We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
OneLoft Hotel(Karon Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Must Sea Hotel(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Capriccio Inn(Kata Beach)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,683)
Filter reviews
2,683 results
Traveller rating
1,647
759
194
54
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,647
759
194
54
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillclub roomgames roompool bartuk tukwalk upfree shuttlebuffet breakfastkids clubhotel is situatedwelcome drinkshuttle servicedvd playeramazing hotelnice resortspent nightsour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
948 - 953 of 2,683 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here in February 2014 and greatly enjoyed it. The property is beautiful, the price when we stayed was one of the most competitive in the area, very good guest services (including a free packed lunch when we went out on a day trip because we missed breakfast), friendly staff, very good spa. However, wifi was spotty and would often randomly cut out for hours at a time. This was not an ISP issue, but was rather related to the router itself not responding. Also issues with people "claiming" the limited spots by the pool by placing towels on the chairs at 6am and then never actually sitting there until 4pm. This seems to be some sort of cultural thing done by the Russian guests. We would generally just remove the towels if no one was there for over an hour, but it would be nice if the hotel had an official policy against this and was proactive about it. It was ridiculous seeing every chair by the pool having a towel or other stuff on it by 10am, with almost no one actually using the pool or the chairs until 6 hr later. Food at the hotel was OK, but you could get better quality for a cheaper price a 5min walk away. The hill to the hotel is steep, but was not an issue at all for us (both in our late 20s). Would likely be next to impossible for those with mobility issues. Use google streetview to get a sense of how steep it is.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cnido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear cnido,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service.

We would like to assure you that your much detailed feedback has been acknowledged and discussed with our team members to initiate corrective measures. Your feedback and observations about the resort has given us an understanding of the requirement for infrastructural needs and trainings.

Your feedback has given us valuable insights which will help us implement processes to ensure that we deliver a true “Avista Holiday Experience”. We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Everything is clean, modern and luxurious! I was impressed by how well thought out the hotel is and how everything I needed was in the room.

Great pools and a lot of fun! I enjoyed swimming up to the pool bar. Great atmosphere and the hotel staff are incredibly nice, even got us popcorn when we said we wanted a night in to watch a movie.

The hotel isnt incredibly close to the beach, about 10 minutes walk. The hotel is up a hill so its better to get a taxi or tuktuk to go to the beach as the hill is quite steep. Very much enjoyed my stay. Only problem I had was that I didn't want to leave.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lisjasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Lisjasmine,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and we are extremely delighted to know that we met your expectations. We would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience with others. Your positive comments about the hotel facilities and our service will motivate us in delivering services to our best and we have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members.

It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to Avista.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Went on a 7 day holiday to relax. This is about 15 minutes away from the busy hustle and bustle of Patong, so if you're looking for action this is not the place for you. But if you want to relax, and just go with the flow this is the perfect spot. The rooms are modern, spacious, and clean. There was a towel, shaped in an elephant with rose petals on the bed to welcome me on my first night. The buffet breakfast was ok. If you are staying there for an extended period like I did, it gets old after awhile. Everyone at the resort spoke English, so that was good since I was traveling on my own and didn't know Thai. The resort isn't on the beach, like how I was expecting from the description. It's actually on a steep hill, but only a 5 minute walk down to the beach. There's shuttles to take you from the hotel to the beach if you don't want to walk. It's close proximity to Kata town center, so near the shops, restaurants, currency exchange, and even a Starbucks. The staff is excellent. They welcome you with a drink and a refreshing towel. I rented a car and explored Phuket on my own, but there's a line of taxi's waiting outside the hotel so transportation isn't an issue. The travel concierge desk helped arranged my car rental, and the company actually delivered the car to my hotel. But you can also arrange all and every kind of activity you want through the travel concierge desk.

Room Tip: Make use of the travel concierge desk. They will help you plan everything and anything you want to do and provide you with brochures and maps!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Arnold V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear arnold v,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and we are extremely delighted to know that we met your expectations. We would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience with others. Your positive comments about our service will motivate us in delivering services to our best and we have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team member.

We have made a note of your feedback regarding the breakfast with our Executive Chef, who has reviewed and done the necessary changes.

It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to Avista.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Went with my partner to Thailand in the middle of a long holiday to relax. This was the perfect resort to stay in.

Our first room was very noisy as we were right under all the aircon units. We requested a room change and there was no hesitation from the staff.
We ended up extending our stay 4 days and the staff didn't get the notification. Our room key didn't work but a quick fix later we were back in the room with a free dinner!

The room was immaculately clean every day. The staff are extremely friendly and the breakfast was fantastic. The resort was fully booked however the staff remembered how we liked our eggs in the morning.

The only downside was that some people reserved their spots by the pool at about 5am! Doesn't matter because there's a lovely beach down the road.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aplacetocrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear aplacetocrash,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and our service. We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all. It has been our joy and privilege to serve you.

Once again thank you for your compliment as my team and I stay committed to deliver to our guests satisfaction. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

On our fifth trip to Phuket, we were so happy we decided to try a different resort in our preferred area of Kata. The Avista Phuket Resort and Spa exceeded expectations in all areas. Yes, it is located at the top of a short, but rather steep hill, but that is of little issue - we all need to do a bit of exercise to walk off those cocktails by the pool!

From the moment we arrived at the resort to a very friendly welcome, to the beautiful presentation of our room, wonderful and spacious pool area and superb buffet breakfasts, we can't speak highly enough of the Avista.

The attention to small details, eagerness of the staff to assist, friendly and genuine greetings and wonderful breakfasts and dining options (at very reasonable prices), we really could not praise this resort highly enough.

Special mention should be made to Angelique and Pui, Guest Relations Managers, Fred, Mimi and Jo in the Dining Room and the many hotel staff who made our stay memorable. Nothing was too much trouble.

We are returning next year for my daughter's wedding and I will be very confident in recommending the Avista for all guests traveling to Phuket.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sheree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Sheree M,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service. We have shared your appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Do remember to book through our brand website to get the best rates so that you may enjoy staying in our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews