We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent 5 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed our time there.
We stayed in a Grand Deluxe room with our two children. The room was modern, clean and very comfortable. Even though we were sharing a room with our children, the room felt spacious and had plenty of room for all of our luggage.
This hotel has two buildings and ours was in the second building. This meant you had to take two different lifts to get to the room. We opted to use the paths and stairs to get to our room as this was much quicker. When booking, ask for a room with a view of the pool. We didnt, and our balcony had a view of a stairwell and a service area of the hotel next door. This wasnt a big issue for us because we didnt spend any time out on the balcony, but if you wanted to relax and have a drink on the balcony it wouldnt have been ideal. Our room was also a bit further away from the pool areas than I would have liked, but this wasn't a big deal.
As many have mentioned, the hotel is a the top of a small hill so if you are unfit or have mobility issues, this may not be the hotel for you. We personally found the location great and the short uphill walk was not an issue. The hotel is close to shopping areas, restaurants and the beach. The hotel does offer a free shuttle bus that goes to Kata beach. We did not use this facility as we were happy to take the short walk there. We walked right to the far southern end of Kata Beach one day and it only took about half an hour. There are plenty of beach chairs and water sport opportunities and the north end of Kata beach, which is the closest to the hotel, and this is only about a 5 minute walk away.
The staff at this hotel were very helpful. After out first night there we noticed lots of small bugs in the room and a rattling noise coming from the balcony doors. On inspection I noticed that the seal around the glass pain had come away from the door frame. I rang reception and they had a team of people there to replace the seal very quickly, which I was very impressed by.
The buffet breakfast was great. Plenty to choose from and very helpful staff.
Only a couple of downsides to this hotel. Firstly the restaurant and pool areas both have loud dance/pop music playing all this time. I would have preferred to been able to hear the natural sounds of the beach and cicadas as this would have been more relaxing. Also, there is not enough lounge chairs around the pool area and so you often missed out on getting one.
To sum up, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The facilities at the hotel are well maintained and clean. Staff were great and I would recommend this hotel. We booked directly through the hotel using a TripAdvisor discount code and got a very good price on the room (cheaper than I could find on any other website). We felt the amount we paid was very good value for the service provided by this hotel.

I will mention the taxi "mafia" outside of this hotel. Please note that this is not a reflection on this hotel, as it is not something they control and they did provide us with a letter explaining that they are trying to do something about the issue.
The taxis outside this hotel are expensive in comparison to ones you can pick up off the street in other areas. They will also intimidate other local drivers. We used two different tour companies who were afraid to come to this hotel to pick us up and arranged to meet us at Kata beach instead. One of the drivers explained that they had previously been followed by the taxi "mafia" and threatened by them.
We did use the taxi service outside the hotel on one occasion. Although more expensive, the driver we had was lovely, spoke very good English and was happy to chat to us about local areas.
As I said, this issue is not a reflection on the hotel but is worth knowing if you stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarser79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear sarser79,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others and complimenting our team member’s hospitality and our resort’s facilities. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team members.

It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,490
    702
    176
    45
    24
See reviews for
702
1,128
72
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Excellent excellent hotel ... I was there for my honeymoon and me and my wife had a blast ... Room was clean comfy with a sea view ...kata is perfect for chilaxing at the beach ... Wonderful wonderful staff and the pool bar was amazing...;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarikdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Tarikdia,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our services, your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our teams, who have left you with fond memories of the place. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have travelled extensively in South East Asia and this is the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. Better than the Shangri la and Sheraton in Bangkok and the Sofitel at Hua Hin. This hotel is absolutely amazing. One of the main reasons for this is the staff. The staff are genuinely caring and friendly and they are excellent at their job. I must mention the reception staff, Abegail Rhylle, Angelique, Mon and Piu. I also must mention the night manager Mr Oh. I cannot rate the staff highly enough. They will make your holiday. The rooms were large and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was extensive and the food from room service was of a very high quality. We also visited the Thai rooftop restaurant which was excellent. The hill was steep but it was a challenge each evening . The Tuk Tuk service outside the hotel was the same price as elsewhere. I can find nothing to fault this hotel and I will most certainly come back. This is something I would not normally do. The resort of Kata is lovely. Do visit the Ska bar and go tonthe other end of the beach. Lots of good restaurants. Friends who were there said that the restaurant Sugar and Spice and the Cafe Opera were very good. We went to the Reggae Bar on Karon Hill to watch the sunset and have dinner. It was lovely. Do also take a boat to Freedom Beach it is really beautiful. Our party of 8 had the most wonderful holiday. Thank you Avista.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Thelma3,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others and complimenting our team member’s hospitality and our resort’s facilities. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place.

It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent 8 days here in an Avista club room. First impressions of the hotel were very good. Staff were very helpful and the facilities were great. The pools are small but never felt crowded and had a nice atmosphere. The only time the hotel felt busy was at the restaurant for breakfast. Our room was lovely it was on the 4th floor and had a very limited view of the sea. The amenities in the room were great and had everything you could need. A few people have mentioned the shower temperature and this was the only issue we had. On our last day we did have access to a Grand Deluxe room to freshen up as our flight was in the evening and if you can i would recommend upgrading to the Avista club. The Grand deluxe rooms were larger ideal for families but in my opinion not as nice.

The hill wasn't a problem for us but is steep i wouldn't recommend this property for people with walking difficulties. This resort is ideal for families or couples but i would probably say that for the whole of Kata. After 11pm Kata is very quiet and we did struggle to find somewhere with an atmosphere, so did go out to Karon and Patong a few nights. I would stay in Kata again though.

With regards to the taxis outside. I personally think Phuket as a whole do over charge compared to other places we visited in Thailand, for example we paid 75 baht for a 45 minute taxi journey in Bangkok whereas Phuket its a flat rate and you would expect to pay closer to 800 baht for a similar journey. We did manage to haggle the price down once but most of the time they wouldn't budge. I wouldn't be discouraged from staying at this hotel just because of the taxis though.

Loved the hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear kdgb,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service.
Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you regarding to water pressure problem. We would like to assure you that we have shared the same with the Chief Engineer, who has initiated corrective action.

We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all. It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to Avista

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, and Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We loved it here, and my parents joined us there and they loved the service and atmosphere here. It is has been designed well and the pools are really good. The babysitter is from the kids club and her English is perfect and she was so good with our son we were really impressed.
We booked direct and got the great deal with mini bar drinks included. We booked a Grand deluxe but we then upgraded up to the Club room when we got there as it suited us better.
It is in a great location and the staff are really helpful. We used the spa a lot for massage as it has great deals in the morning and a discount card. We had the traditional Thai dinner on the rooftop and it is a beautiful experience. I highly recommend. They have pool side thai traditional massages for 500 baht but I didn't try them.
We had a few issues. Our main issue was lack of shuttles to the beach at good times, they leave at bad times and there are only a couple so I don't think we would stay again until our child is much older. It is a really steep big hill. The best seats in the restaurant overlooking the pool are for smokers, so we could never sit in a nice part of the restaurant. There are also few happy hours, so everyone waits until its on, kind of weird. Also Germans saved seats by the pool for hours and hours and their friends never turned up. Not nice. They also took all the seats near the kids pool, really bad form.The beach is really close by to the right and there are some really delicious little cheap restaurants across the rd to the right at the bottom of the hill.

Room Tip: If you are used to travelling 5 star the Club rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiam973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear fiam973,
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our hotel facilities and our services. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place.

Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you regarding the sun bed ,we would like to inform that we have placed tent cards on the pool tables informing the standard policy of the resort, that we request the guest not to reserve swimming pool deck beds with towels or other belongings, to avoid inconvenience to other guests.

We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We visited the hotel the last week in March. I was very impressed with the room we had. 5th floor overlooking the pool and seeing further out to the sea. The room was lovely and big and the balcony was perfect for sunset. We got the package with 2 free soft drinks and beers every day, some days these were not topped up but with a simple call it was resolved.
The hotel staff were very friendly and eager to help you wherever possible. the ladies on the travel desk were very informative and helpful. The hotel food was good, breakfast had a decent choice, the thai food at lunch was nice and we had one night dinner at the hotel with thai dancers which was lovely.
The pool areas aren't huge if the hotel was very busy and a lot of the sun loungers are in the shade (which was nice in the March heat) but found ourselves moving around a lot.
The location is perfect for kata and Karon beaches with a 5-10 min walk to kata. The hotel is on a steep hill, it is steep but walkable for most people even in the blazing heat! But there are lots of taxis Etc to take you up, we walked mostly. There are lots of good restaurants around kata and Karon.
Overall a lovely hotel which would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjs882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Cjs882014,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and our service. We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stay at Avista for 7 nights on our second trip to phuket. The staff were really friendly and helpful and facilities were great. Fantastic pool for the kids. Only have 2 complaints the first was the shower water temperature which kept fluctuating from warm to boiling hot which was not really a major problem but just annoying. The second issue and the reason why we will never stay there again was the taxi mafia at the front of the hotel. We were aware of this when we booked but I thought that just means we would need to walk to the bottom of the road to get a taxi. Unfortunately many of the operators also could not pick up at our hotel so caused lots of challenges. Even worse most of the taxi operators could not even drop us off at the hotel......again had to walk from the bottom of the road. It is really unfortunate for the hotel and we chose to stay here despite knowing about the issues but after experiencing it I would definitely not be staying here while the mafia are in place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingThommos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,026 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
22.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing