We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We have been staying in Avista Resort for the past 9 days and still have a few days left.

On arrival the staff were extremly friendly and welcoming. We booked a grand deluxe room which was on the 4 floor and we were not disappointed. We had an amazing view over kata and kata beach. The room was large with 2 beds, every clean and modern. The room is serviced daily with free bottled water and clean towels every day.

Breakfast included a great variety of choice for everyone (good old english breakfast, fresh fruit, cereal, juice, yoghurt with tea and coffee) - the comment below about about the omlette guy, he was great always very speedy - plus where is the fire? we are all on holiday. On arrival we were offered complimentary vouchers for dinner which was a nice surprise. It was only for a set menu, but still plenty of variety. Food lived up to expectations and presentation was always perfect.

Some of the communal areas were not quite finished but this didnt matter. The pool was perfect. Large enough with two secions, and lots of sun beds and fresh towels by the pool. Pool bar offers variety of beers, soft drinks and cocktails, and snack food.

Great place for couples, friends or families. Staff were amazing, service was perfect and everything was clean and a 5 star standard. The resort is a 5 minute walk to kata beach, which is one of the nicer beaches in phuket. It is also a 5 minute walk down to kata / karon town where there is plently of restaurants and shops.

Overall our stay was perfect, when we booked we got a discount rate due to its opening but when we do come back to thailand we would definatly pay double the price and stay at Avista Resort again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bond26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2010

Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
Team Avista looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,988 - 1,994 of 2,580 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2009

My wife and I went to Phuket in the middle of November 2009 and we stayed at Avista. We travel quite a lot and this year we have been to places such as Hong Kong, London, Dubai, Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok, Vietnam, Cambodia etc so I feel that I have a certain background in reviewing hotels.

When I started looking for hotels in Phuket I was not sure which beach to stay at. On Agoda I came across a special deal for a newly opened 5 star hotel called Avista Resort and Spa and the prices were quite good for a 4/5 star hotel. In this process I also got in touch with the hotel to ask them if they could offer a similar room rate but they just referred to the official price list so I booked through Agoda and it was 91 USD per night per room including taxes, breakfast etc (while the hotel asked for 150 USD).

When we came to Phuket we took a taxi to the hotel and that was 600 THB and took about 45 minutes. We were greeted with a cold cloth and a welcome drink while our papers were being processed and we were assigned to room 526, a grand deluxe room on the 5th floor. There are also Club rooms on the 5th floor but when I sent a request to the hotel about this room I only got vague feedback on the difference on this room compared to the grand deluxe room.

When we were taken to our room it was clear to see that we were there during the soft opening. We had arrived only 11 days after the official opening so the smell of saw dust and concrete was still in the air. Room 526 was a 50 square meter room and when we entered we could see that it was a modern room (of course as it was brand new). Light tiles on the floor, white painted walls and wooden panels on some of the walls. The room entrance contained a wardrobe with hangers, a safe (with a built in light), coffee making facility in the form of a water boiler and also a small kitchen including a larger fridge, a micro wave, some plate and cutlery, glasses etc. The selection of drinks in the mini bar was not extensive but it is possible to get water from 50 THB and beer to 120 THB. Not bad for hotel prices but compared to the price on the street it is expensive.

The room continued in and contained to rather large beds (one queen and one king size), a desk one practically one side of the wall (including space to store one suite case). The TV seemed to be a 42” Samsung full HD wide screen TV and there was a panel underneath if you want to connect a laptop view HDMI or plug in a USB stick. On the other side was the two beds, a chair with a small table and the control panel for lights, air con etc. There was also a small balcony with two chairs and a table.

The bathroom contained a large shower area with a rainforest shower head, two sinks, a bath tub and the amenities includes shampoo, shower gel, moisturizer, dental set, shaving kit etc but where is the conditioner?. There was a glass wall between the bathroom and the bed room but drapes allowed for some privacy when that is needed.
There was WiFi on our floor and it was easy to hook up and the internet speed was pretty good.

So lets talk a bit about the things that are not working that great. The air con makes a bit of noise and it does not really make much of a difference if you have it on high or low. And it also does not seem to be able to cool down the large room in a sufficient way. The bathroom is nice but there seems to be some design flaws. It seems like water is splashing underneath the glass door and it floods onto the bathroom floor, there are not that many hooks to hang up towels and robes, the wash line seems to hang outside the bathtub so when you hang up wet clothing it drips outside and most annoying of all things; the water temperature fluctuates a lot when taking a shower. The control for hot and cold water over the sinks are not ideal when keeping in mind that you have to twist them after putting on a lot of sun tan lotion.

The restaurant served breakfast that was OK. The breakfast selection includes a small selection of cereal, bread and fruit and also some hot selection of sausages, beans, bacon etc. It is easy to see that they are in the starting phase as the guy on the omelet station took forever to make it…but he did a great job. There is also a selection for making salad and you do of course get the option of some juice, milk, water or coffee/tea. Maybe the selection of food will increase when there are more guests? If they want to keep on offering cheese platter to the guest I think they have to come up with a cooling option as the poor cheese was melting in the heat of Thailand. We also had dinner there one night as we got a voucher from the hotel. We went for a western menu and that was not very impressive and my steak was really, really though and the brownie dessert was like made out of a packet (served with canned whipped cream).

The pool area is split into two sections. The lower small area located near the restaurant and lobby and the upper pool which is larger and contains a pool bar and access to the small workout studio. Most of the pool is 1.3 meters in depth and was very nice to play around in. The sun beds have parasols of course and beeper is placed out so that you can call for drinks. Will there be enough sun beds once all the rooms are occupied? I can’t comment on the spa yet as that will only be ready in the end of November and a game room and library is also being finalized.

The location of the hotel is on the hill between Kata and Karon beach. Getting to Kata beach takes about 5 to 10 minutes as it is downhill but going back up takes a bit longer as the hill is really steep. You also get access to Kata city center with a few restaurants, bars, tour shops etc. Going to Karon shouldn’t take that much longer. Avista also have a shuttle but that takes you to Kata and to Patong a few times a day,

There are evidence that they are still in the learning phase of the running of the hotel: the shower gel in the tube and the shower gel in dispenser does not seem to be the same, housekeeping buzzing the door over and over again at 9 am, dust everywhere from the building process, But all in all I think Avista Resort and Spa will be good option once it is complete. The staff seems to be eager to help and are smiling (as in most cases in Thailand) and the location between Kata and Karon should allow visitors to cover both beaches if they want to.

Plus for: flip flops in the rooms to use when you go to the beach, towels that you can get from the pool to take to the beach, two PC’s in the reception if you need to use the internet, a lot of light in the room including good reading lights. But what about an environmental profile when it comes to changing of towels, sheets etc?

All in all a very nice hotel and I’m sure they will be even better once they get experience in the running of the hotel. Our room was huge but the second bed was not necessary and it would have been great with an option of a table and chairs instead. And it would have been nice to get some information about the club rooms when I was sending requests concerning this. But I would not mind staying at Avista again and I would not hesitate to recommend the hotels to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gardkarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the privilege to host you and for your valuable detailed feedback.

We are pleased to inform you that all facilities are completed.We have included a environmental card in the room. The menu has been enhanced both for breakfast and a la carte. We have switched over to conditioner shampoo instead of shampoo.

Avista club rooms are located in the top most rooms offering the best views of the sea.They are also furnished with better quality furnishings.

Team Avista looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We really enjoyed the stay in the Avista Resort and Spa: it is new, tastefully designed, modern & luxury rooms + pools, extremely friendly staff, great check-in process and pleasant welcome after our arrival. Nice balcony with sea view, spacious luxury bathroom and room has everything you can ask for. No bad word I can say about the facilities, rooms or service.

Location is excellent as well, quiet but very close (5 min walk) to Kata Beach, which is probably the most beautiful beach in Phuket Island. With a taxi or took-took you'll be in the Kata restautants in less than 10 minutes, Patong area will take you around 30 minutes. Also strategic location to perform sightseeing around Phuket and islands in the area.

We stayed in this hotel the week it opened and it was very quiet. Not sure where it is as great if it is fully booked, since the amount of space around the swimming pool is rather limited. Restaurant and Breakfast were ok, definitely not great for a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeroenAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2010

Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
Team Avista looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Stayed at Avista for a night (on 2nd-3rd Nov 2009). The hotel location is exactly between Peach Hill Resort & Ascapia Resort. The main entrance is small & the open-style lobby feature contemporary design. The overall compound is still under progress (for decorations/trees). It has 2 blocks (5 storey building) with connected thru a resort-style walkaway. Not all the rooms are available, I could say most of the guest that day stayed at 5th floor as the rooms for other floors are not ready yet.

If you want to walk down to beach, maybe you can ask the hotel to send you thru free-buggy ride. But since we rent a car, it's not a problem. But i could tell you that walking could be quite exhausted especially with the huge radical hill road despite near to the beach.

I managed to get the Grand Deluxe room thru online for 3k Baht. To be frank, this is a family room (for 4 pax). But for the price that i paid, I think it's worth as the Grand Deluxe was quite big (53 sqm) and it has one king + one queen bed with a sink & oven (including 4 plates & 4 bowls). The bathroom is quite small for me but very contemporary.

As they put us at the top floor, so the view from my room was totally spactacular as we're facing towards the Kata town & Kata beach. Well, they offer us a free complimentary upgrade to Avista Club room which located at the same floor but at the end I choose to stay at Grand Deluxe. The main reasons are the size & the balcony view at Avista Club room facing towards the mid-ocean instead of Kata beach (plus, Avista doesn't provide oven/sink/plate/bowl).

But during my stay here, we heard quite a noise around as they're doing the work throughout the hotel building (etc. drilling). But that's only during the day for less than 30 minutes. The staff there are so helpful and friendly (hope they keep up with this) and i don't find any problem during check-in or check-out.

The facilities are not yet ready except for breakfast, pool bar, & swimming pool. I did tried the pool for a while, the surrounding would be better once the garden completed. The coffee house for the breakfast is quite smart with simple design but less choice of foods.

Well, I will keep update this later. I've uploaded few photos for your reference.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goshocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAvistaResortAndSpa, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2009

Dear Guest,

At the outset , we thank you for choosing to stay with us.We appreciate you , for sharing your valuable opinion and suggestions.We have included more dishes in our menu based on your suggestion.It would be a great pleasure hosting you again during your next visit to Phuket.

Thanking you on behalf of Team Avista.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I called the hotel's Reservations directly as we had made a last minute decision to visit Phuket. Seeing that we were intending to visit in December, which is a high season in Phuket, I thought a call would speed things up. I spoke to a male Reservations Officer for about 4 minutes and detailed our arrival and no of days of intended stay. All the while, he repeated the information I said but did not give me any firm answers. The conversation ended when he asked politely if I could write him an email with the details and that he would work on my request asap. Nearly 4 hours later, I received what looked like a generic email with no signatories, informing me that the hotel had no further rooms for direct booking on the dates I specified and directed me to 2 other websites. They not only wasted my time but infuriated me with their lack of customer service. If this was what I had to endure just to make a reservation, I wonder what kind of service I would have had if I had stayed there!
Linda McKenzie - Singapore

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank McKenzieClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAvistaResortAndSpa, MAGESH IYER , GENERAL MANAGER at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2010

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken to give your feedback. Remedial measures have been initiated to ensure non recurrence.

We hope this isolated incident does not deprive us of your valuable patronage.

Team Avista looks forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Phuket.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: la 411 ou 230
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank xx11223344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,202 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 55 in Kata Beach
809 reviews
9.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £73 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing