We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday of a lifetime made more special”
Review of Phuket Chaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We arrived in Thailand hot and bothered with an infant. The staff were nothing but friendly and helpful the entire stay.
They are beautiful people who love children making a holiday with an infant a success!
The room was the right size and cleaned daily above and beyond what we were used to.
The restaurant had delicious food with beautiful juices and cocktails.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwiatheart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Staff could not do enough to help - we arrived at 11:45 pm after having to leave another awful hotel down the road and the housekeeper came especially to make our extra bed in our room. The rooms are kept clean with fresh towels every day. The pool is lovely and the location excellent. I don't have one negative thing to say about this hotel, the value for money is excellent. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HannahMoore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Really nice room and great pool. The location is just 5 minutes walking to Kata beach. Breakfast is excellent with a variety of fruit, egg and pastries. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brazilian-Couple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently arrived at Chaba Hotel after seeing it reviewed well in the area. We didn't have a booking, just rang once we arrived and they picked us up (free of charge) from a nearby area.
Only booked for one night, instantly found the staff to be excellent, friendly and very keen to help.
The pool area is really great, the main big pool and little kids pool have poolside bar adjacent and then a 3rd more secluded pool is just on the other side of the bar area.
We stayed with 2 kids (11 and 12) and they loved the free pool table.
We spent a number of days just at the hotel playing pool and swimming, having lunch and dinner at the restaurant which did very good meals.
Prices were excellent (850baht) per room (low season), including, as already reviewed, an excellent buffet breakfast. Also free bottles of water each morning and towels available for pool / beach use.
Based on the great experience and staff, we extended our stay out to 11 nights and had a great and relaxing time.
Previous reviews mentioned poor WIFI, that was the case when we first arrived, however while we were there, they re-did the whole system and it's now great, and free.
It's a 5-10 minute walk to Kata Beach and 5 mins to the main shopping area, so it was excellent that these things were very close, but not too close and therefor the hotel kept that quiet feel to it. The walk to the beach (the short way) is along a waterway, as previously mentioned, but we didn't find it too bad and it's about 150m - so not a long walk.
The rooms were very clean, including the bathrooms. The TV reception wasn't great, but we were not there to watch the TV, so no problems there.
Kata is a little way from Patong Beach and the shopping centre however they accessible by bus, which I would recommend, as the taxi prices in Phuket are a little extreme compared to elsewhere in Thailand (everywhere seems to be 500 baht - about $20.00 aud). There is no fault of the hotel there, it's just the Phuket taxi system which is, as I understand, pretty well controlled by organised crime and therefor the price is the price and no one is really game to undercut that.
That said, we got a hang of the local bus system and found it good and cheap. The bus to Patong (and the shopping centre) can be caught from outside 'Dino Mini Golf' and is about 35 baht per person, seems to run every half an hour, but does finish at about 6. Similarly, the bus can be caught from near the Central Festival Shopping Centre (5 minute walk away) and goes back past the mini golf. So a 5 minutes walk each end of the trip for a very considerable saving.
All in all, would highly recommend this property and for the money, I would struggle to think it could be beaten. It's not a massive resort with a kids club, pools with swim up bars and so on, but; a) we were not after that and b) it was about one eighth of the cost of that type of resort in the area and I believe it has everything the average family and couple would need.
There is no fitness centre, but after speaking with staff, I understand one is in the planning, which would be a great addition and really top off a great place to stay.
And Bjorns across the road is good for a meal too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dan5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We (couple in our 20s) stayed for four nights on our trip to Phuket...

Good
- The hotel is very clean and tidy, with professional, friendly staff
- The breakfast is cheap and very tasty!
- The pool area is fantastic, with a poolside bar and lots of space to laze around
- Clean bathroom and free bottles of water!

Bad
- The first thing that comes to mind is Kata itself. It's just not a nice place. As other reviewers have mentioned, the walk to the beach is alongside an open sewer/canal, and the town centre is pretty sleazy.
- The safe deposit boxes are behind reception, for some reason? Extra security I suppose, but I like having access to my items
- Poor wi-fi signal above the first floor
- There's a bar outside the front of the hotel that plays loud music, something to keep in mind if you're a light sleeper
- The A/C unit started falling apart on the last night and coughing out giant black lumps of rubber, which fell on our bed! We told the staff, who looked quite bewildered...

It's a nice enough place to stay in Kata, the question you have to ask is whether Kata is the right choice for you....

Room Tip: Try to choose a room facing AWAY from the front of the hotel, to avoid the bar music
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Clean, spacious double superior room with kitchenette, balkony with laundry rack, good Wi-FI, and air conditioner, also ceiling fan. Good pool, efficient and friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast. We were satisfied of staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arvisza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel and overall enjoyed the stay. Room was fine- adequate size, had a small balcony. Water temperature of the shower was erratic but given the hot weather no problem.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. It's great that you can borrow towels not only for use at the hotel pool but also for the beach.
The garden and pool area are very nice and cozy, the hotel's real asset. Breakfast was fine and included some hot dishes such as curry and eggs. Overall, the price quality ratio at this hotel is very good.
The only major disadvantage and reason for me to rather not stay there again is the location: first, the trip from Phuket Airport took around 1.5 hours and involved some heavy traffic. If staying only few nights, there are probably other locations than Kata, closer-by, that are better alternatives. Kata itself is kind of touristy and rather quiet, seems to attract mainly families and couples from Russia. It has some nice dining options. Second, the hotel is far from the beach. The most direct way to the beach (10-15min walk) leads along a dry river bed with disgusting sewage smell (as mentioned in other reviews). What is more, the part of the beach were the path ends is a part where the beach/water is not clean (plastic bags etc.) and where the sewage smell persists.
It's much better to choose another part of the beach further up or another beach altogether, but that will mean at least 30 min walk along a road with heavy traffic.
Conclusion: If you want to mainly chill by the pool, this hotel can be recommended. If you prefer the beach, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerrisXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#45 of 55 in Kata Beach
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#48 of 55 in Kata Beach
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Phuket InterHouse
Phuket InterHouse
#105 of 136 in Karon
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#42 of 55 in Kata Beach
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rico's Bungalows
Rico's Bungalows
#43 of 55 in Kata Beach
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#34 of 55 in Kata Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Chaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Chaba Hotel

Address: 98/13-17, Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Chaba Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £24 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuket Chaba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Phuket Chaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Chaba Hotel Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing