We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We thought the hotel was brilliant. The staff were very welcoming from the beginning. The room was lovely and our balcony had a view of the large hotel pool and you could see the sea in the distance. A 5 minute walk to the beach, but you do have to go up a bit of a hill to get back. Provided you can handle a 100 yard walk uphill then I'd highly recommend it for a relaxing get away!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Dear Guest,
It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us. We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,887 - 1,893 of 2,614 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

We have great memory in this Phuket trip, especially staying at Avista Hotel. We feel very pleased to meet this hotel's friendly staffs and well trained service. Great experience with the room with the latest technology and cleanliness. Certainly we will stay at Avista again in Phuket next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kongphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Dear Guest,
It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us. We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We booked our 3 nights stay at Avista through Asiarooms.com and our check-in and first impression was a spot on with the pleasant welcome drinks, refreshing cool towels and flower bracelets.

The deluxe room we stayed in was great with excellent amenities - multi internationally-compatible wall sockets, comfy sheets and pillows, an SD card reader linked to the TV which allowed us to view our photographs of our trip, a DVD player with free rental of DVDs from the front desk and clean toilet with separated bathtub and shower. They even provided detergent!

Avista provides beach towels which came in useful for spending a day at Kata Beach or for lounging by its pool. The pool water was refreshingly cool especially on a warm day and the pool bar was a nice touch. Avista also provides free shuttle to Patong twice a day as well as free shuttle to Kata Beach. Kata Beach was just a quick five minutes walk away and so we could hop into the beautiful sea waters anytime.

We highly recommend this hotel to all who are visiting Kata Beach, Phuket.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Dear Guest,
It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us. We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We had a great time at Avista! The kids' room was fantastic for our toddler and we loved Gong (spelled wrong probably) who was the lovely lady who played with our manic son there. Avista was in general very kid and baby friendly (kids' pool, good kid food on buffet), pool toys (balls and rings), baby cots supplied.

The spa was lovely, there was a games room and a library (with good books) and lots of internet access (2 computers in the library, 4 in the lobby). There were 3 pools (one toddler pool) and a gym that had everything you needed too.

The service was warm and friendly and they happily obliged every request.
The rooms were fantastic - really spacious, beautifully done, amazing value!! The toiletries were lovely, the bed was great, the view was lovely.
The restaurant served great food, including the breakfast buffet, which offered a great selection.

The hotel is up 200m hill, which was fine but if you're not keen on pushing a stroller up/down it, There is a tuk tuk taxi service just outside the hotel, and you can push the uncollapsed strolled onto it and go wherever you need, without doing the hill.

Once down the hill you are right in the middle of the shops and restaurants, and a five min walk to kata beach. We were very pleased with our choice of Avista and will stay there again if in Phuket. Value for money is incredible and the low season deals make it more so.

Matilda the swedish manager is lovely and eager to help improve your stay/ help with any problems you might have.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C3P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Best Regards
Magesh Iyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

This place had everything we needed and just about everything we expected.

The deluxe room we stayed in was big, clean, luxurious and had a view of the pools and ocean. There was a 40" LCD TV, huge bathroom, balcony and in-room WiFi (available all over the resort including poolside).

The buffet breakfast included in our package was very good, with food to suit most people. I especially enjoyed the fresh eggs and omelettes that were prepared on the spot for you within a minute!

The beauty of this resort isn't just in all of the above, but in the smiles, politeness and pleasantries of all the staff (including those working behind the scenes). They welcomed us daily and was always professional to deal with.

And in regards to the location, the resort is about 200m from the beach or shops, and yes it is set up on a small hillside. Go down the hill, turn left for the shops/restaurants, or turn right for the beach. I'm in my mid 30's with bad knees and the hill did not cause any problems whatsoever. I actually loved the fact that the resort is away from the street stalls or shopfronts. There is a mini bus shuttle service that runs down to the beach for those who don't want to walk, but it was on a set schedule, and on a first-come, first-served basis.

Overall, a great place to stay.

Note: there is what looks to be some cleared land next door (up the hill, and mostly out of sight) that looks primed to be developed into a new resort - no work was being done or started whilst we were there in late August 2010.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrytron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Best Regards
Magesh Iyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This is the 3rd time myself & my partner have been in Phuket, but the first time we've stayed in this hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised for what we got at this price point (booked though Latestays.com). The standard room is large & very modern with nice lighting, a good bath, large LCD screen, DVD player & free wifi internet access in the rooms - very handy! (Many hotels in the area charge for internet access & have smaller TVs & no DVD players). Most of the review comments here are spot on but I'll just echo a few:
Staff were *very* helpful & promptly resolved any issues (ie: safe-box in the room didn't close properly at first & was replaced entirely in just a few minutes. All questions (such as details about car rental) were answered very fast via reception). Staff seemed to have a strong grasp of English, so there were no communication difficulties (unlike many other hotels in the area), & were always very friendly & accomodating (we were given free heavy baggage storage when we went to PhiPhi for 3 nights & when we returned were greeted with a "welcome back" cake & more fresh fruit! We had a late return flight & there was no problem (& no charge) for more baggage storage & the use of a room for a shower before the flight (many hours after check out).
We really loved the extra facilities as well, such as the gym & the small games room (with pingpong & pool table) & appreciated that the (well lit) pool stayed open until 9:00PM (quite a lot later than other hotels). We found the buffet breakfast very satisfying, (especially the fruit selection).
Basically, we were very impressed with our stay & would happily return. This hotel is probably the very best balance between cost/quality in Phuket.
One minor niggle would be that hill. We found it short & no problem at all, & the beach is very close - but possibly some older people might find it a bit annoying.
Overall, this is a really nice hotel with helpful, friendly staff, nice food & great facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell_Flood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Best Regards
Magesh Iyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Just a 5 minute walk to the beach, but the return walk a good expedition, since a small hill climb.
Walkable to the shopping area and to another beach front. The hotel has various food option but walkable distance, you have various restaurant option.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTBMamallapuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Best Regards
Magesh Iyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,256 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,207 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
833 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,381 reviews
1.4 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa

Address: 4 Leam Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Avista Phuket Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £69 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in luxurious accommodations at Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort & Spa at Kata Beach. Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Novotel Phuket Kata, not just any other hotels -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel's design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. The nice hotel's pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Accorhotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort And Spa Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing