We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Services by staff but poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Located on a steep hill and not so convenience for those who loves to patronise the beach. Walking distance to the DIno park and lots of restaurants about 20 minutes. Friendly an attentive staff trying to accomodate you to ensure your stay there is memorable. Facilities..Small Gym, two swimming pool, library and Spa. The family rooms are spacious and with a balcony but it is located quite far as we have to change lifts to the other block. Breakfast with a wide spread of Asian, Thai and western cuisines. I would recommend to rent a small car to travel around Kata town and to those fabulous Hill side cafes. Check out the Elephant santuary nearby for Elephant trekking. Their shuttle service does not offer transfer down hill even if they are passing by the way to Patong or other places. Avista Resort is for those who really want to enjoy a secluded spot minus the beach or shopping. On our first day, they have a power failure at night which lasted 3 hours and boy it was tough to sleep without Ac that night.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the pool on a higher floor and not the hill/sea view as you probably cant see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronwjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just had a great stay in a Deluxe room at Avista. The Resort grounds and rooms are immaculately maintained and the staff can't do enough for you. Special mention goes out to Pui in the Reception Tour Desk and Mimi, Kim & Janus in the restaurant. Really enjoyed the buffet breakfast with a great spread of both local and western food and the chef makes fresh omelettes and eggs any way you like. The resort is located just far enough from the noise but close enough to the beach and shopping areas/restaurants. The Resort also provides courtesy mini bus trips for those that don't want to walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Steve H,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and our service. We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all. It has been our joy and privilege to serve you.

Once again thank you for your compliment as my team and I stay committed to deliver to our guests satisfaction. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We are glad that we have chosen Avista with cheerful and friendly staff from the front office to the restaurant. The service we experienced is indeed excellent and surely make us feel very comfortable. The room and the toilet is spacious and the bed is very comfortable. The breakfast has a good spread of Western and Asian food. The only improvement they need at Avista is the gym. It is rather too small with all the equipment jam pack and don't have much space to move around. For the elderly, do take note there is a small hill to climb to reach the hotel but it is worth the sweat and also good for a little workout. The beach is a ten minutes walk away and they do provide a shuttle run to the beach as well. They also have a shuttle service to the hot spot and shopping area in Patong. Just around the corner from this hotel are plenty restaurants and shops It sure give me a lasting impression of a good place to holiday.

Room Tip: Room with a good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfred f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear alfred f,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and we are extremely delighted to know that we met your expectations. We would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience with others. Your positive comments about the hotel facilities will motivate us in delivering services to our best. We thank you for sharing your feedback with all and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort!
Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We are, unfortunately, coming to the end of our 10 day stay at Avista Resort and Spa at Kata Beach and could not wait to post our review of the excellent time we have spent here! The Avista has met and exceeded all our expectations in terms of its fine accommodation, excellent facilities and pleasant staff and excellent service.

We are thrilled with our very spacious and well appointed suite with balcony overlooking the resort's lush gardens. Facilities include a king size bed as well as a queen size, spacious cupboard facilities, beautifully appointed bathroom with twin basins, shower and bath, as well as a handy kitchen facility with microwave, sizeable fridge and crockery. Multiple electric plug points are scattered around the room and a pleasing feature is a large flat screen wall mounted tv with a choice of 30 channels, at least 10 of which are in English.

We have thoroughly enjoyed the lounging areas around the 3 pools as well as the comfortable, spacious restaurant which offers outstanding five star breakfasts and other meals every day. But it is the courteous, pleasant and always smiling staff that make Avista such a good choice for your Kata vacation. From the reception staff through to those serving in the restaurant as well as the housekeeping team, everyone treats one like a VIP.

Avista offers it's guests a free shuttle service to the beach twice a day as well as to Patong, a 15 minute drive away.

The only disadvantage is the hotel's location at the top of the famous steep hill, which may be problematic for the aged or infirm, but is not a significant challenge for the average person.

A truly delightful and economical choice, and we will certainly return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grabev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Grabev,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback and complimenting the resort facilities and the service extended to you. We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times.
Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 night's and it was one of the memorable stay Avista staff made thank you, from room to swimming pool and the pool bar and the breakfast all great. All of the above great staff which I didn't found any where else I stayed at Key Resort as well but staff was soon rude but here staff made our trip more beautiful and remarkable. We will go again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Jenny m,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation about the hotel facilities and we are happy to know that our staff has left you with fond memories of the place. Your kind words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team and our staff at the resort remains committed to make moments special and memorable for our esteemed guests.
We would look forward to welcoming you on your next holiday with us.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I'm not going to repeat the good things about Avista, previous reviews say it all: excellent value for money, friendly staff, spacious room and etc.

Before we arrived I was a bit concerned about the taxi mafia mentioned in many reviews. I was under the impression that they are aggressive and rude. The fact is, they didn't bother us at all. Surely Phuket taxi is expensive, but at least the mafia outside Avista doesn't charge any more than the ones on the street. We used their service a couple of times and both drivers are genuinely friendly. And if you don't want their service, simply smile and say no, they will leave you alone, this also works for the massage, suits and time share people. The mafia problem needs to be fixed by the government, but before that it shouldn't put you off for staying at Avista.

In the end I would like to mention a few minor problems:

Some wooden furnitures in the room are chipped quite badly and make the room look worn.

The music played at the pool bar are not the relaxing type but disco-like.

Gym needs better ventilation and perhaps air freshener; been there a couple of times and the smell is very unpleasant.

Spa is good but still doesn't justify it's high price.

Overall Avista is a great place to stay in Kata and we will definitely return in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rayray0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Rayray0103,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and for appreciating our staff members. We would like to assure you that your much detailed feedback has been acknowledged and discussed with our team members to initiate corrective measures. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The greeting from Nest was such a beautiful experience with a fresh cold juice and a cold face towel. The staff here are amazing and make the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel. My wife and I spent 10 beautiful nights here and would strongly recommend it to anybody. Our room was fantastic and kept spotless by the friendly staff. The pools are awesome and the breakfast is great. In our opinion Kata is the most ideal place to stay in Phuket. The beach is lovely, most of the restaurants are great and the night life is entertaining. The massage centre at the bottom of the hill is amazing. Make sure you try their fish spa. Free internet all over the resort was also great. The famous hill is steep but short so doesn't create much of a problem. If you have a holiday booked at Avista then get excited because you will love it.

Room Tip: We had a grand deluxe room which had a King and Queen size bed. The beds were the most comfortable h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Steve c,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service. We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all. It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to our resort.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,088 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
791 reviews
9.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £70 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travelbag, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing