We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, good service, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, good service, good value for money”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel, as part of a week long vacation in Thailand. Our room was a large, grand deluxe one with two queen sized beds, and the hotel was accommodating enough to add on an extra bed for my child.
There was no view from my room, though the hotel did inform us that all the large rooms with views were occupied. The service was good all throughout our stay, though the hotel seemed strangely reluctant to provide adequate quantities of tea/coffee/sugar/water, and instead doled them out in small quantities, causing us to have to repeatedly call housekeeping for more. I noticed this too at other hotels that we stayed at, as a part of this trip. I wonder if its a trait of Thai hotels?
The food was pretty good, especially the breakfast spread. In room food quality and service were good too, and pretty prompt.
The pools were awesome, well maintained and well staffed. The swim up bar served some cool cocktails and mocktails, though the bartender could do with a smile once in a while instead of appearing grumpy/surly all the time. I used the gym, which, though small, was well equipped - but not maintained well. I had to fix a piece of equipment myself when, after 24 hours, nothing had been done about it.
The taxi service was good, but not perfect. At one time, while we were walking back from the beach exhausted from the intense heat, the hotel's pick up shuttle service sped past us, ignoring us, despite our shouts and hand waving gestures. At other times, they were good, well mannered, informative and helpful.
While checking out, the hotel refused to accept USD currency (!!) - a big jolt/blow for us. Surely this is the first hotel in Thailand - indeed, anywhere worldwide - that has this policy. They had large currency conversion signs, and no mention anywhere of not accepting US currency, yet they inconvenienced us this way.
Overall, a pleasant experience - not the best, but good enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunalashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear kunalashar,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback.

Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We would like to assure you that we have shared the same with our concerned team members who have initiated corrective action.

We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all. It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to Avista

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, and Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,524
    712
    182
    46
    25
See reviews for
723
1,147
72
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent 10 nights at The Avista Spa earlier this month. It is a beautiful, serene hotel and much more compact than photos suggest. Upon our arrival there was some confusion regarding our booking which resulted in 24 hours in a temporary room until the hotel rectified their mistake, however, once this was rectified our stay was fantastic. The room, staff and amenities were super. The main pool is glorious late afternoon! We had theThai Kantoke banquet evening (Fridays) and the food was amazing. Breakfast is of an excellent standard with lots of choice. The hotel is in a great location for Kata and the beach and tuk-tuks to nearby towns etc are readily available and good fun. The hotel runs a complimentary shuttle bus to Patong which is well worth a visit to the evening markets. A huge thank you to Pui at the Avista for her excellent customer service and to all the staff who always greet with a smile.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family (especially an older child) opt for a room with 2 double beds the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear S M,
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service.
Once again thank you for your compliment as my team and I stay committed to deliver to our guests’ satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in two Grand Deluxe rooms for four nights - the rooms were non-smoking and interconnected which was great as our kids had a queen sized bed each. The rooms were modern, clean and very large - there was a nice view from the balcony overlooking Kata town (530) and the beach (531). The housekeeping was very good with a quick turn around. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was a comprehensive buffet with a good range of food and happy Thai chef at the egg station. Overall, this is a great hotel at a reasonable price - the only downside is the walk up the hill which may be a problem if you have health issues and the noisy Russians up to all hours partying.

Room Tip: Rooms 531 to 535 as all would have a view of Kata and the beach - don't stay in room 529 as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear john555,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others and complimenting our team member’s hospitality and our resort’s facilities. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team members.

It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

First of all I would love to mention
We stayed at Avista around 7 nichts during our yearly travel through Thailand...The Hotel looks awesome in Pics...with the time the amenities,furniture and Buildings need some manteinance to still offering a great Resort stay ...We Bad problems with our room...the Sofa was dirty the noise around is quite strong if you are at the 2nd floor and you want to relax some of the electricity plugers didnt work,so we reported to the Front desk..Abi did a great job and after these unlucky situations with the room we got another room at the 3rd floor...the housekeeping good the welcome refreshing drink typical for Thailand and the information at arrive perfect...Abegail was our directly contact at the Front desk..and the second on Bord was Rhylle..When Abi was not there...this feeling they are taking care of the Guests and their necessities is a great feeling Ehen you are having some disturbing situations with the amenities..The Breakfast Buffet is OK if you dont want to eat like in Asia..and you still need this Western ingredients...but everyday the same was a little bit monotone..wie suggested some things and they are improving ..the Barbecue Nicht was not good..the Seafood was cleaned correctly and that with seafood Luke calamars and octopus can be dangerous for the health and can produce allergy or any Kind of stomach infection...so we Werke dissapointed and they offered us a Thai Dinner...People you have to try it ..Thai Terrace with original Thai from Ayutthaya Sukothai and North of Thailand...it was deliciousssss...Dont Miss it !!!there our lovely Thai Staffel from Restaurant like "Aor & Annie" awesomeee awesome awesome

Pool area looks big at the pics..is not but gold..spa area small but good ..
the Hill Problem ..is not so Bad...
the most important Names during our Holidays at Avista to provide you with enough information about this Resort FRONT DESK "Abegail & Rhylle" ,RESTAURANT BREAKFAST AND THAI DINNER AREA " Aor & Annie" and MANAGEMENT "Mr.Mazumdar"...

We habe been in many Hotels in Thailand.. From 1 star to 5 stars
...if you want to spend a calm and relaxing holidays in Phuket without the noise and Party mood of Patong or You dont want to walk a lot to find a nice place to eat..Book Avista...The staff of this Resorts will provide you with a warm welcome smile and if you habe Problems with something during your stay the will do anything to male you feel happy...We will Cole back Here for sure Nest year...

From Airport to Avista is like 45 to 65 minutes with the taxi...

The Taxis in Front of Avista..is not a Mafia...its the normal way the taxi unions work in Phuket....

The Room service and Food a la carte is really yummy....try the pizzas !!!!

If you want to take a trip to Phi Phi Island and James Bond Island..they have Nest to Front desk the Travel Desk...with good offers....really good ones...

The Pool is clean and the Smoke area is good reserve to not disturb others...

I wish they will give a Better manteinance to the amenities..and I wish you all of you a great time in Phuket..You wont regret it...

Avista Team thank you for saved our holidays...we will See US again

Best from Switzerland
thank you Abi,Rhylle,Aor,Annie,Angelique,Mrs Mazumbar.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carlamase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Carlamase,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service.
Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We would like to assure you that we have shared the same with our concerned team members who have initiated corrective action.

We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all. It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to Avista

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, and Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent 5 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed our time there.
We stayed in a Grand Deluxe room with our two children. The room was modern, clean and very comfortable. Even though we were sharing a room with our children, the room felt spacious and had plenty of room for all of our luggage.
This hotel has two buildings and ours was in the second building. This meant you had to take two different lifts to get to the room. We opted to use the paths and stairs to get to our room as this was much quicker. When booking, ask for a room with a view of the pool. We didnt, and our balcony had a view of a stairwell and a service area of the hotel next door. This wasnt a big issue for us because we didnt spend any time out on the balcony, but if you wanted to relax and have a drink on the balcony it wouldnt have been ideal. Our room was also a bit further away from the pool areas than I would have liked, but this wasn't a big deal.
As many have mentioned, the hotel is a the top of a small hill so if you are unfit or have mobility issues, this may not be the hotel for you. We personally found the location great and the short uphill walk was not an issue. The hotel is close to shopping areas, restaurants and the beach. The hotel does offer a free shuttle bus that goes to Kata beach. We did not use this facility as we were happy to take the short walk there. We walked right to the far southern end of Kata Beach one day and it only took about half an hour. There are plenty of beach chairs and water sport opportunities and the north end of Kata beach, which is the closest to the hotel, and this is only about a 5 minute walk away.
The staff at this hotel were very helpful. After out first night there we noticed lots of small bugs in the room and a rattling noise coming from the balcony doors. On inspection I noticed that the seal around the glass pain had come away from the door frame. I rang reception and they had a team of people there to replace the seal very quickly, which I was very impressed by.
The buffet breakfast was great. Plenty to choose from and very helpful staff.
Only a couple of downsides to this hotel. Firstly the restaurant and pool areas both have loud dance/pop music playing all this time. I would have preferred to been able to hear the natural sounds of the beach and cicadas as this would have been more relaxing. Also, there is not enough lounge chairs around the pool area and so you often missed out on getting one.
To sum up, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The facilities at the hotel are well maintained and clean. Staff were great and I would recommend this hotel. We booked directly through the hotel using a TripAdvisor discount code and got a very good price on the room (cheaper than I could find on any other website). We felt the amount we paid was very good value for the service provided by this hotel.

I will mention the taxi "mafia" outside of this hotel. Please note that this is not a reflection on this hotel, as it is not something they control and they did provide us with a letter explaining that they are trying to do something about the issue.
The taxis outside this hotel are expensive in comparison to ones you can pick up off the street in other areas. They will also intimidate other local drivers. We used two different tour companies who were afraid to come to this hotel to pick us up and arranged to meet us at Kata beach instead. One of the drivers explained that they had previously been followed by the taxi "mafia" and threatened by them.
We did use the taxi service outside the hotel on one occasion. Although more expensive, the driver we had was lovely, spoke very good English and was happy to chat to us about local areas.
As I said, this issue is not a reflection on the hotel but is worth knowing if you stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarser79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear sarser79,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others and complimenting our team member’s hospitality and our resort’s facilities. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team members.

It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Excellent excellent hotel ... I was there for my honeymoon and me and my wife had a blast ... Room was clean comfy with a sea view ...kata is perfect for chilaxing at the beach ... Wonderful wonderful staff and the pool bar was amazing...;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarikdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Tarikdia,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our services, your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our teams, who have left you with fond memories of the place. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have travelled extensively in South East Asia and this is the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. Better than the Shangri la and Sheraton in Bangkok and the Sofitel at Hua Hin. This hotel is absolutely amazing. One of the main reasons for this is the staff. The staff are genuinely caring and friendly and they are excellent at their job. I must mention the reception staff, Abegail Rhylle, Angelique, Mon and Piu. I also must mention the night manager Mr Oh. I cannot rate the staff highly enough. They will make your holiday. The rooms were large and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was extensive and the food from room service was of a very high quality. We also visited the Thai rooftop restaurant which was excellent. The hill was steep but it was a challenge each evening . The Tuk Tuk service outside the hotel was the same price as elsewhere. I can find nothing to fault this hotel and I will most certainly come back. This is something I would not normally do. The resort of Kata is lovely. Do visit the Ska bar and go tonthe other end of the beach. Lots of good restaurants. Friends who were there said that the restaurant Sugar and Spice and the Cafe Opera were very good. We went to the Reggae Bar on Karon Hill to watch the sunset and have dinner. It was lovely. Do also take a boat to Freedom Beach it is really beautiful. Our party of 8 had the most wonderful holiday. Thank you Avista.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Thelma3,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others and complimenting our team member’s hospitality and our resort’s facilities. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place.

It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,083 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
742 reviews
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Property: Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing