We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for families... Kata is a great place for kids”
Review of Phuket Chaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The location of the hotel was decent. It is at the end of a strip of restaurants and shops but there was no noise. It was pretty far from the beach; although, it was a straight walk (approx. 500 meters) through a very smelly alley to the beach.
The hotel was clean and very safe with your own safety deposit box at reception. They had a bad mosquito problem in December so we had to keep loading up on repellent at all times. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. But the room was clean enough for a family so we didn’t have much to complain about. Quality of soaps was terrible so we had to buy our own.
The hotel restaurant was okay for breakfast with excellent coffee and custom eggs. However for halaal food eaters it was poor – almost nothing to eat for breakfast and there are only so many scrambled eggs you can have every morning. They were kind enough to make us veggie fried rice to help accommodate. There are small restaurants on the streets that serve cheap food and a couple stores like 7-Eleven for snacks. There was no fast food nearby, but the local cheap food joints were pretty clean and good.
The swimming pool was clean but cold and not too busy. There is a kids pool and Jacuzzi but neither were very warm water which made it hard to use. There was a pool table and large public TV however the mosquito issue made it impossible to use after sunset.
I recommend that you stay in the main building above reception as we had excellent internet connection for Skype and Facetime. I think the hotel was an excellent choice for families especially because there was hardly any noise at night, it was close to lots of cheap restaurants and you could kill a lot of time at the massage and nails places next door.

Room Tip: In the main building for best Wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

Great hotel, great staff and great location.

The Hotel is located very central in Kata to all the local restaurant, massage parlours and shops. The beach is about a 10 minute slow walk away and the hotel will provide you with beach towels to use.

The staff are all very friendly, helpful and most speak very good english.

We stayed in a bungalow and to be fair it needs a bit of updating and if you have someone in the next bungalow you can hear them talking etc through the walls. This is why I have given the hotel 4/5, if I had stayed in another room I think I would have awarded them 5/5. The other rooms (from what I saw) have been updated and look very nice.

The Breakfast buffet was good and had a lot of choice, like eggs (cooked which way you would like), salad, cereals, toast, meats, thai food, fruit, pastries along with coffee and juice.

The hotel is very clean and the pools are fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to families or couples and would not hesitate to book it again if I returned to Kata Beach.

Room Tip: The bungalows can be noisey if you get neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dj_ke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Great location, bars, restuarants on the door step. Rooms very clean, whole hotel clean and well presented. The pool is excellent and great for a night time swim. Breakfast was buffet and had bacon, sausages, eggs to thai meals (meat/veg) rice, noodles. Selection of juice and coffee.

Staff were great. Very friendly and very helpful with booking my trip to ko phi phi, and a great price too.

Plenty of beach towels for use so no worries if you forget to pack your own. Mini bar always restocked if used, prices same as bars for chang and singha beers (80 bht).

Beach was literally 5 minutes walk away. End of new kata road and cut through sidewalk along an often smelly stream.

I booked chaba through agoda and got a decent price for my room (£36 a night). Would recommend for sure :)

Leon marley, torquay england

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leon3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

You can't fault this hotel at all, It's rated as a 3 star hotel but by UK standards this is easily a 4 start hotel. The staff are great, really friendly and helpful with a good command of English. The rooms are great too, with very good air con, TV, minibar and comfy beds. The Breakfast is good with a wide and varied choice that will suit most appetites. The restaurant is excellent, the food, again, is quite varied and will suit Asian and European tastes. Chaba also put on a BBQ every week which is excellent value for money. For THB 199 (as at Oct 2012) you can eat as much as you want with various meats, pastas, noodles, salads and fruits for desert. The pool is great too, very secluded, feels like your somewhere else. 10 mins walk to Kata beach which is far better than both Karon and Patong beaches in my opinion. Nightlife is good here also, some good bars (late night too) and a night club for night owls out there. Shops and restaurants are excellent, my favoutite restaurant other than the one in the hotel was Two Chef's, excellent food at very reasonable prices. There are also plenty of other restaurants in Kata, you really have it all here. I spent nearly 6 weeks here on two separate occasions in the last 2 months. I was quite lucky as I got a fantastic daily rate due to it being the low season, so the overall cost was very low. In general this hotel will suit solo travelers, couples and families of any age group. A really great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We arrived late and got a good deal on the room which had a nice view of the gardens. We work up early to loads of workmen making serious noise outside our window. This went on all day. The breakfast wasnt great and we usually just had toast and eggs and went out for breakfast shortly after. for two days they painted outside our bedroom and it gave us terrible headaches. I couldnt understand why they were make the hotel smell so horrible with customers walking around. The pool was clean and the staff were very smiley, they just need to close for a week or two when doing maintenance and also change their breakfast menu. Walking distance to beach and lovely tour operator across the street near laundrette,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keiraoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

For what they usually charge, you get full value for the money.
Pros include very friendly staff, spacious and clean rooms, a trustworthy travel agency in the hotel, good breakfest, and a very nice pool.
Cons include mostly the fact that you need to walk 5 minutea to get to the beach, and the fact that although friendly, the staff didnt know a lot about the neighborhood.
The place is mostly for couples and families, so no backpacker atmosphere there. For babies, they can supply a good baby cot.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gumbas1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I am a recent graduate and travelled with two other student friends.

Having arrived at the hotel, we were told that our room was not available yet because of cleaning. However the staff immediately took our bags and helped us into their office. They let us use their private showers to freshen up and located a spare room for us to rest in.

The spare room was the same type that we had booked so they let us stay there as we were happy with the move.

The staff are extremely friendly, very kind, welcoming and professional. They carried an obscene amount of weight for us since our rucksacks were ACTUALLY MASSIVE.

The rooms were wonderful! We had a very nice big double bed and a cot for our friend. There was were two airconditioners in the room that got going very quickly. The rooms were always cool, refreshed, clean and comfortable. The sheets were really nice, the beds were really comfy, the sofa was a nice touch for the extra space. The bathroom was very clean.

The breakfast is AWESOME. It's a buffet breakfast with a lot of variety and fresh food. The hotel also give you free bottles of water on request that are always nice and cold.

The hotel is in a brilliant location and next to a place that does great cocktails.

Having travelled to 11 cities around south east asia, Phuket Chaba Hotel was our favourite. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kli62306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#48 of 55 in Kata Beach
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 55 in Kata Beach
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#47 of 55 in Kata Beach
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Melody Phuket
The Melody Phuket
#22 of 55 in Kata Beach
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Heights Resort
The Beach Heights Resort
#33 of 55 in Kata Beach
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#43 of 55 in Kata Beach
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Chaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Chaba Hotel

Address: 98/13-17, Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Chaba Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £23 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuket Chaba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phuket Chaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Chaba Hotel Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing