (5 mins walking distance) and very close to Lucky Tom's, one of the best Thai food restaurant in Kata.

However, the internet speed of the hotel is incredibly slow!! And the shower water is too small. Also, for some reason the travel agency gives us an impression that the hotel has its private beach, which they don't. And the so-called sea-view hotel rooms can only see one tiny piece of the sea... So I would encourage you not to have this expectation when you book this hotel. It is a good hotel only if you have the right expectation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryantheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear ryantheleo,

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to note you liked the service, infrastructure, pool and breakfast and sorry to hear that your Travel Agent did not give you the right impression about the private beach.

Towards the end of this year we will be launching our new hotel which will have it's private beach club and we hope you will stay with us and enjoy the same excellent hospitality with the added facility of a beach club.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you to our new hotel.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I would like to thank you and my Girlfriend, if I may, through you, to thank all the staff and personnel at the Avista Phuket Resort & Spa for your superb hospitality and service during my stay in Phuket last week. This was my first visit to Thailand, and so I'd like to say a special thank you to the Staff for being such an outstanding ambassador for your City and Country!


Room was in absolutely outstanding shape cleanliness-wise. Excellent and comfortable bed. Good bathroom and amenities including excellent water pressure and outstanding shower head.

Hotel is very quiet; staff were extremely helpful the Front Office, F&B, and Housekeeping. The pool is worth a stay alone.


I hope to return to Phuket on Holidays, but, probably not until next year. Next time I shall certainly add a few extra days for leisure at the Hotel and bring my Girlfriend again to the wonderful hotel at Phuket

I shall of course book in again, if I may. It's the only place in town.
That very special atmosphere you all promote so gently, and so naturally, was much appreciated and makes all the difference.

Thank you. Thank everyone.

Paul Bryan Garcia

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YhanGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear YhanGarcia,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

We are pleased to note you and your girlfriend enjoyed your holiday and liked the room & amenities, pool and the friendliness of the staff.

Your comments are a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort facilities and services and encourage us to continue to do better to meet the high standards our guests have come to expect of Avista.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and all of us at Avista look forward to welcome you and your girlfriend back soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had a very nice 3-day stay here in late March. Hospitality is great, grounds are small but well-maintained. There was some very slight wear and tear (curtain had a light brown spot at end and shower had one darker spot that may soon develop into mold), and from our room we could hear partying from somewhere near town late in the evenings. We didn't need to use public transportation very often, but when we did, we found the taxi hounds right outside of the hotel to be both obnoxious and outrageous in their requests. For example, they quoted us one rate when we asked about rates to the airport, but when we came back an hour later with our bags, ready to go, they said the prices had changed and upped the rate by 200 THB. On another occasion we found the quoted rate was at least 3 times more than what other taxis just halfway down the hill were charging. Had I not stayed in other Phuket properties during this vacation where the hospitality/accommodations were of similar/better quality, I'd likely stay here again. As it is, though, next time I visit Phuket I'll likely choose a location/property where I won't have to deal with these unpleasant interactions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbacusBabacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear AbacusBabacus,

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to hear that you liked the hotel facilities and services and sorry to hear that you had to face difficulties at the Taxi stand outside the hotel. I am sure you are aware that this problem is prevalent across the island and all the hotels unfortunately face this issue.

We are working with the government authorities to find a solution to the problem and hope this will be resolved soon.

It was pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that by the next time you trael to Phuket and Avista the taxi problem will be resolved.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Me and my husband was checking for wonderful hotels here in Phuket and we came across this hotel and though "let's give it a shot". We arrived at the hotel 2 hours early from the check-in time which was supposed to be at 2pm. the heat was scorching, we were welcomed by smiling faces at the lobby with cold towels, fruit juice and flowers(nice start). We were lucky to have our room right away, we booked for the Avista club, i was overwhelmed when i saw the glorious view of the sea, the room itself was very vibrant, neat, and they even prepared for us the beautiful bed decoration with roses, it was just the right thing for me and my husband, we were also surprised that we had a bottle of wine. this hotel also offers a few perks like free wifi access, they have a free shuttle bus in going to kata and patong beach, free beach towels. Breakfast was satisfactory, not bad but not good either. it was just fine but that didn't matter cause the facilities were perfect, the pool area was glorious. This hotel made our stay as comfortable and enjoyable, just like what we wanted. They even booked for us our trips to phiphi and the other water sports. but the best part of this hotel are the staff. they are all very accomodating, always willing to help and are very sincere, i would definitely recommend this to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abegail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Abegail A,

Thank you for excellent comments and recommending us.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday with us and liked the welcome, rooms, pool area and the friendliness of the staff.

Your comments are a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and services and encourage us to continue to do better to meet the high standards our guests have come to expect of us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and all of us at Avista look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Lovely rooms quite modern and well equipt
The pool area was not all that large at times there were too many people trying to get not enough seating
Restaurant was good quality
Steep walk from town area but good to walk off the days eating and drinking
Staff were generally good and helpful

Room Tip: Suites were good value Short walk from Kata Centre but if your carrying too much take a taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAvistaResortAndSpa, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear ChrisM32,

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday with Avista and liked the rooms, restaurant and the friendliness of the staff.

Having received some feedback about lack of space around the pool we have created some more space on the restaurant terrace for our guests to enjoy the sun after a swim. It is not far from the pools and the staff serves the area just like around the pools.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and all of us at Avista look forward to welcome you soon again.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
770 reviews
9.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £61 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing